We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just arrived home and missing Talgo already”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talgo Hotel - Apartments
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Have just arrived home tonight and am posting first review on tripadvisor.
We booked direct via Talgo website and from start to finish of holiday it was an excellent experience.
We had a sea facing maisonette which was perfect for us as it was important to have a good sea view and most importantly calm surroundings and privacy. As previous reviewers have described, the accomodation is on the beach which is well maintained and the sea was so warm.
By booking direct we had included within the price return taxi from airport and breakfast which was excellent.
We found Stalida a bit touristy but having said that there were plenty of good eating places and supermarkets.
Our apartment was well maintained with clean bedlinen and towels changed frequently. The air concon worked well and we had plenty of hot water.
Marianna and Peter are rightfully very proud of thier accommodation and work hard to ensure that your holiday is great.
For anyone considering Stalida as a holiday destination we would say that Talgo apartments are the best place to stay.
Missing it already and hope to return soon. Thank you Marianne and Peter for beng perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

Lovely accomodation right on the beach. Great host with Peter and his wife. Nothing is a problem for them. In a central location for bars and restaurants. Out of doors and you are on the beach with waiter service for your drinks. Air Con and everything included in price which is great because there is no extra cost. Loved it there and want to return:) Well done Peter!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Staffodian50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have just returned from our stay at Talgo - we were upgraded to the split level terrace apartment with stunning views - Mariana and Peter take every care to ensure you are happy.

Breakfast was delicious Fresh coffee and Cretan herbal teas, Greek Yoghurt and fresh made breads and omelettes

Talgo is indeed an Oasis in Stalis even plays Jazz whilst you having breakfast overlooking the sea contemplating your day ahead

Very central a good place to base and explore the rest of east coast from

Suggestions:
Sunbeds to be free for hotel guests
PLEASE vote to close down all the real FUR shops plaguing Stalis and all dotted along the highways - very upsetting to see

otherwise we had a lovely time Peter and Mariana have a gem there we would definately recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tracyinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I personally thought Stalida was a dreadful place geared only towards tourism. Unfortunately I mustn't have done my research very well and we ended up there. The deluxe rooms were spacious and quiet even though the hotel itself was close to the main tourist road. The cost of the room was worth it for the space and facilities although I would have expected warmer shower water and more frequent linen and towel changes. I also was surprised that sun lounges were not included in the price and were charged extra per day.
We personally found that the manager (Peter) to be very intense and often abrupt with ourselves and with others. He was very unhelpful and unapologetic when he was unable to provide shower and changing facilities after check out (we offered to pay but the hotel was apparently full and no facilities could be provided elsewhere). I found this particularly unforgiving as I was travelling with my elderly mother. On one occasion he also called our room to reprimand my mother for leaving the balcony light on. Again I felt that this should have been handled in a more diplomatic way.

I must commend both younger Peter who helps serve breakfast and the beach and the cleaning lady - Vera as I think that they do a remarkable job given their working environment.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wendjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANIA55, Owner at Talgo Hotel - Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Mrs. Curry,

Thank you for having chosen Talgo for your holiday.
Since best service for our guests has priority for us we regret very much that you have not been completely satisfied.
But we also would like to comment your critics:
Warm water is provided all day and night. We are only limiting the temperature to 70 degree Celsius to avoid accidents (e.g. with children).
Check out between 11:00h and 12:00h is international standard. We are offering our guests the opportunity to enjoy in our garden area during their waiting time.
Linen are regularly changed every two days. If there exist the need or a guest’s wish it is a pleasure for us to fulfill these wishes.
The recommendation to turn the light off on the balcony aimed at your comfort, since light is attracting mosquitoes.
We are a little bit astonished that you didn’t inform us about your feelings and wishes when being asked by us several times a day (day IS too much) how you and your mother are, if there exist any wishes, etc.
The answer from you and your mother <<no thank you all wonderful>>
Last but not least we regret that you left without any word of good-bye. Thus you made it impossible for us to support you, e.g. in handling your luggage or handing over a little souvenir.
Kind regards
Marianna and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have just returned from a very relaxing break at Talgo and we're missing it massively !!

Marianne, & Peter have a wonderful Hotel that we found to be of an excellent standard and the service 2nd to none.

We would highly recommend this Hotel and plan to return in the future.

Vera & 'Young' Peter assist Marianne and Peter amicably and as a team cannot do enough for you.

Your so close to the beach you can roll out of your room and then swim in the biggest 'infinity pool' you could wish for !!

Marianne's Omelletes are not to be missed and her Greek Salad is massive !! but if you don't like something in it please let her know and she'll replace it - Marianne likes to see an empty plate.

A perfect place created by perfectionists.

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We were touched by amazing people who run Talgo. Peter (the owner) met us at the airport (we were worried because of taxi driver strike) and took us to the airport in the early morning. We've got free room upgrade to the 2-floor apartment and a bottle of wine for our anniversary. Peter, Thomas and Marianna were always ready to help us in everything and made our stay amazing and wonderful. All you need is just lay on the beach and enjoy the sun and sea. I believe it's a 5-star service. We felt like at home. The guest book in the hotel is full of excellent reviews.
It's really 5 m. to the sea directly from the dinning place, a supermarket 50m., a great view from your personal terrace.

Room Tip: certainly 2-floor apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Scorp333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Perfect location.5 meter from the sea. 25 meter from the main street.
Very , very friendly and helpfull people.Nice rooms.
Owners Peter and Marianne do really care about their guests.
Barman Thomas was there every time you needed him.
I have broken my knee at the second day and Peter arranged everything for me the days after.
We will come back there that's for sure.
This is how holiday has to be.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.4 mi away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#5 of 52 in Stalis
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
1 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kostas Apartments
Kostas Apartments
#23 of 52 in Stalis
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talgo Hotel - Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talgo Hotel - Apartments

Address: Beach | Stalida, Stalis, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stalis
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Stalis
Price Range: £70 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talgo Hotel - Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talgo apartments are a unique location in the middle of the calm bay of Stalis, a small and picturesque sea resort village, 32 km east of the town of Iraklion. In front of the apartments with nice terraces stretches a large, fantastic sandy beach and the crystal-clear blue sea. Customers enjoy relaxing in the sun being offered snacks, drinks, cocktails etc. They also can enjoy Cretan homemade specialties in Talgo's Kafeneion at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Talgo Hotel - Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talgo Vacation Apartments Stalís
Talgo Hotel - Apartments Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing