We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Talgo Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talgo Hotel - Apartments
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Stalis
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Talgo Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

If you have not stayed at the Talgo you have missed a wonderful experience. It is truly the gem in Stalis. Peter & Marianna are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. How lovely to sit and feel the gentle sea breeze while eating beautifuly fresh food of genuinely gourmet quality.
We have been to many Greek Islands and we have had great holidays but we cannot help but return to the Talgo. Thank you Peter and Marianna.

Room Tip: Chose a sea facing room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pamela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I'll add no more pictures to this review than one. It tells the whole story. This petit palace is heaven on Earth. Nothing more than perhaps eight rooms/duplexes, perfect German fit-and-finish, heartwarming Greek hospitality, the gentle breezes of Crete that keep you cool all the time, the hypnotic sound of waves that made me sleep like a baby, gloriously clean copper-colored sand right in front of your face. You wouldn't recognize this place exists if you walk down the lively Beach Road in Stalis or even along the beach itself. A sea-front hideaway beyond compare. It's built like a fortress - no rusty marks of "sour concrete" - and at night you can talk into the wee hours ... it's impossible for your neighbors to hear you! The proprietors, Marianna and Claus Peter - plus the staff consisting of Alex and Vera - made us feel like family. The feelings are mutual. And Marianna's culinary creations are dumbfounding. We've been to the Hersonissos/Stalis area many times - up the hill and down the hill - and have fond memories of the places we've stayed and the people we've met. But now we've found home.

Room Tip: The duplexes are of course exquisite but not suitable for the physically challenged (due to the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Craiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Have just arrived home tonight and am posting first review on tripadvisor.
We booked direct via Talgo website and from start to finish of holiday it was an excellent experience.
We had a sea facing maisonette which was perfect for us as it was important to have a good sea view and most importantly calm surroundings and privacy. As previous reviewers have described, the accomodation is on the beach which is well maintained and the sea was so warm.
By booking direct we had included within the price return taxi from airport and breakfast which was excellent.
We found Stalida a bit touristy but having said that there were plenty of good eating places and supermarkets.
Our apartment was well maintained with clean bedlinen and towels changed frequently. The air concon worked well and we had plenty of hot water.
Marianna and Peter are rightfully very proud of thier accommodation and work hard to ensure that your holiday is great.
For anyone considering Stalida as a holiday destination we would say that Talgo apartments are the best place to stay.
Missing it already and hope to return soon. Thank you Marianne and Peter for beng perfect hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Lovely accomodation right on the beach. Great host with Peter and his wife. Nothing is a problem for them. In a central location for bars and restaurants. Out of doors and you are on the beach with waiter service for your drinks. Air Con and everything included in price which is great because there is no extra cost. Loved it there and want to return:) Well done Peter!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Staffodian50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have just returned from our stay at Talgo - we were upgraded to the split level terrace apartment with stunning views - Mariana and Peter take every care to ensure you are happy.

Breakfast was delicious Fresh coffee and Cretan herbal teas, Greek Yoghurt and fresh made breads and omelettes

Talgo is indeed an Oasis in Stalis even plays Jazz whilst you having breakfast overlooking the sea contemplating your day ahead

Very central a good place to base and explore the rest of east coast from

Suggestions:
Sunbeds to be free for hotel guests
PLEASE vote to close down all the real FUR shops plaguing Stalis and all dotted along the highways - very upsetting to see

otherwise we had a lovely time Peter and Mariana have a gem there we would definately recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tracyinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I personally thought Stalida was a dreadful place geared only towards tourism. Unfortunately I mustn't have done my research very well and we ended up there. The deluxe rooms were spacious and quiet even though the hotel itself was close to the main tourist road. The cost of the room was worth it for the space and facilities although I would have expected warmer shower water and more frequent linen and towel changes. I also was surprised that sun lounges were not included in the price and were charged extra per day.
We personally found that the manager (Peter) to be very intense and often abrupt with ourselves and with others. He was very unhelpful and unapologetic when he was unable to provide shower and changing facilities after check out (we offered to pay but the hotel was apparently full and no facilities could be provided elsewhere). I found this particularly unforgiving as I was travelling with my elderly mother. On one occasion he also called our room to reprimand my mother for leaving the balcony light on. Again I felt that this should have been handled in a more diplomatic way.

I must commend both younger Peter who helps serve breakfast and the beach and the cleaning lady - Vera as I think that they do a remarkable job given their working environment.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANIA55, Owner at Talgo Hotel - Apartments, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear Mrs. Curry,

Thank you for having chosen Talgo for your holiday.
Since best service for our guests has priority for us we regret very much that you have not been completely satisfied.
But we also would like to comment your critics:
Warm water is provided all day and night. We are only limiting the temperature to 70 degree Celsius to avoid accidents (e.g. with children).
Check out between 11:00h and 12:00h is international standard. We are offering our guests the opportunity to enjoy in our garden area during their waiting time.
Linen are regularly changed every two days. If there exist the need or a guest’s wish it is a pleasure for us to fulfill these wishes.
The recommendation to turn the light off on the balcony aimed at your comfort, since light is attracting mosquitoes.
We are a little bit astonished that you didn’t inform us about your feelings and wishes when being asked by us several times a day (day IS too much) how you and your mother are, if there exist any wishes, etc.
The answer from you and your mother <<no thank you all wonderful>>
Last but not least we regret that you left without any word of good-bye. Thus you made it impossible for us to support you, e.g. in handling your luggage or handing over a little souvenir.
Kind regards
Marianna and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have just returned from a very relaxing break at Talgo and we're missing it massively !!

Marianne, & Peter have a wonderful Hotel that we found to be of an excellent standard and the service 2nd to none.

We would highly recommend this Hotel and plan to return in the future.

Vera & 'Young' Peter assist Marianne and Peter amicably and as a team cannot do enough for you.

Your so close to the beach you can roll out of your room and then swim in the biggest 'infinity pool' you could wish for !!

Marianne's Omelletes are not to be missed and her Greek Salad is massive !! but if you don't like something in it please let her know and she'll replace it - Marianne likes to see an empty plate.

A perfect place created by perfectionists.

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalis
0.4 mi away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
#20 of 54 in Stalis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dias Hotel & Apartments
Dias Hotel & Apartments
#13 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malliotakis Beach Hotel
Malliotakis Beach Hotel
#70 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.3 mi away
4-S Beach Apartments
4-S Beach Apartments
#30 of 66 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talgo Hotel - Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talgo Hotel - Apartments

Property: Talgo Hotel - Apartments
Address: Beach | STALIDA, Stalis, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stalis
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Stalis
#12 Family Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Talgo Hotel - Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talgo apartments are a unique location in the middle of the calm bay of Stalis, a small and picturesque sea resort village, 32 km east of the town of Iraklion. In front of the apartments with nice terraces stretches a large, fantastic sandy beach and the crystal-clear blue sea. Customers enjoy relaxing in the sun being offered snacks, drinks, cocktails etc. They also can enjoy Cretan homemade specialties in Talgo's Kafeneion at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Talgo Hotel - Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talgo Vacation Apartments Stalís
Talgo Hotel - Apartments Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing