We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talgo Hotel - Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talgo Hotel - Apartments
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Stalis
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Thank you Peter and Marianna for a fantastic stay. We enoyed every minut of it. Your eager to meet every wish is amazing, nothing is to small for you. The food is lovely and fresh. The hotel small, very clean and quiet. The beach is clean, the sunbeds and parasol is free and the sand is light and bright. Thank you Peter for Raki, snacks and wine all for free, your service is outstanding.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 7 night break at this amazing place. David and Marianna who own the Talgo are fantastic hosts. The apartments are spotlessly clean and every need catered for. Breakfast is on the patio outside where they serve fresh yogurt, fruits, homemade bread, local jams and honey. Omelettes are cooked fresh to order. The hotel is right on the beautiful sandy beach of Stallis and to the front is the strip with many local shops and tavernas. The gardens at the hotel are full of lovely coloured flowers and plants, plus they have Frangipan Trees and the scent from these is beautiful. A vase of freshly cut Frangipan was put in our room. This was our first visit to Crete and we will definitely return to the Talgo.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view delux apartment. These are on 2 levels with a small balcony on the lower floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susancobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

When it comes to relaxation, this place is probably on my top 5 list ever. The hospitality, the service, the attention to details are close to perfection.

A sincere sense of care from the owners makes it extra special.

The food is simply amazing, not the fancy type but the comfort food that is made with fresh local ingredients. Can't recommand enought the Kalamari pasta... it's simply OUT OF THIS WORLD!

Will return when time comes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DinhVuVuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Listen people...please. When folks like us actually visit the hotels we review on tripadvisor, we give our true, sensory impression of what we've experienced. I wish there were a general forum on tripadvisor where people like me, a modest German>English translator and not a family member of any hotel operator, could express just how much we love the place we've been. The contributors on tripadvisor have all had their personal experiences - some fascinating, some horrible. I personally rely on what all of you write, and it's led me WITHOUT FAIL to the really great places in the places I want to see. Tripadvisor is a very valuable source of information on what we've experienced as travellers. It gives us the input we need to make proper choices, and it gives the hoteliers the inspiration to make changes or just keep on doing what they do best. Talgo Hotel - Apartments is just one example. Thanks to every commetator who led me there ... we're back to Talgo precisely 18 days from now (Sept 7-21). And, OMG, it's heaven!

Room Tip: Try to get a duplex apartment ... if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

"Simplicity is the ultimate form of sophistication" DaVinci
Talgo is unique! We loved the great hospitality and attention to detail in our apartment as well as the premises.The delicious homemade "Greek gourmet food" in the beautiful seaside taverna completed the ultimate holiday experience.If you want a TOTALLY relaxing holiday with magnificent seaviews, beautiful beach and excellent service, this is your place!!
Thank you Marianna&Peter + Vera for making our vacation just perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Schlossberg_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

I staid there a week in September. Away from the noisy road, a nicely decorated small hotel located literally at the beach. Peter and Marianna are lovely hosts, taking care of everything with a sense of sincere interest and friendship.
Not a place for noisy crowds, but for people who simply want to spend quiet, restful holidays. No loud music nor disco but the privilege to go to sleep by the sound of the waves...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank fromVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We were utterly appalled by Talgo Apartments, and our only advice would be not to stay there. The sequence of events that happened to us during our 10 day vacation resulted in our holiday being totally ruined.
We are both seasoned travelers; staying at all levels of hotels throughout the world including basic huts in the middle of the Colombian jungle but nothing could have prepared us for the appalling way we were treated by the Owners and some staff at Talgo.
First disappointment was with the terrace, it was a meter wide corridor with towering walls either side and with no privacy as everyone walking from the reception area to the beach had to walk past us and we were frequently asked by people if we worked there as it looked like staff quarters, which was very irritating to have no privacy besides staying in the room. The heat outlet for the air-co was also in this space; so to keep the room cool whilst on the terrace was impossible, it made the terrace feel like an oven.
First morning and the air-co unit in our room had leaked dirty smelly water throughout the night soaking all the clothes and magazines on the shelf unit below it (we were paying and extra 100 Euros for the pleasure), we were very lucky to not have any of our electronic equipment on the shelf! It was bad enough to have only wet clothes and expensive photography magazines destroyed.
The owner informed us that he normally has to empty the water container several times a day or the air co backs up and leaks and he had forgotten. Not really a good start to the holiday considering the owners knew this was a problem and didn’t try to prevent it happening.
The only solution from the owner was that he could dry the clothes but he said it may damage them and shrink them, not really an option worth risking. Unhappy at his point we asked if there was an option to move rooms, he said maybe in 3 days’ time it would be possible to move to a room that was the same standard with a private terrace.

The 2nd morning at the Talgo beach area, where we were renting sun beds from the owner for the day, we asked if they would remove the umbrella as it blocked the sun, the beach attendant tried but was abruptly stopped by another staff member who was not happy that we wanted it taken down and told the beach attendant off which we thought to be very inappropriate behavior in front of guests. We asked him why this was an issue and he aggressively told us that it's against beach regulations then changed his reason to, they must keep everything looking "pretty" and to remove one umbrella would destroy the look of the whole place. This being ridiculous, we explained that we were paying guests making a very simple polite request and were told, “If you don’t like it just leave!” Not ready to be treated this way we decided to explain our simple request once more and highlight that we were paying guests and also paying extra to have sun beds on their beach. The owner and the owner’s wife were then called into the discussion and told us our request was not possible and then aggressively told us to leave. In shock and disbelief we started to walk away and even more shockingly we were abusively shouted at by the owner’s wife.
The next day we met our tour rep, she said she would walk with us to enquire about us moving to another room with a more private terrace. At Talgo apartments when the owner came over the rep only said "I was wondering" when she was immediately cut off and seriously verbally abused in front of us and other guests and was told to leave the property because she wasn’t welcome. She clearly had no choice but to leave this very threatening environment. We were in total shock!
Next day we decided to approach the owner ourselves about moving to a new room since the rep was no longer able to be on Talgo property (yes, this does sound crazy) The owner was very cooperative with us and we felt that we had made progress to distill much of the bad relationship we had had previously.
The owner then showed us the new room, it had a rather bad smell but the terrace was private so we accepted it, he informed us we could only move in 2 days because the cleaner was too busy to have it ready earlier. (You would have expected that they would at this stage try to make things up to their guests by making the small effort to clean 1 small room)
Having patiently waited, 2 days later at 11.30am we asked when the room would be ready so we could be sure to return at the correct time, (we were really excited to be finally getting a room with privacy) he informed us that the end of the day when we got back from the beach would be fine.
When we returned from the beach at 5pm, the owner informed us that he had had to give up our new room to other guests and blamed our tour company for sending people at the last minute. At which point we expressed our dissatisfaction at how unacceptable this was and were particularly annoyed because we had had to pack everything and prepared to leave the room as instructed. The owner even gave us a print out of the booking of the new guests to prove his point. However the message was received by fax 36 hours prior (date and time of fax receipt was clear) meaning he knew of these arrivals the previous day, plus he had also handed us other people's personal and confidential details, not something we find professional.
That evening the owner interrupted us on our terrace whilst we were having some private time, to hand us the bill for the air co (mid holiday) demanding us to pay in full that day, knowing the rules we intended to pay in full on the last day when we checked out. When we left for dinner that night he reminded us that we must pay before midnight, we informed him clearly that we would pay the bill in full when we checked out as per the rules. He then explained this was illegal due to tax reasons and then changed his mind to say it was a rule from our tour operator. Having our intelligence yet again insulted, we told him we would pay in full at the end of the holiday, he then told us he would remove the air co from our room, at which point we made it clear we would then only be paying for what we had used and not one cent more, his reaction was to then threaten us that if we did not pay the full amount then Greek Police would not allow us to leave the island, we would be arrested at the airport. This was the final insult to our intelligence as we are both seasoned travelers both privately and professionally. The upset and distress that this caused was unforgiveable.
After returning to our room from dinner we discovered that our air co had been removed and the owners had left us a very rude letter.
The room was extremely uncomfortable to sleep in for those following 3 nights (40 degrees in the day). Due to the heat, the room started to smell and we realized that the cause was the bed; that actually smelt of stale urine; it was completely disgusting; clearly the air co dried the room enough to hide the worst of this vile truth.
We chose from here on to completely ignore the owners to avoid any further upset, particularly for my girlfriend who was really struggling with this aggressive behavior. She was even afraid to leave the room on her own at this point.
Our tour reps manager was now involved and held a meeting with the owners to discuss what had been going on.
We would like to commend our tour rep for her outstanding professionalism under very unusual and difficult circumstances. (Marissa, I hope you read this and think of those terrible 10 days, sorry for all the extra work!)
Sadly, neither she nor anyone from our tour company could do anything to resolve the serious issues that surround Talgo apartments and their owners.
We are pretty sure based on previous trip advisor reports that the owners of this hotel will come back on this review with reasons why things happened blaming the guests for everything that happened, (seems something they are actually good at) as per the reviews we had read from other guests before we booked Talgo, we had thought a few bad reviews doesn’t make a bad hotel…how wrong were we?…thousands of Euros wasted, the most upsetting, emotionally draining, confrontational and aggressive holiday we have ever had to experience. I hope you read this review and make the decision to stay somewhere else!!!!

Room Tip: Do not have the room next to reception, or better still dont go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SeasonedTraveller423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANIA55, General Manager at Talgo Hotel - Apartments, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Dear Mr. Forrester,

We thank you for having chosen Talgo for your vacation. At the same time, we regret that you and your girlfriend, Ms Irvine, made it impossible for us from the first day on to meet with all your additional requirements.

In spite of your unfriendly and unwelcoming appearance against us from the moment of arrival on we have continuously tried to offer to you pleasant holiday. In cases being not able to meet with your special wishes, we always explained it to you with plausible organizational or safety reasons, partly with the support of the Quality Manager of your travel company, which did not accept any of your complains and requests.

Since the criticism and comments in your review, written three months (!!!) after “your great disappointment”, are absolutely fanciful and fantastic, I don’t want to bore with commenting details. Therefore, I confine myself as follows:
- You have booked our smallest and cheapest apartment by last minute. For this price you cannot suddenly expect accommodation on suite-level.
- About cleaning and cleanliness I have never experienced complains of other guests until now, only positive comments.
- Your travel company also did not accept any of your complains and requests for compensation, since the Quality Manager was able to get an objective impression about the situation during your stay by visiting Talgo personally because of your challenging behavior.
- Last but not least I would like to mention that - in order to avoid further aggressive appearance from your side - I did not charge you for your willfully caused damages to our property (e.g. your destruction of the switching mechanism of the air conditioner, because you wanted to avoid the contractual payment of the electricity bill).

We hope that you will take happier choices for your vacations in the future, for you as well as for your host.

C. Peter Hornbogen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalis
0.4 mi away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
#19 of 54 in Stalis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dias Hotel & Apartments
Dias Hotel & Apartments
#10 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Latania
Latania
#4 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malliotakis Beach Hotel
Malliotakis Beach Hotel
#68 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Matamy Beach Hotel
Matamy Beach Hotel
#15 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talgo Hotel - Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talgo Hotel - Apartments

Property: Talgo Hotel - Apartments
Address: Beach | STALIDA, Stalis, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stalis
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Stalis
#12 Family Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Talgo Hotel - Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talgo apartments are a unique location in the middle of the calm bay of Stalis, a small and picturesque sea resort village, 32 km east of the town of Iraklion. In front of the apartments with nice terraces stretches a large, fantastic sandy beach and the crystal-clear blue sea. Customers enjoy relaxing in the sun being offered snacks, drinks, cocktails etc. They also can enjoy Cretan homemade specialties in Talgo's Kafeneion at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Talgo Hotel - Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talgo Vacation Apartments Stalís
Talgo Hotel - Apartments Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing