We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read this review before deciding”
Review of Palm Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stalis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palm Beach Hotel
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Before our holiday, I looked at Trip Advisor and was very disheartened by the reviews of this hotel. However, our experience was great, and this may be of help to other travellers. Yes, the sheets weren't changed every day - I was fine with that. We are clean people and don't change our sheets daily at home anyway. The bathroom was cleaned, floor was washed and swept and bin emptied daily. The food was ok - a bit 'samey' after a few days, but well cooked and plenty of choice. There were times when it was not as hot as we would normally have it, but given the climate this was not a problem. Not very different to other half board deals we have had. The staff were lovely. Angelos, on reception, was welcoming and very helpful. The beach bar duo were lovely - warm friendly and not intrusive. We saw little of the kitchen and housekeeping staff, but they were friendly too. Yes, there were cats on the patio at breakfast time. This is a feature in Greece and other European countries - not a problem. We liked them, and so stroked them and spoke to them. Other guests ignored them or shooed them away, as was their choice. They never entered the building. We had a great view of the sea and each day secured two sunbeds, a table and umbrella for 3 euros, which was ok with us - it meant our spot on the beach was secure for the whole day. All parts of the beach had a similar system - some places were 4 -5 Euros or more. If you don't want to pay, you can sit on a towel, or in the garden area on the chairs or lie on the grass for no charge. There was no pressure to buy drinks, and when we did they were brought to us with a smile and a bowl of free snacks. So, don't write off this resort without trying it - if you want more 'luxury' then go for more stars! We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view. We didn't bother with air con, but in hotter months this was available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE.... My husband and I just came back from staying here
28th August 2013 for 2 weeks. we didn't even stay in the hotel we was shown to another building over the road down a side street on top of a health centre. offered a first room No air con, could only get out on the balcony through a window as the door didn't open, then taken to another room. for 3 days while the receptionist found us another one. he then found another room. what a disgusting dirty place, had to hold shower as no unit for it, toilet brush holder had never been cleaned for years, needed burning, grease up the walls from previous guested cooking. all the time we stayed there the rooms were never cleaned. we had the same towels and bed linen for 2 weeks. we had to buy our own toilet rolls, the reception is not manned for 24 hours
no kitchen or chef food brought in which was cold and disgusting. 3 star. more like 0 star

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just returned from our holiday here. Rooms filthy, shower head hanging loose, mildew in bathroom, previous guests rubbish on patio. Rooms only cleaned every 4 days, also bedding and towels only changed every 4 days. Food disgusting, Breakfast: menu consisted of coco pops, cake, chocolate sauce and any food that was supposed to be hot was always cold. Dinner: Food was cooked in another hotel belonging to the owner and transported by car here, whatever time we sat down for a meal it was always stone cold and totally repugnant. To add to this there were quite a few cats scrambling and scavenging around the tables whilst we attempted to find something edible on our plate. Cutlery dirty and tables not cleaned between sittings. The Palm Beach certainly does not warrant 3 stars, I would not even give it half a star.

Room Tip: Please, please do not go here.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Probably one of my best hotel experience in many years. The Staff were very friendly on arrival and throughout our stay. The breakfast was very good and the rooms clean. Well done for your hospitality!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ersi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Whatever you do don't book this hotel it is a nightmare and completely ruined my holiday. Much like other reviewers I booked a hotel room in the palm beach because of its beachfront location but as I checked in I was led two streets away to a shabby apartment on top of a restaurant !
The manager was an arrogant, con-artist not to be trusted and the staff useless. The room was not cleaned once in my week long stay and the bed linen and towels were never changed.
The food is inedible and if you make the mistake of going half board there is no option for lunch so you are forced to eat the vile dinner.

DO NOT STAY HERE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tem-30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I can confirm 2 reviews below. We have the same experience :-( We stayed 2 nights at George´s place apartments - terrible! From third night we "could" stay at Palm beach hotel, which we booked! The room there was small. Bed was very old and not comfortable for 2 adults! There was hair on the floor. They didn´t change us the towels 4 days and didn´t change the bedlinen all stay!! ... really terrrible. Don´t go there! Stalida is OK but this hotel is like a horrible dream. Find another hotel = save your money and your holidays!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kacipaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Well what can be said about the Palm Beach Hotel in Stalis - Crete? We will get into that shortly, for now let's talk about the beautiful island of Crete. Wow! What a great and "mostly" friendly place. The food is great not too pricy the scenery is great to look at and the nightlife is great too.

Myself and 5 others went for 10 days when we booked the Palm Beach Hotel through Broadway travel. On arrival to the hotel we soon realised that most of the people on the coach (including the 12 detailed in the review below) were in fact booked into the same hotel, which was fine as the hotel looked great, nice reception area and aesthetically pleasing. We already knew that we were to stay in what was described as an "Annex" building, which we assumed was going to be attached or in the vicinity of the main hotel, how wrong could we be. As we were told to leave all cases outside while some paperwork was filled in by Costas the manager, all 18 of us got talking about how great it was to be there after such a long days travel. After nearly half an hour the paperwork was complete and Costas came out and went through a few hotel policies (which you will soon find pointless as did we.)

He then led us out of the hotel and up the road, the further we went the more we were saying to each other, WHERE on earth is he taking us. After about 150 yards we came to a bar called George's Place and were led around the side and told that this was annex building 1, which clearly it wasn't as it was called George's Place and displayed a sign stating "Appts for rent" (remember that) as it was 1 am we dumped our cases and decided to have a quick drink in the bar which was very cheap and the beer wasn't great but we didn't really care at that point, although my gf did find a large hair at the bottom of her first drink. The next day we went down for breakfast bright and early at 8 am. We grabbed a table for 6 and jumped into the que. The food looked shocking, there was very little left in each tray and most of it was cold already with no signs of it being stocked back up. Eventually an employee came and took a tray from underneath the main unit (not fresh - luke warm) and replenished some of the choices. About halfway through our "breakfast" we noticed there were a lot of people still waiting without anywhere to sit, so it became apparent that the hotel was not equipped to cater for the volume of people it had, which is obvious as it is catering for two "annex" buildings too!

That evening we went for dinner and found the same again, a lot of people very few chairs and food diminishing quickly. Again the food looked awful consisting of lumps of liver some fiery mince meat and cold pasta and some other horrid looking stuff. Not surprising, those people who had been there longer than us knew what to expect so it was dog eat dog, hand over fist to get some food.

The next day, you guessed it, same thing different day. Same food, same sorry state of affairs. After having a couple of pieces of bread we decided to have a day around the pool of our Annex building (George's Place). All was peaceful until the owner burst into a blaze of anger at one of the other English guests about drinking his beer by the pool, issue not being for safety (glass) but that it wasn't bought from his bar! Where normal hotel owners would politely ask you to not drink your own drinks by the pool, George was literally physically ushering the guy up the stairs, unbelievable.

As the days drew on we became increasingly upset with the treatment we were receiving at both hotels, whether it be failure to empty the bin (bare in mind the poor plumbing in Greece and the rules for disposal of paper), no new towels/sheets or them refusing to supply toilet roll until cleaning day 2 days later. This did however improve during the last few days when a new cleaner was taken on.

At the time of booking, the website also said "Hair dryer and TV in every room", not too bothered about the TV we enquired about hair dryers to Costas as my gf needs one after washing her hair. His reply was, sorry but these are not supplied to guests in the Annex building. Wait, what? We booked in at the Palm Beach so how is it fair to say that?

During the first week it was obvious that George did not give two hoots about most of his guests by the way he spoke and fired abuse at them. We started hearing the same thing from many bars and restaurants we visited all knowing exactly what we were going through and apologising on his behalf. That being said, he was generally ok with us throughout. He even told us all about the contract he has with Palm Beach, which to us sounded like he is getting a very small share but having to supply everything you would expect from the hotel so basically PB are renting cheap apartments and calling it an "Annex". His apartments are more suited to self catering holidays although it seems that most equipment has been ripped out to keep in line with the contract. He even showed us 2 pieces of paper outlining arrival and departure dates of all guests, which is used by him to claim payment from Palm Beach. Both copies showed wrong dates indicating an air of deception on PB side. It showed us as only being there for 2 days!! Anyway I digress.

On the Saturday we reluctantly went for breakfast only to find that there was no seating at 8am. Costas simply said, "Please come back in half an hour". This did not bode well for our PLANNED day out as we had to get a bus at 8:45 so enough was enough and we told him in no uncertain terms to stick his food where the sun doesn't shine, this was met with a very laid back "well it is not my fault" which seemed to be his catchphrase. Like the group below we also went self catering which seriously put a strain on our budgets.

We too had some issues with noise from the next hotel, which prompted George to exact revenge by playing his own music by the pool from 8am till 9am one morning. But this didn't compare to the incredibly and constantly busy highway directly behind the apartments which contributed heavily to many sleepless nights.

In our second week we were passing by Palm Beach on our way to eat out when we decided to ask Costas again for a hairdryer. This time he simply said, wait there, grabbed his wallet and walked down the road. Minutes later he returned, hairdryer in hand and made it abundantly clear that this was out of his own pocket, like he was a hero of sorts.

Unfortunately we are unable to comment on the rooms or any aspect other than the food at Palm Beach for reasons stated above, but we did speak to one couple who where so displeased with their room at Palm Beach that they actually requested a transfer to the "annex", what does that say to you??!!

Needless to say we had some fantastic meals OUT and enjoyed some great nights, particularly in the Irish Bars, Dwyers and The Irish House. Minos does great food and the owner is hilarious, great banter with his customers and you will certainly be used to the complimentary raki and ouzo by the end of your visit to Stalis! Just avoid THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!

Room Tip: Book another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Andi51081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stalis
Hotel Stalis
#27 of 52 in Stalis
70 reviews
0 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,352 reviews
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Blue Sea Beach
SENTIDO Blue Sea Beach
#6 of 52 in Stalis
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Hotel

Address: Stalida, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Price Range: £60 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Hotel is a 3 stars hotel in Stalis of Crete, just a few kilometres outside Heraklion. The hotel is situated across the beach of Stalis, in an all natural green environment, created by the old Cretan palm trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hotel Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing