We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Beach Villas & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stavros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have recently returned from another perfect week at Blue Beach. It must have been our twelfth or so visit, starting in around 1990. We enjoy different types of travel to many other parts of the world in between visits here, but return to relax and enjoy the fantastic views, beaches, sunsets and location, and the same welcome we have always received. It is laid back and friendly at Blue Beach. The location is ideal for exploring Western Crete and the White Mountains by car. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Have just spent two weeks at the Blue Beach. It is a lovely location with pretty views of hills and beach. However, the accommodation is tired and shabby. It was probably great when it was built in the 1980s (??) but it hasn't been updated and is battered and shabby inside.

We had a two room apartment to begin with on the ground floor. It was like something out of the early 80s with pastel pink and grey very dated décor that was chipped and dirty. Really dirty around the walls. It was very hot with just the one air con unit in the living room. The patio area only had a little beach umbrella and it was too hot to sit out most of the day. the bathroom was particularly challenging. It had a sliding door that was noisy and heavy to move. When shut, there was a gap of about an inch from its edge so that all bathroom activities was audible from the living room, if you know what I mean!!! The shower cubicle was tiny and very old fashioned. Lots of black mould and dirty in places. The loo was stained and the mirror edge was dirty. After complaining, we got moved to an upstairs apartment with a covered balcony that was nicer but still challenging, shabby and tired. Lots of black mould in the bathroom, dirty walls etc. The air con unit was rusty and leaked loads of water over the balcony and couldn't really get the apartment cool. When we had it on at night, we had to keep our bedroom doors open so don't expect any privacy. Not great sleep as a result. I really could go on but I hope you get the picture.

The linen was replaced regularly but stained and worn. They did provide handy beach towels which was great. Cleaning was regular and staff were lovely but rushed. Good screens and shutters on the windows but I snagged my shorts on the latch on the main door that stuck out a good two inches. Kitchens were well equipped and they provided washing up liquid, cloth and sponge but no tea towels.

If you want to be by the beach and don't mind camping inside, this is the place for you. Do note that the beach is mainly rocky and very sharp rocks at that and the actual sandy bit is crowded. Quite a long walk to the shop and not much in local area, although we did find a lovely beach taverna with delicious food about a ten minute walk around the beach towards Stavros village . Also, quite close to airport with plane noise and lots of fighter jets going over. The taverna on site was fine but not much atmosphere. We didn't go in the pool as the sea was so lovely so can't feed back anything on that. There was also an incident with a large insect beginning with c in the bathroom at night but that was dealt with very well by the manager and we didn't seem any more of them.

It is a peaceful spot and relaxing but don't be under any illusions that the accommodation is comfortable. It's barely 2 star.

Could really go on and on but won't. The manager was very good about our complaint but the owner didn't show his face.

Room Tip: If you do go, get an upstairs room facing the sea if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorset_Helen111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The spot is absolutely splendid. It is the ideal place for a restful holiday, the sea is fantastic, the starry sky incredible and customers invariably polite and soft spoken. Possibly Blue Beach is the best accommodation that you can get but it is fairly isolated and a car or motorbike are essential ( I had neither). With the nearest shop a good 20 minutes’ walk away, a bus to Chania (five times a day, from a bus stop ten minutes away) is the only real option you have for stocking up ( a taxi will charge €20-25 each way). Blue Beach is run on a very tight budget and it shows: it is undermanned to start with and although the 4 or 5 staff work very hard and are always smiling and kind, it is just not enough. The place is not supervised at all between 9 pm to 9 am (8 to 10 on Sundays) and a laminated card indicates fire brigade, ambulance and police numbers that you should dial in case of an emergency provided that your room telephone line is activated. A bit low on safety and security. Communal lights go off at 11, ditto. Linen and towels have seen better days: although they are ‘fresh’ from laundry, they are yellowish –if not permamently stained- and threadbare: we asked for a change, that was done immediately, but with dubious improvement. The handheld shower is useless, with no pressure whatsoever, so I ended up using the tap and splashing myself instead. AC and safe boxes are available only at an extra fee. I would very much recommend Blue Beach to easy-going, self sufficient people who care more for the scenery (which is stunning) than for the accommodation. You get what you pay for, so make sure that you get a deal either directly with the owner or with a search engine: we paid €56 per night, room only, for the smallest studio (no sea-view) which is just about fair, but the €97 official rate indicated on our door would have been a complete rip-off if applied.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

It has all the ammenities of a good hotel, with a nice restaurant, a pool, big airy rooms with AC and a terrace, but it manages to keep the feeling of being at the end of the world. One can still go out at night and watch the falling stars without being suffocated by the lights of the city. Not to mention the long beaches where one can walk for hours to catch the sunset. Exceptionally good restaurant in immediate vicinity and a cool "tropical" bar less then a mile away on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andreia71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had booked for an apartment for two adults and two kids. We were assigned two onebedroom apartments each equipped with a small kitchen and a bathroom. This would have probably been fantastic if we had two teenagers, unfortunately our kids are 5 and 10...
The two apartments were in communication by a small corridor that had automatic light until around 11 pm and was made of white glasses hence with light both in the evenings and in the morning. Hence we had to keep closed the two main doors in order not to have too much light.
But this was nothing: after I had my shower, I found a cockroach waiting for me outside the shower. When I complained with the owner she said that we were in the countryside and this was expected. We also had a colony of ants going through the small kitchen (even in the drawer with cutlery...). She gave us some spray (that was probably aggressive also to us) and said the hotel was fully booked and we could not change apartment.
The next two days we found two more cockroaches. We decided to leave and had to fight not to pay the amount due for the night we were not staying there.
Maybe we were really unlucky and other apartments do not have the same problems, but I would not go there again even though the whole setting is really beautiful. It is a pity!

Room Tip: If I really wanted to go, I would ask for a room on the first floor (maybe fewer chances to have col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mariadola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A great place for a family stay. Nice beaches and restaurants around. Stunning views. Rooms are big and comfortable. Perfect for kids!

Make sure to get a local sim if you need internet... The local paid and free networks are impossible to work with...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Hotel was completely unsatisfactory and the description of hotel on hotels.com misrepresented the hotel.

1. Description says hotel is air conditioned and that was a requirement for our selection as Greece was quite hot. Hotel advised us that air conditioning would not be turned on in room unless we paid 8 euros additional a night. We fought with them over this for a long time and finally got the air conditioning.

2. Description says all rooms have wifi. No rooms have wifi and the wifi available in the lobby is non-functional.

3. Description said rooms had a sea view. Our room had a road view and a further view of a weed filled lot.

4. Bathroom was so small, there was not even room to mount a roll of toilet paper on the wall.

5. Furnishings were spartan and very low end.

6. Parking was limited or inconvenient.

Later found other nearby hotels that are outstanding and would not go here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnotherMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stavros
0.1 mi away
Zorbas Beach Village Hotel
0.3 mi away
Kavos Hotel
Kavos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Akrotiri
177 reviews
2.9 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#17 of 111 in Chania Town
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aloni Suites
Aloni Suites
#1 of 1 in Chorafakia
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cretan Pearl Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Paradice Hotel Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Beach Villas & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Beach Villas & Apartments

Address: Stavros, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stavros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stavros
Price Range: £84 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Beach Villas & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Beach Villas & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Beach Villas & Apartments. Hotel Stavros
Blue Beach Villas And Apartments.
Blue Beach Hotel Apartments
Blue Beach Villas & Apartments Stavros, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing