We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best places I've stayed in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zorbas Beach Village Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stavros
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“one of the best places I've stayed in the world”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

friendly staff,best chicken sovlaki ever,not cheap but worth every penny, they might think about a transfer shuttle from the airport,25 euros for a taxi is a bit steep,its only 7k away.the rooms were spotless.the free wi-fi hit and miss but a lovely place to stay,i will be going back there hopefully.

Room Tip: room 37 had the best sunset in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UkFootloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    40
    12
    6
    10
See reviews for
73
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just returned from a lovely eight day stay at the Zorbas beach hotel, Stavros, Crete with my husband and 3 year old son. It's a gorgeous place and we really enjoyed our stay. Having a young child with us it was fantastic to have the essentials - the beach and pool - just moments away from our room. The pool area is very clean and well looked after, and the pool itself (salt water) is a good size as well as deep enough for diving. There is also a sectioned off toddler pool which is a couple of feet deep.

The sandy beaches are a stones throw away and there are a fair few fish to be seen if armed with a snorkel and mask. One thing we did notice while we were there was quite a bit of rubbish (plastic) that had been washed on the little beach right in front of the hotel (which is maybe 30m long) - sadly this is far from uncommon these days and something you'll find on any beach that isn't regularly cleaned. We picked up a fair bit and binned it. We wanted to use this review to suggest to George that he might consider getting a member of staff to do a quick beach litter pick-up maybe once a week. It might only take half an hour and would be both helping the marine environment and improving the aesthetics of one of the hotel's best natural assets.

A couple of points for holiday makers planning to visit Zorbas - the kitchens offer quite basic tools and equipment. Our apartment had a two-ring electric hob, microwave, kettle, fridge and freezer. It also had one big saucepan and a small frying pan, corkscrew (essential!) an assortment of cutlery and crockery and not too much else! If you're planning on doing much self catering it's worth considering packing a sharp knife, peeler, scissors, sieve etc. The other thing to mention is that our bed was pretty hard which did give us a bit of backache.

Overall we were very happy with our apartment, it was cleaned well and regularly and the mozzie netting was intact (not that we encountered too many biting insects). The shower seemed to be solar heated only so was never very hot, but this is quite common in Greece I think. The other really nice thing about the hotel complex is the children's play area - good climbing and swinging and rocking for a range of ages!

The hotel has a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere - it is family-run and family-friendly. It's certainly not the place to go for wild nightlife! We'd like to thank George and the team for making us feel so welcome and for creating such an idyllic little spot. We'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Apartments 12, 13, and 14 face the sunset in the evening and give you good views of the pool and sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seabass101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alrewas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here June 2013 with my wife. Great location if all you want to do is relax. Pool views are the best and the rooms are good size and private. George nice man and makes you feel welcome a glass of raki as soon as you get here. Bit of a walk to most locations in stavros but we did not mind this. Restaurant on the beach next to the hotel just what you needed good food good price and good service not to far to get back after a few beers. Experience was very Greek and very little English, just as we wanted would go back

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A somewhat belated review for a wonderful week spent at Hotel Zorbas in 21-28 May 2013. We absolutely loved this place. If you arrive at midnight as we did, then reception is closed, but your name and room number is helpfully displayed on a map to the left of reception.
We were staying in a one bedroom apartment which had a double bed in the main living area and a separate twin bedroom, with a balcony at the front (pool/garden/sea view) and another at the back (mountain view) of the bungalow style apartment. Apostolis, the owner, put a great deal of thought into the design/arrangement of the bungalows so that you have privacy from the other apartments and lovely views. Located just a few steps from the peaceful pool with amazing sea views and stunning sunsets. Sunbeds were always available and although we were there early in the season, judging by other reviews this is usually the case. A nice, sandy cove with free sunbeds and umbrellas can be found two minutes stroll away at the taverna next door.
Maria's cooking was truly delicious and we ate at Zorbas most evenings. Due to the time of year, the menu choice wasn't massive, but that did mean that everything was locally sourced and freshly cooked by Maria. I happened to mention to Maria that I loved eating kleftiko when in Greece and although it wasn't on the menu she offered to cook it for us a couple of nights later. All the meals were really tasty, generous portions and great value. Also available was amazing, locally made ice cream - the only difficult part of our stay was deciding what flavour to have that day!
We didn't have a hire car, but the bus stop to Chania was only a ten minute walk away which made a trip into Chania possible for an afternoon exploring the old town and also a full day exploring the Samaria Gorge. We did miss the last bus back on one occasion, but even then a taxi back to Zorbas was only circa 20e.
Not a place to go for party-goers seeking nightlife or those wanting an activity-filled holiday, but for us it was a perfect, idyllic getaway and we definitely weren't ready to go home at the end of the week.
Thank you to everyone at Zorbas for a wonderful holiday and we hope to see you again this year!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Soobee55945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Zorbas last summer. I can say that my family and I had a very nice time at this beautiful hotel. Such relaxing place with good rooms and the only hotel in the area with direct access to sandy beaches. Very good food at the pool area and the most helpful reception staff (many thanks to George!). We will visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ErD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed for 1 week at Zorbas Hotel and I must say that I really enjoyed my time here as did my family.

The hotel is situated in a privilege location just in front of two sandy beaches that we visited almost every day. The swimming pool is huge and kept cleaned every day. We loved the gardens, the little paths at the hotel, the playgrounds and the outdoor chess board.
Housekeeping was also on a daily basis and the room service we had was excellent. Our room was simple, beautiful, comfortable, and quiet. The sea views from most of the rooms and from the swimming pool are amazing!

The staff and especially George is extremely helpful and made us feel welcome and appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveler who values good service, simplicity, affordability and cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

What I love about this place...? Not only the people who are warm and welcoming, fun and adorable, and ever so "at-your-service", but also the pool, the home-made food, the cute little bungalows, the pool bar, the area, the beach, ... Everything!!! And all that at such a fair price, it's almost ridiculous! Thank you again so much for everything! "Zorbas", a destination that I will always remember

Room Tip: those under the terrace are slightly more noisy because of the children running around or the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Camilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stavros
0.1 mi away
Blue Beach Villas & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Kavos Hotel
Kavos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Akrotiri
146 reviews
2.9 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#17 of 110 in Chania Town
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cretan Pearl Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Georgia Vicky Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zorbas Beach Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorbas Beach Village Hotel

Property: Zorbas Beach Village Hotel
Address: Stavros - Akrotiri, Stavros, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stavros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stavros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Zorbas Beach Village Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zorbas Beach Hotel is a 3-star beachfront complex of 53 apartments and studios that lies on the most beautiful part of the Akrotiri peninsula in Chania. It is situated at the most privileged position that boasts stunning views over the Cretan Sea. It is located ideally right on a sandy beach, inside 30.000 M2 of private land. Set right a few steps from clean and well maintained scenic beaches, the hotel is surrounded by an unspoilt natural area which protects it from the city's noise and crowds. The crystal sea in front of it, the excellent home-made traditional food, a very personal approach, as well as the comfortable apartments and studios will make your stay an unforgettable one. Amenities of the Beach Complex: • Sea water swimming pool for adults and separate for children (1000 m2) • Outdoor dining area at the pool with high quality Cretan cuisine • Pool barstools, free pool umbrellas & sun beds, pool snack bar • Free high speed wireless internet access in the entire hotel complex • Free internet corner at the reception/lobby • Free parking area • Tennis court • Children's outdoor playgrounds • Outdoor chess board • Laundry and dry cleaning service • Organized sandy beach with free umbrellas and sun beds • Airport/ Port transfer service • Small library corner at the reception/lobby • Colorful gardens with local flora • Doctor (external collaborator) • Taxi and car rental services • Credit card accepted, fax & photocopies services • Trip Arrangements • Cretan Dancing Nights at the Pool Area • Free Maps • Fishing, bicycling, snorkeling & diving activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zorbas Beach Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zorbas Beach Village Hotel Stavros, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing