We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best customer service and everything else you can ask for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Babis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Karteradhos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“The best customer service and everything else you can ask for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We travel but we don't write reviews, but I will definitely write one for this hotel. I hope I will write some more since I have done this one. If you are looking for a hotel within this budget or even bigger budget, we highly recommend this hotel for you. I don't understand how they justify their low price for the best service they offer to their guests. Don't look any further as you are wasting your time.

Babis Hotel made our stay in Santorini comfortable and so easy due to the staff helpfulness, service and their excellent work ethics. When you are overseas travelling, you would feel so grateful for these. We have stayed in similar (but slightly more expensive) hotels in Mykonos and Naxos but Babis Hotel offers so much more. We are surprised how this is even possible, considering Santorini is very popular.

The room looks and smells clean, dustless -even the window curtain is super clean, the bathroom is clean -yes, the shower head does not have an attachment to the wall, but it's really nothing, the room size is very good, the aircon works well, the desk/wall decorations are cute, the breakfast size is substantial, the swimming pool is nice and well located, the hourly trip to Fira is always good, the staff is extremely caring and helpful and the wifi is reliable.

The free transport to Fira every hour is perfect. We can walk or take a bus to go back to the hotel. The road -less than 2km can be a bit tricky in a few places but the 2 minutes bus ride for €1.60 is nothing when you spend hundreds/thousands of € in total for everything else. I used a public bus every time as I am not very comfortable walking there. The bus conductor who collects your bus fee would call you happily when they reach Babis Hotel -make sure you tell him when he collects money from you.

We had to go to the airport at 03:45AM in the morning and when we arranged a taxi booking through the hotel, Babis Jr insisted to take us there and we refused as we didn't want to ruin someone's sleep (we understood they offered a free shuttle bus, but at 3:45AM??). However, he just kept insisting, he even refused our gratitude tips.

Best of luck for Babis!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    83
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
46
120
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great value, breakfast included, nice pool, free pick up/delivery to airport/port (just remember to let him know your arrival time). Extremely friendly and great atmosphere. Free shuttle into Fira every hour, or walk it in about 20 minutes. Our small apartment was nice and clean (family of 4), as was the pool. Highly recommend it for "budget" travellers. Free Wifi was ok in the reception area.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are probably best because of traffic noise. We were at the back without any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s_klafko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Babis' father picked us up from the airport and we were also dropped off at the port for free.

The free shuttle into Fira is a great help as it is a 20-25 minute walk, which is along a main road without a footpath majority of the way, and with a lot of oncoming traffic.

The room was clean and comfortable, air conditioner worked well (make sure the balcony door is closed other wise it doesn't work) and the balcony was lovely to enjoy the warm nights.

The breakfast was included and quite substantial (toast, yoghurt, meat, cheese, jam, butter, juice and coffee/tea).

The pool was fairly large and very clean and there were many loungers/tables/chairs around the pool area.


The shower head had no fixed attachment on the wall, therefore it was difficult to shower (may not be an issue for some people, but for a woman washing her hair - it can be tricky)

The Wifi was very patchy and a lot of the time, unusable.

Babis and his father run the hotel very efficiently, however do sometimes come across as rushed and abrupt. We think this is due to there being a lack of staff and the hotel being fully booked and the hotel suffers due to this.


We arranged to hire a car for a day through Babis for 8am the following morning. It got to 8.40am and the car had not arrived, we checked in with Babis who called the company and explained it was on its way from the airport and it would arrive in around 30 minutes. It then got to 9.30am and there was still no sign of the car, we asked Babis again what was happening and he said we should cancel and make our own arrangements in the town. This was very disappointing – we understand it was not Babis' fault, however he promotes the hiring of cars/quads/motorbikes etc... Again – it appeared that due to Babis being so busy – he was unable to assist us further with the matter and we lost a day and had to make alternative arrangements.

We had a very comfortable stay at the hotel, however a word of advice to Babis and his father would be to employ one more staff member to assist with breakfast/airport/port pickups and drop offs/fira shuttle etc... This would not only make their job a lot easier, but make guests at the hotel feel more welcome and not an interruption.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Babis and Babis Jr both work very hard to make all guests feel comfortable. This includes free transfer to and from port, airport and Fira City. The only minor downside is the quite noisy road in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were picked up at the harbour by Babis himself and his father.
We loved the breakfast and the good service.
It´s a a great affordable hotel, a perfect base for exploration of the island of Santorini.

We asked Babis for help with renting a car, 5 minutes later a car was delivered at the hotel and the contract signed, that is what I call great service. When we were done with the car, we parked it just outside the hotel and then got the rental car picked up by the rental car Company.

When leaving the Island; Babis drove us to the harbour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisse_Fika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here last Wednesday to Thursday for one night. Honestly the best customer service I have ever received. Me and my two friends were staying in Crete as we thought we could not afford to stay in santorini so did a one night trip. We were met by Babis at the port and taken to our hotel which was much nicer than the hotel in Crete. Free air con, tv, fridge and breakfast. We also In the price booked a car which was brilliant for exploring the island. The rooms were clean and big and very comfortable and the breakfast was great too. Babis and his family were honestly brilliant though. He was always busy and catering for anything you wanted and needed and always with a smile on his face... Would reccomend this 100 percent!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed in Babis Hotel for two nights early June, 2014 and was delighted with the friendly, helpful service. The room was basic but very clean. Although one could have walked into Fira without too much difficulty, I was very grateful for the opportunity provided by the hotel to avail of their free hourly shuttle bus service into town....and of their pick-up and drop off at the port. Made my trip to Santorini very easy indeed...and lovely to experience a more personal approach to travel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karteradhos
0.2 mi away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#2 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension George
Pension George
#1 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#5 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
1.1 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
1.7 mi away
Artemis Village
Artemis Village
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babis Hotel

Property: Babis Hotel
Address: Karteradhos 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Karteradhos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Karteradhos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Babis Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Babis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babis Hotel Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing