We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel I have stayed at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caveland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caveland
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hostel I have stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a lovely hostel in a quiet, yet well situated spot. The rooms and surroundings are simple yet beautiful. I meet some amazing people here and I was also very happy with the service. The only improvements needed would be better aircon and some of the doors are very hard to open!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyjs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    27
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
31
67
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

An amazing hostel! I arrived on an early morning flight and got to Caveland around 7am. Reception doesn't open till 10 but Nabil had arranged to leave my key and a map of the hostel out for me which was extremely convenient! The room itself was very clean (although very hot in July!!) and I felt extremely safe and comfortable. The breakfast wasn't anything special, but the common area is a great place to meet people and they have a computer to use for free. The atmosphere of the place is great, everyone is keen to hang out and make new friends! My only problem was that the door to the room as extremely difficult to open (the key had to be jiggled in a particular way) and everyone my room had trouble with it. When I explained to the woman at the front desk that we were all having trouble she acted as if we must be really stupid. But other than that I had a fantastic time at Caveland and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aremtulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cave apartment and found the room really nice and had most of the facilities of a self contained apartment. The common areas were very nice and the pool was great. Breakfast was toast and cereal so nothing to write home about.

Location was a bit off with a 20 min walk to Fira up hill.

I would recommend Caveland apartment for a couple traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergios M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Exactly what a youth hostel should be -- sparkling clean sheets, very very comfortable bunk beds, spotless rooms and bathrooms, even tennis courts (and equipment for rent) and a spotless and comfortable (and rather warm) swimming pool with an excellent lounge-chair area. Great wifi, excellent hotel staff service, adequate (although humble) breakfast, lots of refrigerators and cooking areas available, and above all easy access to local dining, nightlife, walking, shopping, and buses to more scenic areas. The concierge (Navio) gave us easy directions on how to get there from the local ferry port, and he arranged on request for very dependable transportation to pick us up at 5 a.m. (!!!!) and deliver us to the airport on the day of our departure! Excellent service, spotless grounds, very very happy. My only wish is that they get rid of the two of the four dogs that seem to instigate all of the barking (at all hours of the night). The other two dogs are lovely, and quite wonderful companions as you're lounging around the pool (or outdoor garden) with a book in hand.

Room Tip: The dorm rooms were spotless, and all guests were very respectful of each other :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueinGallup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights in Santorini. I paid 20 euros for a bed in a mixed ten beds dorms, which is a really good value for Santorini! The room is very comfortable (it is in a cave but it does not look like a cave because they have added walls and paint and all that). The room is very big and even has couches and stuff so there is plenty of space for luggage and everything else. There is an excellent wifi connexion at the hostel and I had no problem getting Internet in my room, which I appreciated because a lot of times there is only one wifi rooter in the main area but not in the rooms! Also there is a computer guests can use in the kitchen if you do not have your own device. The only thing I didnt like, I dont know if it is like that in every room or if it was only in mine, the bathroom was a BIT smelly. But nothing dramatic or terrible... just a bit annoying.

The staff is very friendly, speaks perfect English and is very helpful with tips on things to do on the island.

The pool is pretty nice and they organize nice excursions, I would advice doing the one to the volcano, the price is reasonable and you must not miss that on Santorini!

Also if you want a food tip there is an excellent restaurant, At Mama's (or Mama's place... can't remember) on the way to Fira. Go there!! It's delicious and the prices are reasonable for Santorini :)

Room Tip: I was in a mixed ten bed dorms (room no 3). The beds are very comfy but as mention above the only th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed here for two nights during a recent trip to Greece, it was one of the most pleasant hostels I have ever stayed in. The pool was a welcome bonus. The rooms and the bathrooms were clean and functional. The location isn't ideal but that didn't detract from my enjoyment. It is an excellent budget option on an otherwise fairly pricey island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JULA758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed three nights in the 4-bed girls dorm in this wonderful hostel in Karteradhos. The dorm rooms were huge and they were cozy, well kept, and always clean. They had lockers and hangers for each Cavelander. The lockers had the sockets in them so each Cavelander can charge her gadget. They provided two towels (one bath towel and one smaller towel) too.

Their breakfast includes bread, assortment of jams, butter, muesli, milk, coffee and tea. You can use their communal kitchen if you want to cook your own meals. Bring your swimsuit so you can swim in their pool! The staff was just really welcoming and they made really good suggestions how to make our stay more enjoyable. Take their advice! E.g. Take the bus to Oia then do the hike to Fira so it would be downhill (most people do it the other way).

Now if you are a bit apprehensive about staying in a hostel 20-30 minutes away from Fira (by walking), I would say that is a quite a walk, but it is a nice walk. Don't be in a hurry to do anything and do everything - the vibe of Santorini is not your usual busy buzzling town. It is near a bus stop but you can just walk to Fira anyway. One advantage of staying in this location is being near restaurants which offer authentic and delicious Greek meals at a really affordable price - almost half the price of those in Fira! The place is also a couple of minutes away from supermarkets and bakeries.

Staying in Caveland made Santorini more charming to me! Good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melodymedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karteradhos
0.3 mi away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#2 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension George
Pension George
#1 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
4.2 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.9 mi away
Costa Marina Villas
Costa Marina Villas
#5 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caveland

Property: Caveland
Address: 39 Karterados, Karteradhos 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Karteradhos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Karteradhos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caveland is nested in an old 18th-century winery. We are situated in the best spot of Santorini island, right in its heart. We are just 20 minutes walk or 3 minutes drive from a beautiful and atmospheric capital of the island Fira Town in one of the most picturesque and traditional villages of the island called Karterados. Our complex consists of 8 traditional caves and numerous terraces with a big pool area and a bar. Daily organized dinners help you to meet fellow travelers. Swimming pool, yoga classes or tennis court will keep you in shape even on your holidays! Breakfast and wireless internet everywhere included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Caveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caveland Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing