We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concept for a hostel”
Review of Caveland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caveland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights, staying in a single room with a shared bathroom. The hostel itself is amazing. Well laid out, very peaceful location. Rooms were equipped well and very clean and the staff on hand very friendly and helpful.

Easy to get around and about with the local bus stop less than a 10mins walk away (all uphill, but good exercise!) Or just rent an ATV or moto from one of the many places nearby (I recommend Panos rentals!)

The only downsides were that reception closes at 9pm which meant the common area was also closed. No bar or similar to socialise and meet fellow travellers in the evenings before either going into Fira or hitting the sack. And unfortunately the aircon in my cave didn't work well, so the cave (especially the dorm area) was HOT! Thankfully my room had a little fan which helped. Think it was ok in the other caves though so perhaps Cave #2 just aircon just needs a service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieinDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I feel so horribly cruel giving this only 4 stars as it’s an incredibly sweet, beautifully renovated, unique hotel. But it wasn’t for me….I think I loathed it.

Pros!! I think for many travellers this is the ideal spot. Santorini is ludicrously hyped and therefore ludicrously expensive. However, Caveland is well placed about 20 – 25 minutes walk outside of the main town of Fira. Karterados is a small, sweet little village with cheap but excellent restaurants, minimarkets, and bakeries enabling you to eat for a lot less than in the town, or for picking up a snack on the walk over (note that Caveland sells nothing - you might want some water)! Caveland itself is incredibly well presented – I had a double room which had everything you would get in a top quality hotel but with added quirkiness, I also spied a couple of the shared rooms which seemed to an equally high spec, and at incredibly good value. The staff, particularly the chap on reception, are wonderfully friendly and could answer questions about getting around.

Cons!! ATMOSPHERE. Caveland is sooo close to getting it spot on as a young travellers destination. There is a large pool area and a fab courtyard that would provide the ideal opportunity to meet people, chat and have a drink before heading up to town. However, no-one spoke and I felt the need to talk at a restrained whisper, the couple of times I sat drinking outside my room I caught eye rolls from fellow guests. I noted a desolate pool bar had been built and some signs saying “pool bar open most days” but it never was and I think this is where the problem lies. I think Caveland is going for a relaxing vibe but it’s reached the point of being oppressive. I honestly believe that by playing a bit of a music around the pool, leaving the lights on in the communal areas after 9pm, and offering some basic snacks would prevent people from being forced out of the hotel through the majority of the day and develop a bit of a character in the hotel..

In short if you are looking for a bargain and time to reflect then you’ve found the perfect spot. But a sedative might work as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JokeswithOakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

It's been my first travel on my own; single girl.
Caveland is just a great place; I spent there one week in a non-shared room but attached to a 4 beds dorm. Accommodation and all facilities are very good and clean!
Loved a kitchen where everybody gathered in the mornings for breakfast (9.00-11.00); and you could just talk to anybody. There is also plenty of meeting spots in the large garden area and swimming pool; easily finding a place only for your own or with others.
Staff is friendly and very helpful on any kind of advice.
There are also yoga classes available three times per week and private ones on a request (see details at www.yoga-santorini.com).
The place is centrally located, which makes it very good starting point for trips around the island.
Totally recommend this place; it is a special place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 562justynam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We chose Caveland because we wanted something a little different from a standard hotel which we have done many times and it provided just that. We had one of the Cave houses which was just awesome and just for us. It was so homely, spacious, clean and cool in the hot weather. We had met a couple of girls on the plane over who were staying in one of the dorms so we got to check them out and even they were amazing. Way nicer and spacious than any other hostel I've seen. The owners are lovely, they dogs are very friendly and they have a great pool too.

It's nice having breakfast in the morning and talking to other travellers. Far different to a hotel experience which I thoroughly enjoyed.

You must go to the Cretean Bakery at the top of the road located on the main road. The food is amazing. There are 2 bakeries but the one across the main road is better.
A couple of stores down from the other bakery is a bike shop where we hired a quad bike for £15 per day. The shops on the main road were charging £25 so we were pleased with this.
There is a great greek restaurant near the windmill the same road too, the name escapes me right now but we ate there a few times and it was great. The greek salad and the cheese pie were my favs!

Room Tip: The Cave House is a very cool experience and great if its just 2 of you not wanting to share a dorm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I really enjoyed staying here. Comfortable mattress, clean sheets, good pillow, locker, AC, bright and cheerful decor, incl breakfast, swimming pool ...... tick tick tick!
The breakfast was great every morning, cereal and toast. Tea & coffee available throughout the day, they did ask for a donation but made no big deal of it.
The kitchen facilities to prepare your own lunch/dinner was awesome. Just need to be prepared to have an early dinner as the kitchen closes at 9pm.
Book exchange and free internet available.
Nabil on reception was extremely helpful, cool dude.
For Euro10 deposit you got a towel, the size of a loincloth. I wouldn't bother, if you return it with even a slight mark on it you'll not get your money back. A bit harsh when the towels are not pristine to begin with!
The communal area in front of the rooms is a nice place to interact with other guests, making it a social hostel. Drinking sessions at night also take place here so if you're the early to bed type of person, you might struggle with the noise ....
Only one criticism, basin and toilet were not cleaned daily, really unacceptable in a dormitory set-up.
Reading other reviews, yes there's a bit of a walk to get there but seriously, 20mins to Fira is totally OK in my opinion. The bus stop at the top of the road by Zotos Bakery is very convenient. Buy some yummy treats while waiting, life is good!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Caveland is not located in Fira so if you want to get there, you have to walk for 25 minutes or catch bus. It's a minus. But, Caveland is in very lovely and peaceful area, surroundings are good with shops, restaurants, people are nice also.there is a supermarket near so it's very convenient to buy cheap things (and here cards are accepted) Bus stop just few minutes walk from Caveland. Normal breakfast. The guy in reception is very friendly and willing to give you any info you need.
Overall,it's a nice place to stay with good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thuy1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Loved this friendly hostel! I was traveling alone but from the beginning didn't feel that way.
Great staff and 4 resident dogs!!! The best.
Breakfast every morning was toast, jam, muesli, tea, coffee, and milk.
You get a towel, sheet, pillow and a locker.
Reception is very helpful and helped me book a tour to the volcano, hot springs, Thirisia and Oia for the sunset.
Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karteradhos
0.4 mi away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#2 of 15 in Karteradhos
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#5 of 15 in Karteradhos
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
#9 of 15 in Karteradhos
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pension George
Pension George
#1 of 15 in Karteradhos
329 reviews
4.3 mi away
Anny Studios
Anny Studios
#30 of 40 in Perissa
207 reviews
2.8 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caveland

Address: 39 Karterados, Karteradhos 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Karteradhos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Karteradhos
Price Range: £26 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caveland is nested in an old 18th-century winery. We are situated in the best spot of Santorini island, right in its heart. We are just 20 minutes walk or 3 minutes drive from a beautiful and atmospheric capital of the island Fira Town in one of the most picturesque and traditional villages of the island called Karterados. Our complex consists of 8 traditional caves and numerous terraces with a big pool area and a bar. Daily organized dinners help you to meet fellow travelers. Swimming pool, yoga classes or tennis court will keep you in shape even on your holidays! Breakfast and wireless internet everywhere included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caveland Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing