We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling - 101 places better than this” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mario No 1

Mario No 1
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Monolithos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, View, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mario Restaurant is a quiet place on the beach of Agia Paraskevi in Monolithos area, just behind to Santorini's airport and you can reach it by taking the road from airport to Kamari village. Offering excellent variety of fresh seafood, traditional Santorinian food.
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
248 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Appalling - 101 places better than this”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I won't labour the point. But if this is the best eaterie in Monolithos - don't go anywhere near the place. I give on blob for our waiter who was charming and actually conceded the taramasalata lacked any fish taste. Indeed took the item off the bill. But to charge for a bowl of wallpaper paste would have been shocking. Chefs special "Volcano chicken" had less heat - both spice and temperature - than my sunburn. The hot cheese dip, was cold and had nothing to commend it at all. The moussakas were simply over cooked quasi vegetarian mush. And the Santo vineyard Nichteri white was pure antifreeze. Sorry folks but thus is just not acceptable.Even if they were only charging €50 for 3 persons, was at least €40 too much. Hazel says you shouldn't review a place until you've eaten there twice. But I see this as my civic duty, to prevent holidaymakers like us wasting an evening's dining here when the island does have gems scattered everywhere. But none here. sorry.

Helpful?
2 Thank MardleyMassif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    90
    23
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Resentfully Yours”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My second trip to Santorini on a quick business trip and Mario's was our choice for the evening.Although the food was very good and the service on par,what pissed me off was their blatant and almost aggressive attitude to write a "good review" about them on TripAdvisor almost shoving the complimentary tablets in our faces.
My advice to TripAdvisor is to condemn such ridiculous practices since they are a form of boosting one's ratings.Well here you have my review from my own tablet guys.Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Bare-with-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
137 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We visited this seaside restaurant based on reviews. This meal was excellent--wow!
Nikoe, our affable waiter, selected each course for us and paired a perfect Santorini wine. The first course, tomato balls, zinged with flavor. Nikoe brought us a traditional Greek Santorini salad with island grown tomatoes, cucumbers, onion, and croutons. The white eggplant dish was outstanding, followed by red snapper and a local fish which were incredibly tasty.
The beach is steps away from the restaurant; the effect is tranquil and calming.

Visit this restaurant for beautifully prepared Greek food in a lovely setting. Trust Nikoe to select the island's specialities and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely food, and staff, but.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a lovely meal here last week after coming across this place on TripAdvisor. So we got on our quad bikes and rode over. It's a lovely restaurant with just the best view right on the sea.
The food was lovely, we all had pasta dishes, and the waiter was very friendly.
We couldn't of asked for more but..... then came the end of the meal. When we asked for the bill, no word of a lie, the waiter brought over a tablet. A tablet already linked to TripAdvisor and asked us to write a review there and then! We didn't have time for all 6 of us to do this so we refused (which was a bit awkward to say the least!) But this really put a dampener on the dinner we had.
I couldn't believe they did that! We were all shocked and then we wondered if this is how they get all these good reviews on TripAdvisor! By forcing iPads in guests faces just after dinner!!
Anyway, the food is good but this really ruined it for us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank english86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great recommendation and wonderdul dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We were recommended to this restaurant by our friend. It's right by the seaside so you can feel the sea breeze and elegant atmosphere while you enjoy your seafood! Not to forget Nikos who gave us such great recommendation and being very patience in explaining the dishes.

Helpful?
Thank Yuanny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mario No 1 also viewed

Monolithos, Santorini
Monolithos, Santorini
 

Been to Mario No 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing