We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thumbs up for the Roasted Lamb!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mario No 1

Mario No 1
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Monolithos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mario Restaurant is a quiet place on the beach of Agia Paraskevi in Monolithos area, just behind to Santorini's airport and you can reach it by taking the road from airport to Kamari village. Offering excellent variety of fresh seafood, traditional Santorinian food.
1 review
“Thumbs up for the Roasted Lamb!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The best roasted lamb I've ever eaten!! Highly recommended, Great service, great food, friendly people

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    90
    23
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value, service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Loved the food and service. Prices are so much cheaper than the over-priced up-market restaurants in Thira and Oia...and the food quality
At Mario's was better and more interesting. No problem finding the place and they did not give us a tablet to fill out a review as commented by others. They must have taken heed of the comments on Tripadvisor...a good sign. Take the trip .out there .. Love the location too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TDGSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Its Santorini's hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Not the easiest restaurant to find but a restaurant worth looking for, me and my girlfriend saw this place on trip advisor and decided to go check it out, we have drinks as we had already eaten, but after the seeing what the menu and food looked like we when back for dinner, I thought it looked a bit over priced but when we got the bill it wasn't, food was beautiful, I had the mussel risotto which was a must if you look seafood. Its not far from the Mediterranean beach hotel ( on your left at the beach it will take you 5mins) and the views is lovely.... if walking from kamari it will take you 45-55mins walk along the beach or follow the coast on the road but definitely try. Best restaurant i when too here in Santorini

Helpful?
Thank james_m1tchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Launch at the restaurant Mario!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent service with very kind employes, nice atmosphere and most of all great greek mousaka and fresh fish!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
248 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Appalling - 101 places better than this”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I won't labour the point. But if this is the best eaterie in Monolithos - don't go anywhere near the place. I give on blob for our waiter who was charming and actually conceded the taramasalata lacked any fish taste. Indeed took the item off the bill. But to charge for a bowl of wallpaper paste would have been shocking. Chefs special "Volcano chicken" had less heat - both spice and temperature - than my sunburn. The hot cheese dip, was cold and had nothing to commend it at all. The moussakas were simply over cooked quasi vegetarian mush. And the Santo vineyard Nichteri white was pure antifreeze. Sorry folks but thus is just not acceptable.Even if they were only charging €50 for 3 persons, was at least €40 too much. Hazel says you shouldn't review a place until you've eaten there twice. But I see this as my civic duty, to prevent holidaymakers like us wasting an evening's dining here when the island does have gems scattered everywhere. But none here. sorry.

Helpful?
2 Thank MardleyMassif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mario No 1 also viewed

Monolithos, Santorini
Monolithos, Santorini
 

Been to Mario No 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing