We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful and homely”
Review of Kalypso Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kalypso Houses
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for a week in May , the villa (daphne) was just perfect , there were 6 of us in total and perfect amount of space for us all. The family live below and really make you feel so welcome , the maid is lovely came in daily and everything was always immaculate , they did our laundry too. They even made us a delicious home made cake . Nothing was to much for them and Francesco was just such a super lovely guy!! So helpful , making sure we got the best out of the island . The airport is literally right behind the villa but you forget about it and it's so incredibly peaceful!!! Loved it here and will be returning .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

My and my girlfriend had 3 lovely days at the Hotel Kalypso in Santorini! Combines the beauty of the island and the luxury of the Hotel made our holidays a dream!! Swimming pool is a plus in our trip. I recommend it to everyone 100%! Thank you very much for your service and your friendliness, keep the hard work!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KonstantinosP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed in Daphne (the 2x2 apartment) for a week in late Sep/Oct & really loved it. The apartment is very beautiful & so clean - better than any hotel I've stayed at. The rooms were cleaned daily & to a very high standard. A beautiful private pool (also cleaned daily) accompanies the apartment & it is 2minutes walk to the beach or a 10min lazy drive to Fira, the main town centre. The only negative I can make is that the airconditioning did not work in any of the rooms. When we brought this up with Tina the owner she had someone come within 12hours to fix it, which they did, but that night again they did not work. Besides this I would rate the place 9/10 - really lovely. Definitely stay here if you want some privacy & luxury, but with the ability to cook your own food now & then if you desire & be away from the hoards in centre of town. Ps if you do stay here DEFINATELY visit 'Taverna Galini' just 2 minutes down the road, for dinner. Amazing food, service etc & right in the beach + the locals eat here which is always a good sign! We ate there 3 times during our stay & on the last night they gave us a complimentary bottle of wine & desert + best advice on what to eat & what's freshest. Loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bailey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Three of us had a really enjoyable week at the end of August in Daphne, the smaller of the two villas. Plenty of space, comfortable beds, air conditioning throughout, good showers, a lovely outdoor area with an excellent swimming pool that was cleaned every morning - all with the bonus of a quiet stretch of beach with a good taverna just 100 yards down the road!

Although near the airport runway it was quiet and secluded, being away from the main holiday centres on the other side of the island. Kamari, the nearest large holiday centre, is a few miles away so car hire makes sense. This also facilitates seeing a beautiful island with lots of geography and history; and as well as visiting the labyrinthine Thira and Oia we found time to visit the ancient town at Akrotiri and to take a boat trip to the volcano.

Fantastic views over the caldera from Akrotiti and Oia. Santorini is well worth a holiday; and if you do come here, book one of the Kalypso villas where you will be well looked after by Tina, a wonderful host. A week perhaps wasn't long enough!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Tina is the perfect host. The property is exceptionally well maintained and very clean. Elia house has a fantastic outside area for living. Our holiday was perfect. Hopefully the air conditioning will get repaired shortly as that was the only disappointment. Close to the airport which can be a disadvantage but didn't spoil our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Six of us spent 7 nights in the larger of the 2 villas (Elia), returning home last week.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the villa itself was extremely clean and the rooms were all large with comfortable beds. The showers were all powerful and the water was constantly hot.
The kitchen was adequate (not a lot of work space) but we tended to BBQ frequently and make use of the gorgeous terrace and pool.
The outside space is really what makes the villa, the pool is very large (bigger than some hotels), the sun loungers are comfy and there's shade if you ever need to rest from the sun (August is hot)! The BBQ was a great perk too.
Tina and her family were very helful, helping us book taxis and recommending day trips etc, she even even made us homemade cake which was delicious!
If I had one gripe it was the fact that the air con in the master bedroom was broken for the majority of our stay, Tina did kindly provide us with a fan, and it was fixed on our last night, there was a concern in getting the required part from Athens.
All in all I can't recommend this villa enough, I feel very sad to be home!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GemK18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed in Elia villa with several friends for a week in August and it was just perfect! It was a decent size, with a bar-be-que and a huge pool too! The villa is close to a small shop, and a lovely local taverna aswell as the beach. The airport is very close, however the noise isn't a problem as it's not a busy airport.

I would definitely recommend Kalypso houses, the owners are very friendly & helpful, and if we go back to Santorini I'd happily stay there again too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank char d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monolithos hotels
1 mi away
Scorpios Beach Hotel
Scorpios Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Monolithos
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Memories Beach Hotel
Memories Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Monolithos
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Bay Villas
Blue Bay Villas
#3 of 3 in Monolithos
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monolithia
Monolithia
#2 of 2 in Monolithos
21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monolithos Hotel
Monolithos Hotel
#2 of 3 in Monolithos
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dagris Villa
Dagris Villa
#1 of 3 in Monolithos
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalypso Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalypso Houses

Address: Agia Paraskevi, Monolithos 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Monolithos
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Monolithos
Price Range: £186 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalypso Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villas are located near the beach in a quiet area surrounded by vineyards, pistachios trees and olive trees. The rooms preserve the traditional style of the island and the private pools can offer you endless hours of relaxing and fun. The villas are suitable for large families,kids and large groups. There is a 2 minute walk to the beach which is not crowded and quiet. The cities are 1 or 2 km away and there are traditional restaurants near by. Kalypso houses can offer everything a family needs for an enjoyable relaxing calming and reviving vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Kalypso Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalypso Houses Santorini/Monolithos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing