We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice fish taverna”

Captain Loizos Fish Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Monolithos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice fish taverna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We went here for dinner a couple of times during our stay in Monolithos. Classic menu selection of fresh fish and vegetables. As with most tavernas you should always take a look at the fish selection for the day. We had some nice grilled fish, salad and a few starters, all fresh and well prepared. Service was ok, and it was a nice mix of locals and tourists.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samuul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    65
    21
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hydra, Greece
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely fish tavern near the beach Greek atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a great family diner in this charming fish tavern near the beach of Monolithos,
table of 8, very good service, good music - Greek songs- in the background, very good fish and various mezzo- like Santorini tomato fritata, lava, zucchini donuts, salad;

The place has got a very Greek atmosphere and a nice decor, the owner as i understand is a fisherman and also helps serving,

We sat inside as it was a little chilly, but the restaurant also has some tables outside, which must be wonderful in summer;

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frenchhydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unexpected great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

A simple taverna on the beach. Dont expect fancy or clinical here. This is a modest shack, BUT with great quality food. If you're looking for fresh grilled fish (pick and choose your own!!!), simple salad or vegetables from the garden...this is your place. If you enjoy "the product" more than the sophisticated cooking, this is your place. If you'd like to be served by a tanned greek fisherman, this is your place. Con: location is weird, kid game park on Monolithos beach is run down, and the road in front is used by locals to test their engines. But this aside, this was one of the culinary highlights of our trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank detb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Reasonable price comparing Galini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Taste is very good for fish and salats and prices are quite reasonable comparing Galini,
Location is much easy to reach and find.Presentation is not as good as Galini .
I can advice nevertheless and much better than the restaurants in Fira ....
you must try ....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Proconesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paralimni, Cyprus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best fish taverna in santorini!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

It's our favourite place for food in santorini.the salads are awesome,the fish is always fresh and the stuff is very friendly!the prices are really really good for seafood by the sea!we hope to be back very soon!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stavm777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Loizos Fish Restaurant also viewed

Monolithos, Santorini
Monolithos, Santorini
 
Monolithos, Santorini
Karteradhos, Santorini
 

Been to Captain Loizos Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing