We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family run hotel”
Review of Irilena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lassi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Irilena Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Lassi
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent family run hotel”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a one week stay at the Irilena and we were very impressed with this hotel. It was good value for money, the bedrooms and public areas were kept very clean and the family were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The bedrooms and bathrooms were a very good standard for a 2 star hotel and it was good to have a proper shower cubicle with doors rather than the usual shower curtains or just a shower tray where the water goes all over the place. The location of the hotel is excellent as the restaurants and bars are nearby and the main beaches just a short walk away unlike other hotels and apartment complexes that are accessed up a steep hill. I think comments made by previous reviewers criticising the frequency of towel changes etc are out of context as this is a small family run hotel and for the price being paid, offers good service and is much friendlier than the larger more expensive options. Our only problem was that this was our first visit to Kefalonia and one week was not long enough so we look forward to returning again soon along with many other guests we spoke to who are repeat visitors to this hotel which speaks for itself.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jill_L44_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    30
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
23
115
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiddingfold, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My family and I stayed at the Irilena Hotel for a week at the end of August, beginning of September 2012. I thought the Hotel was excellent value for money. The staff were lovely and very friendly. Although situated on a main road, the noise didn't effect us as long as the veranda doors were shut. The breakfast although basic could have been nicer if the water to make tea and coffee was hot and the eggs were served hot rather than stone cold. I was very distressed to see so many starving cats in Kefalonia on the streets and around every restaurant and the hotel we were staying at. This I found very upsetting and has really put me off Kefalonia.I have been to Kalkan in Turkey and several other similar destinations, where there is at least some effort to improve the lives of animals. I saw animals kicked and injured starving animals on every street corner. Not at all impressed.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My family and I stayed at Irilena Hotel for 2 weeks at the end of August 2012. There are some aspects of the hotel that I must praise highly. The staff are very helpful and were lovely with the kids. When we had a problem with our room, they tried to rectify it as soon as they possibly could. The location is ideal in that there is easy access to many decent tavernas and supermarkets, and by far the best beaches on Kefalonia.

Having said this, there are some serious issues which I feel I must highlight. All rooms (with the exception of about 5 or 6) are road facing. Hotel Irilena is on the main road running through Lassi, with the rooms being no more than 2 metres from the road. This means that the traffic noise is horrendous, 24 hours per day! This is made worse by the disproportionately high number of motor cyclists who quite merrily drive by at all hours of the night revving their engines. Even if we did manage to nod off, moments later we would be startled back awake by what sounded like a motor bike inside the bedroom. I have stayed in infinitely quieter motorway service station hotels before. We complained and, as mentioned above, the staff were very good and moved us to rear facing rooms within 2 days. This was much, much better, but we were very lucky to be moved as the hotel was fully booked!

The next thing to mention is the breakfast. Breakfast comprises of: slices of cheese, slices of 'spam-like' garlic sausage, hard boiled eggs, slices of bread, butter, jam and honey, yoghurt, tinned-peach chunks, biscuits (type varied daily), cornflakes, orange drink, coffee and tea. Now, on reading this you might think this is a decent selection. However, the sausage is like the worst mechanically reclaimed meat you could possibly imagine, the coffee and hot water (with which to make tea) was always luke-warm at best, and the cornflakes were unlike anything I have ever tasted. Netto value cornflakes are better. The 'orange juice' is cordial. Even on days where I arrived at the very start of breakfast, the bread was often stale (clearly brought out from the previous day's leftovers), and the boiled eggs were often cold, implying they had not been freshly boiled. It seemed the bread was fresh roughly every 2nd or 3rd day, and on occasion the eggs were warm. But, on the plus side the yoghurt and honey was lovely, so I had this most days. I don't mind breakfast being repetitive, so long as its fresh and the basics are done well. This was not the case here.

There are many comments in other reviews that state the rooms are cleaned spotlessly. Superficially I would agree that the rooms are cleaned and tidied to a good standard. However, again there were a few issues that need highlighting. Conventionally, when a towel is dirty, one throws it into the bath or shower and it is replaced with a fresh towel. However, my dirty towel was retrieved from the shower floor, and hung up on the balcony clothes line to be dried! I could not believe this. Also, stained undersheets were not changed as frequently as they should have been.

Just a few other points about the hotel: rooms have showers only, which was OK with us. They are basic but comfortable. There are no room TVs. Safety deposit boxes are 10 Euros per week. Air conditioning is 35 Euros per week per room. Room 109 is the best in the hotel if you can get this.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a rear facing room, which may be easier said than done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdcocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Our first time in Kefalonia and what a fantastic time we had.The hotel was more than adequate, rooms spotlessly clean, room service fantastic.
All the staff were extremely friendly offering a lovely warm welcome and they were always very obliging. The location is superb on the main stretch of Lassi with plenty of tavernas and restaurants to choose from and close to the white sandy beaches and the crystal clear Ionian sea The hotel has private gardens which were very pleasant and relaxing, the bar area is very stylish too. Transfer time from airport approximately ten minutes.
The hotel does not have a pool but this is not a problem as the guests are able to use a pool and loungers at another hotel just across the road free of charge.The gardens we mentioned more than compensate for not having a pool. The only regret we have is that we only spent a week here , wish we had stayed longer but will definitely be visiting this hotel again.the temperature during our stay was 41-45 degrees so take plenty of sun lotions !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Second time of staying at the Irilena, Mum & daughter run the hotel and are lovely people, nothing is too much trouble. Very clean and comfortable. Rooms on the front of the hotel can be noisey as it is on a busy road, even more noisey are the crickets or grashoppers whatever they are, but boy what a noise. Very close to the beach, restaurants & bars are only 5/10 minutes walk down the main road where the hotel is situated on. Very good choice. We stayed for 2 weeks and tried a different restaurant every night. Prices were very very good. Great holiday and a nice hotel to go back to each evening.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a room at the back of the hotel if your worried about a bit of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

lovely hotel well looked after by all the staff - very up to date with large tv and leather sofas in the lounge. the outside area is really good - modern and inviting. Athena, Irilena, Fanny and all the staff are very friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble if you ask for something. we spent two really good weeks here and made lots of friends. the rooms are good, well equipped and very very clean. the cleaner does a good job and you have fresh bedding and towels all the time. the road outside is sometimes noisy as it is a busy road but it did not interfere with out sleep and there was always something to watch from the balcony. breakfast is limited and does get boring after a few days. cereal peaches bread boiled eggs ham and cheese. as much as you want.

Room Tip: they are all the same inside - at the front some have a sea view but all have a road view and at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petronellaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Hotel Irilena which was a superb little family run hotel right in the middle of Lassi next to lots of places to eat and several local supper markets.

The breakfast that is supplied is not quite a continental it just consists of bread, preserves, butter cheese, 1 type of meat, 1 type of cereal tea coffee and orange squash.

The rooms are clean and comfortable i i recommend that you buy the optional air conditioning.

I highly recommend hiring a car if only for a few days as there is so much to see on the small island (and every thing seams to be up hill).

All in all I would highly recommend this a short break.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyco11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lassi hotels
0.7 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
0.2 mi away
Enalion Suites
Enalion Suites
#5 of 19 in Lassi
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lefteris Village
Lefteris Village
#13 of 19 in Lassi
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Metaxatos Apartments
Metaxatos Apartments
#11 of 19 in Lassi
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Irilena Studios
Irilena Studios
#6 of 28 in Lassi
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irilena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irilena Hotel

Property: Irilena Hotel
Address: Lassi 28100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lassi
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irilena Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Irilena Hotel Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing