We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel experience ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irilena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lassi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Irilena Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Lassi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Irilena hotel is excellent, great value for money and ideally located for people with a desire to experience the Greek way of life. The staff are exceptional, warm friendly and accommodating .... the amount of returning guests speaks for itself. We are well travelled worldwide and this is the only hotel that I have returned to more than once and wouldn't hesitate to recommend .... negative reviews for this hotel are in my opinion unjustified ... enjoy x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    29
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
106
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have no idea why anybody on trip advisor have a great review. The hotel is located at an extremely busy road that only seems to calm down between 2 and 3 am. The hotel staff is horrible, as if they have never heard of service. Especially the old lady who seems to own the place is a real drag. They are rude and only looking for a good review that they simply in no way deserve. Also, the breakfast is a joke. When in Greece, all I look for in a meal is some local yoghurt, some local honey and maybe some local fruit. All these things are available in this town, yet they choose to charge 8(!) euros a day for warm milk, disgusting yoghurt and old sliced bread. They offer some store bought cake which is what I ended up eating for 11 days straight due to the fact that I cannot eat (ice cold!) eggs. Also, a cup of coffee would've been nice, not the instant crap they serve. They seem to not know what service means, have no intent of changing that and there is simply nothing good about this hotel. I will never return here in my life.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

As many stated already, this hotel is so clean and nice. The staff so attentative and nice (we had many nice conversations). From the breakfast in the morning to a drink in the bar in the evening. This hotel is on the main street so you cannot avoid the noise from the traffic but I would nevertheless definately stay here again when I go back to Kefalonia one day. It was lovely to have breakfast on the terrace of a coffee in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JennyJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have stayed 4times now and find it a great hotel, the family who own the Hotel and staff all look after you very well,and are very friendly nothing is to much trouble rooms are kept spotless cleaned every day and sheets and towels are changed on a regular basis.
We had bed and breakfast, the breakfast was good with cheese,meat,boiled eggs,fruit yogurt,cake ,cereal,fruit juice,bread,tea & coffee, enough to set you up for the day.
We look very much to return again in the future.
A big thank you to everyone for looking after us and making our Holiday special.

Room Tip: Higher floor has good views of the sea at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here last year and it was such a great base I decided to come again and have no regrets having done so.
I pretty much covered everything about the hotel in my last review - just want to add for my own benefit, there's a hair dryer in the room (couldn't remember so lugged one with me just in case).
This time I had what I consider the best room in the hotel - 216 up on the roof. It's a big room, large fridge which keeps eveything very cold (take your own drinking cups or buy some plastic ones whilst there), a private balcony overlooking the garden and a massive terrace with sunbeds and table and chairs. The view from here is magnificent - all over Lassi Bay. Loved it! Great bathroom for Greece and enclosed shower cubicle was roomy enough. If you dropped the soap you could bend down for it.
Did use the air con this time - safe and air con for a week 45 Euro. Could have got away with air con though but saved sleeping with balcony doors cracked open.
Basic breakfast, service, friendly owning family, standard of cleaning, lovely bar - all remain fantastic as before. Location for me is spot on for all I want to access and it's not noisy. All in all for a 2* hotel it's flippin great.
Booked a couple of trips with Panem (office just off the main road opposite Vagelati supermarket). Ithaca 49 Euro and Island Tour 31 Euro. Both were full days and worth the money. Great drivers and their guide Esme is so knowledgeable it was an absolute treat to be on the trips.
I am lucky enough to go to lots of places but already thinking of next year and staying at the Irilena.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank serendipity402010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week at the beginning of June. On reading the reviews I did expect more but was a little disapppointed in the location of the hotel and the downstairs rooms. The hotel is well run and the family who run it are absolutely first class, friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. However, I have stayed in better hotels in Greece. The room was near to the road so there was a lot of road noise if you wanted to leave your door open, the room was dark too, maybe if it was painted white or pale blue but it was a dark peach colour and along with the dark wood meant it was very dark and I found it a little bit depressing. The rooms were comfortable though, the bed was good and the sheets and towels changed twice during our stay. They were also spotlessly clean as was the whole Hotel, it was, I have to say, very clean and tidy which was lovely - if you are planning to stay here I think the best rooms would be on the first floor overlooking the garden at the back, not the road, it's just too noisey. The garden was a lovely find, very shady to sit in. Breakfast was fresh and well presented but the same every day gets a bit boring, we tried San Lorenzo next door for breakfast which was very reasonable, a good choice from the menu and very fresh, and the young man who served us each day was always smiling, friendly and polite and helpful. Lassi is a purpose built resort and it shows, there's no real life to this resort, it's just a strip on the main road, however, the restaurants are excellent and very reasonably priced, Sirtakis was very good and we ate here nearly every night, the Greek night was exceptional, highly recommended. When we return to Kefalonia we will stay somewhere like Skala or Katelios, but will not return to Lassi. The upside to being in Lassi is that Argostoli is only a 20 minute walk away - not sure about the reliability of the bus service so it is best to walk or get a taxi which is only 5 euros each way. Very vibrant capital with lots of bars and restaurants, Diana's on the front by the port was good. You can take the ferry to Lixouri from here which is just 2.5 euros return and well worth it as the views of Fanari Lighthouse and surrounds is stunning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor overlooking the garden or the first room on the ground floor at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmbushStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Everything you expect in Greece and more, lovely family run hotel ideally situated. Basic but lovely breakfast. Stayed for a week from 22nd June and could of stayed longer, if you get the chance to stay here please do

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuartjg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lassi hotels
0.7 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#1 of 19 in Lassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lorenzo Hotel
Lorenzo Hotel
#8 of 19 in Lassi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enalion Suites
Enalion Suites
#5 of 19 in Lassi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#9 of 19 in Lassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irilena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irilena Hotel

Property: Irilena Hotel
Address: Lassi 28100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irilena Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Irilena Hotel Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing