We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Lorenzo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lorenzo Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Lassi
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just back from a week at the Lorenzo with my daughter and would love to return! My daughter had been on the island with a conservation project for 6 weeks and met me at the hotel - she was far to early for official check in but it didnt cause any problem.
The hotel is maybe a little old fashioned, but is spotlessly clean and the staff were without exception helpful and friendly. We were in room 225 which overlooked both the gardens and the sea and had a good sized balcony. The room had television and fridge - there was also a large fridge for residents' use downstairs. The bathroom - loo, basin and shower - was small but perfectly adaquate and clean with a powerful shower and toilettries provided.
Breakfast was collected on a tray and could be eaten in the breakfast room, outside or in your bedroom. It was continental as expected - bread, jam, Greek yogourt and honey, cakes, ham, cheese, boiled eggs and cereal every day.
The outdoor areas were also clean and well presented but being beach fans we didn't use the pool or pool bar although other residents gave them very good reviews.
The bar was a cosy place to meet up after dinner with fairly gentle entertainment and fantastic cocktails made by Effie!
Argostoli is well within walking distance - it is particularly nice to walk along the coast road past the lighthouse - and the bus-stop is almost outside the hotel; 1.5 euros into town..
Being late in the season several tavernas were closed, but we ate well every night both in Lassi and Argostoli. Retseto and Tzorgas both very good in Lassi. My daughter wanted to get a take away from a restaurant in Argostoli and when we asked if it was acceptable the receptionist produced a pile of take away menus and phoned the order in for us!
We hired a car from Pefannis - only 90 euros for 3 days, although this was probably an end-of-season rate. 45 euros of petrol got us over 300 kilometres all round the island - not to be missed are Assos, Fiscardo, Myrtos and Antisamos beaches. Closer to home, Costa Costa beach is wonderful and less than 10 minutes walk from the Loranzo.
All in all a great trip and a lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorthofEnglandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very dissapointed!!! We booked this hotel with our tour operator on the understanding that we had cooking facilities, fridge and kettle, free WiFi and air-con. We had NOTHING just a room and had to pay for everything else. The receptionist was miserable and gave no information on our stay, breakfast times extras, check out etc etc we were handed the key and told the room number and that was it. The room was very small but was very clean. The bar staff were lovely however and made it more bearable, although we felt a little sorry for the young girl in the late bar, which was like going back to 1945, no windows open and full of smoke even on a hot night and playing what seemed like 'the look of love' on repeat all night. The pool bar stopped food service at 15:30 and the music was turned off around 5ish although the bar lady and her dog 'buster' were very nice, how boring when you want to sit out and enjoy the views, which the hotel in its credit did have. We were so glad we hired a car and only used the hotel to sleep and shower, and the breakfast, well it was nice on day 1 and 2 but then having to face, sliced cheese and ham, bolied eggs, tinned peaches and not the best greek yoghurt in the world on days, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7 served with what tasted like orange cordial and the hardest white bread that ripped your mouth to shreds!!! Great as a base as Kefalonia is amazing, car hire a must, but not great for anything else!!!!

Room Tip: Sea views and as far away from the bar, if you get a room above or below dont plan sleeping take ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

What a fantastic place to stay. Hotel and staff are out of this world, clean friendly in the perfect spot. Views are also great and at least you can explore without a car. 15 minute walk to the capital city and great shopping centre. Stop and enjoy a light bite in the square and watch the world pass by. If you get the chance to explore the island please take the opportunity as this is a wonderful island very romantic and just the place for those who intend marriage or for your honeymoon. Lassi is the best place to stay as you can quite easily walk to many places of interest, history all around as well as beaches and the people are so friendly one week will go so quick you must stay for two weeks.

Room Tip: Try an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rod f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The hotel is small and the staff are friendly and relaxed. We stayed mid August and we always managed to get a sun bed around the pool and the pool was always quiet and never more than 10 people in the pool at once despite its size!
The pool bar serves reasonable food at a reasonable price and the lady who ran it during the evening was extremely friendly and happy to help and also provided us with lots of information about the island!
The hotel is in an ideal location close to two beaches and plenty of supermarkets and only 6euros to Argostolli. The hotel room was basic and what you would expect with your money but was kept extremely clean and towels and bedding changed daily.
Overall a great stay and would return again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sammi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We just got back from a two week stay and would recommend this hotel. We found the staff to be very relaxed and friendly, we had a pool/sea view and were able to watch the sunset every evening. The room is basic but has all you need and was kept very clean. I wouldn't rate the breakfast very much but the location is fantastic in relation to the beautiful beaches and variety of nearby restaurants. It also has a lovely pool with a chilled out pool bar which is a great place to have a drink in the evening served by the lovely Effie.Just by the Lorenzo is the Aqua Marina restaurant where you will meet Yannis, Eggly (Iggy) and Lucy, great food, great people and location. We would also recommend Butlers House Restaurant where you will meet the lovely Spiros and his younger brother Yannis, beautiful decor, delicious food and a great atmosphere. Yanni is a bit touchy as although he is the younger brother of Spiros he does look a bit older (only joking!) just part of the laugh we had there. Kefalonia is a really beautiful island and we hired a car for a few days to enjoy it. We really loved Lassi as all the restaurants were wonderful but what really made it for us was that they were al so friendly and chilled out. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dylan873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Overall pretty good value, good location, nice surroundings and a big pool (shame they allow others not staying at the hotel reserve sunbeds though).

In more detail:

Our room was pretty basic & the shower room tiny.

Air conditioning is not included which is charged at Euro 5 per day. The small safe was 1.5 Euro per night. None of this was explained to us on arrival.

If its not included in your rate, breakfast is charged at 4 Euros; which is what its worth. We were craving a change of breakfast by day 3.

When the aircon didnt work properly the reception staff implied it was our fault.

Finally, dont let the taxi drivers at the airport rip you off. They try to charge 20 Euro for a 10 min trip. There's a bus that goes along through Lassi to Argostoli roughly every hour for just 1.6 Euro pp.

Room Tip: ask for one over looking the pool which also will give you a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My self and sister in law stayed for 1 week commencing 29th August. Usually love Kefalonia but had a few disappointing experiences during our stay. The staff at Lorenzo are lovely and work really hard. The rooms were small. Shower was awful and leaked. Floor drain blocked as soon as we showered or ran the tap. Beds were really uncomfortable so never has a decent nights sleep all week. Breakfast was dull and coffee was wet but weak.
Prices in general have increased in Greece. However, the super markets are reasonable. Beach near the Hotel Med (left of hotel) was nice however, 2 small mythos beer's were 5.20 euro's and same size can in the super market (up the road) was less than 1 euro each....................Also hotel rooms had NO fridge so had to have worm white wine (yuk).
Lovely pool and Lots of sun beds however, really uncomfortable white beds so big tip try to get a blue bed ( although only around 20 available) the rest were white (ouch) I Wouldn't return sadly.
Although really nice hard working staff. I agree with previous review that there was no info about breakfast times, safe, departure of room times etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lassi hotels
0.6 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lassi
849 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metaxatos Apartments
Metaxatos Apartments
#11 of 19 in Lassi
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
0.3 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#10 of 19 in Lassi
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lefteris Village
Lefteris Village
#13 of 19 in Lassi
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorenzo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorenzo Hotel

Address: Lassi 28100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lassi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lassi
Price Range: £29 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lorenzo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lorenzo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorenzo Hotel Lassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing