We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Lorenzo Hotel visit”
Review of Lorenzo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lorenzo Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Lassi
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed for two weeks at the San Lorenzo Hotel in September 2013. The rooms are cleaned daily and the bed linen and towels are changed regularly. Breakfast is the usual Greek food: choice of ham, cheese, eggs, cereal, fruit, bread etc. The staff are all very friendly, polite and helpful. The location is excellent for access to the shops, tavernas, buses and taxis. There is a choice of very good beaches all within a 10-15 minute walk. Lassi was fairly quiet in September but Argostoli is well worth a visit having a fabulous busy harbour with cruise ships often, nice shopping precinct, central square with great choice of tavernas, and lots more to offer. Argostoli is easy and cheap to get to either by bus or taxi (5 euro). We would definitely stay at the San Lorenzo "HOTEL" again. Note: San Lorenzo "VILLAGE" is a different complex in another part of Lassi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wildthingwarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here for a week booked through Thomas Cook. Its in a good location of the street and its not too far from Argostoli. Breakfast is a waste of time unless you just want bread, and after having bread with every other meal you don't want more bread in the morning.
The pool is very good, this is the best part. Out side bar is good but the inside bar is very smelly with smoke and cigars.
Warning; The air-conditioning is an extra charge. We didn't know this. We didn't have a remote for the air conditioning in the room so we asked the night porter (who spoke no english at all) for a remote. He handed us the remote and nothing was mentioned about extra charges. At the end of the holiday as we were leaving the receptionist said we hadn't paid for the air conditioning.
The bed was ok, i've stayed in worse beds.

The town its self is probably the biggest let down. Not much to do, the beach is an absolute joke. It was a complete run down mess with rubbish and old parasols left there and the bar/shop was abandoned and looked like it had been hit by a hurricane.

Supermarket up the road sells some nice donuts. Restaurant opposite the hotel serves some really nice and very cheap Giros.
The food in all the restaurants is all pretty much the same. An evening or two in Argostoli is recommended for a change in cuisine.

I do recommend hiring a car and driving inland and to other parts of the island. CBR was good for rental.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank graham_askew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Just returned from a week in these apartments which are set in the grounds of the Lorenzo Hotel.
Our room was spotlessly clean and kept that way by the maid every day. We had a small kitchen area with sink, fridge, two ring burner, toaster and kettle. This was ample as we wanted to eat out and sample the local food. We could use the Hotel facilities, bars and swimming pool but preferred to walk to the beaches when the weather allowed.
This hotel is set in the middle of Lassi and is perfect for touring the island.
Unfortunately the weather was rather wet, windy and stormy during our stay at the beginning of October. Also it was very late in the season so a lot of the restaurants and tour companies were closing so we were unable to take any trips. However, we used the local taxis to take us into Agostoli, on a couple of occasions (6 euros).
The local restaurants that we used were excellent value for money, very welcoming and the local dishes were excellent.
We are returning to Kefalonia in the spring of 2014 and hope to see more of this beautiful island. I would not like to be here in the height of the season as I think it would be very busy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cb48-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel is great value for money, it is absolutely spotless, the cleaners clean the rooms daily, everything sparkles, breakfast is basic but ample, choices of eggs, cereal , toast, ham, cheese, preserves, tea and coffee and as much as you care to eat, you can eat in the restaurant or take your tray to your room to eat on your balcony. The staff are so friendly. The pool is the best in Lassi. The best rooms are numbered between 210 - 215 wonderful sea views, we had room 210 which is the corner room on the second floor which gave us a wonderful view of the mountains and the sea. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just back from a week at the Lorenzo with my daughter and would love to return! My daughter had been on the island with a conservation project for 6 weeks and met me at the hotel - she was far to early for official check in but it didnt cause any problem.
The hotel is maybe a little old fashioned, but is spotlessly clean and the staff were without exception helpful and friendly. We were in room 225 which overlooked both the gardens and the sea and had a good sized balcony. The room had television and fridge - there was also a large fridge for residents' use downstairs. The bathroom - loo, basin and shower - was small but perfectly adaquate and clean with a powerful shower and toilettries provided.
Breakfast was collected on a tray and could be eaten in the breakfast room, outside or in your bedroom. It was continental as expected - bread, jam, Greek yogourt and honey, cakes, ham, cheese, boiled eggs and cereal every day.
The outdoor areas were also clean and well presented but being beach fans we didn't use the pool or pool bar although other residents gave them very good reviews.
The bar was a cosy place to meet up after dinner with fairly gentle entertainment and fantastic cocktails made by Effie!
Argostoli is well within walking distance - it is particularly nice to walk along the coast road past the lighthouse - and the bus-stop is almost outside the hotel; 1.5 euros into town..
Being late in the season several tavernas were closed, but we ate well every night both in Lassi and Argostoli. Retseto and Tzorgas both very good in Lassi. My daughter wanted to get a take away from a restaurant in Argostoli and when we asked if it was acceptable the receptionist produced a pile of take away menus and phoned the order in for us!
We hired a car from Pefannis - only 90 euros for 3 days, although this was probably an end-of-season rate. 45 euros of petrol got us over 300 kilometres all round the island - not to be missed are Assos, Fiscardo, Myrtos and Antisamos beaches. Closer to home, Costa Costa beach is wonderful and less than 10 minutes walk from the Loranzo.
All in all a great trip and a lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorthofEnglandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very dissapointed!!! We booked this hotel with our tour operator on the understanding that we had cooking facilities, fridge and kettle, free WiFi and air-con. We had NOTHING just a room and had to pay for everything else. The receptionist was miserable and gave no information on our stay, breakfast times extras, check out etc etc we were handed the key and told the room number and that was it. The room was very small but was very clean. The bar staff were lovely however and made it more bearable, although we felt a little sorry for the young girl in the late bar, which was like going back to 1945, no windows open and full of smoke even on a hot night and playing what seemed like 'the look of love' on repeat all night. The pool bar stopped food service at 15:30 and the music was turned off around 5ish although the bar lady and her dog 'buster' were very nice, how boring when you want to sit out and enjoy the views, which the hotel in its credit did have. We were so glad we hired a car and only used the hotel to sleep and shower, and the breakfast, well it was nice on day 1 and 2 but then having to face, sliced cheese and ham, bolied eggs, tinned peaches and not the best greek yoghurt in the world on days, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7 served with what tasted like orange cordial and the hardest white bread that ripped your mouth to shreds!!! Great as a base as Kefalonia is amazing, car hire a must, but not great for anything else!!!!

Room Tip: Sea views and as far away from the bar, if you get a room above or below dont plan sleeping take ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

What a fantastic place to stay. Hotel and staff are out of this world, clean friendly in the perfect spot. Views are also great and at least you can explore without a car. 15 minute walk to the capital city and great shopping centre. Stop and enjoy a light bite in the square and watch the world pass by. If you get the chance to explore the island please take the opportunity as this is a wonderful island very romantic and just the place for those who intend marriage or for your honeymoon. Lassi is the best place to stay as you can quite easily walk to many places of interest, history all around as well as beaches and the people are so friendly one week will go so quick you must stay for two weeks.

Room Tip: Try an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rod f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lassi hotels
0.6 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lassi
843 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metaxatos Apartments
Metaxatos Apartments
#11 of 19 in Lassi
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
0.5 mi away
Lefteris Village
Lefteris Village
#13 of 19 in Lassi
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#10 of 19 in Lassi
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorenzo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorenzo Hotel

Address: Lassi 28100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lassi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lassi
Price Range: £38 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lorenzo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lorenzo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorenzo Hotel Lassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing