We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”
Review of Lorenzo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lorenzo Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Lassi
Reviewed 12 June 2014

we have just returned from a weeks stay at the hotel lorenzo ,read the reviews before we went so was a bit unsure what to expect , but what a surprise the hotel was clean as was the pool ,grounds ,yes the room we stayed in was basic (311 studio room) but it was clean the cleaners was in every day with clean towels and linen was changed every other , the view from our room was beautiful over looking the sea & surrounding hills . breakfast was basic ham cheese , toast ,jam, honey,yogurt,cereal,tea,coffee,but it done us .the only complaint i had was the beds so low down and with a injured knee was hard to get out of it but other than that a lovely hotel ,lovely people would stay here again

Room Tip: room 311 studio room was basic but the view was beautiful and gets the sun morning goes for 2 hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 823chel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

That was the first and last time e stayed in a hotel. After that, we just bought a flight and found a room in Lassi. The San Lorenzo's breakfast is one of the most boring ones you will ever have, bread roll and strawberry jam every time. Once when they gave us apricot we all cheered! The hotel is well situated, just up the road there is a huge supermarket that sells everything and it's a short walk to many restaurants. It's a good base to have, only 2 miles from the capital Argostoli, which has lots of shops and one of the best bakeries ever. The staff unfortunately were rude and unhelpful. The bar at night was OK and the rooms were clean. The pool was very nice too. There was plenty of parking as we always hired a car. Would not go back there tho.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anna maria pier... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I've give this three out of five simply because there is no three and half option, which is what I think it's worth. We booked here after getting a great deal on a separate flight, normally we go on a package holiday to Kefalonia. We arrived and checked in with ease, the reception, eating and other internal parts of the hotel are a bit dated and look a bit 80's but they are all clean and presentable. One thing we missed and didn't realise was there is no fridge in the room, there is a communal fridge down stairs but we didn't use it. After all this is a hotel so this was our mistake. The rooms are very basic but clean, pretty much what you'd expect for Greece. The pool area is nice and so is the pool, the pool bar provides good snacks at reasonable prices. The garden areas and views of the bay are both beautiful. The breakfast is fairly basic and a bit repetitive but ok, our room was fairly close to the eating area so we used to take our tray to our room and enjoy breakfast on our balcony, the staff didn't mind as long as you took your tray back. I seemed to notice some of the staff seemed to be going through the motions and wasn't as friendly as some other staff in hotels I've been in around Lassi. The hotel is in a great location close to the Main Street and a beautiful quieter beach with a good scuba dive centre (if you are interested I have wrote a review on Pirate Divers Club). All in all nice hotel but I think next time we would opt for a hotel with a fridge in the room.

Three positives, three negatives:

Positives;
. Location
. Pool / Garden area
. Clean

Negatives;
. Could do with a face lift
. Staff could be a bit friendlier
. Breakfast is a bit too basic

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

After visting Lassi for most of my childhood every year, I decided I wanted to take my boyfriend to the place that brings back so many memories.
Lorenzo Hotel was everything we expected, basic but met its needs for the week we stayed there. The room was sumwhat dated and probably could so with a bit of new decoration, but it was very clean. The bathroom (showerroom) is quite small, but unless your extremly overweight then there would be no problems with the facilties provided. The room was a room and a room only, I do think next time we will stay somewhere where we can cook our own food, but for a week this was not a problem, as we ate out every night, and the pool bar does great snacks during the day.
The pool itself is lovely! plently of room even at the height of the season there was plenty of beds and no need to get up early to reserve a space (unlike a lot of places ive been to). The pool bar did some lovely snacks, included burgers, hotdogs, and some amazing milkshakes, and slushy frozen drinks even if they did cost 6 euros each. I would say that the food was a little over priced, and you could find cheaper if you walked down the road, but as we went to the beach every day this was not much of a problem.
The beach was a short walk down a slight hill. This beach was lovely, quite small so we made it an aim to get there for 10.30 every day because by 11 the beds were all gone. It was beautiful though and very relaxing. The Kefalonian sea is beautiful and after going back here it made me realise I will never be going back to spain ever again! Crystal blue sea, which is like bath temperature in the summer.
As for the breakfast at Lorenzo, there were no complaints other then they did not change it up much. For me a week was enough, and i was beggining to get a bit bored of toast, jam and greek yogurt. However it wasnt horrible, and you probably get what you pay for with this.

I feel I must comment on Kefalonia itself. Lassi has changed a lot since I came last in 2000. A lot of the lovely resturants we always went to have closed down, included a lovely beach front one which I am sad to see gone. The place itself although still lovely, is not the place it used to be, the nightlife although it was quite sedate and family orrientated has almost disapeared. It really seems to have lost its lovely happy vibe. When walking around a lot of the hotels and pool bars have closed down, and been boarded up. Kefalonia is not cheap, and I guess this puts people off?
I would reccomend people to take the bus into Argastoli and see the harbour there. We were so lucky to see three massive turtles one evening. (ive never seen these before in argastoli). Their are some lovely gift shops, more of a nightlife here, and some lovely resturants some over looking the harbour and others in the main square.

All in all a lovely holiday, and i would recomend Lorenzo Hotel to anyone who doesnt want to spend too much time in the hotel room, more outside around the pool, is wanting a nice quiet slow paced holiday. I will definately be returning and would consider Lorenzo again.

Room Tip: Air conditioning is a MUST for travelling Mid Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed for two weeks at the San Lorenzo Hotel in September 2013. The rooms are cleaned daily and the bed linen and towels are changed regularly. Breakfast is the usual Greek food: choice of ham, cheese, eggs, cereal, fruit, bread etc. The staff are all very friendly, polite and helpful. The location is excellent for access to the shops, tavernas, buses and taxis. There is a choice of very good beaches all within a 10-15 minute walk. Lassi was fairly quiet in September but Argostoli is well worth a visit having a fabulous busy harbour with cruise ships often, nice shopping precinct, central square with great choice of tavernas, and lots more to offer. Argostoli is easy and cheap to get to either by bus or taxi (5 euro). We would definitely stay at the San Lorenzo "HOTEL" again. Note: San Lorenzo "VILLAGE" is a different complex in another part of Lassi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wildthingwarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here for a week booked through Thomas Cook. Its in a good location of the street and its not too far from Argostoli. Breakfast is a waste of time unless you just want bread, and after having bread with every other meal you don't want more bread in the morning.
The pool is very good, this is the best part. Out side bar is good but the inside bar is very smelly with smoke and cigars.
Warning; The air-conditioning is an extra charge. We didn't know this. We didn't have a remote for the air conditioning in the room so we asked the night porter (who spoke no english at all) for a remote. He handed us the remote and nothing was mentioned about extra charges. At the end of the holiday as we were leaving the receptionist said we hadn't paid for the air conditioning.
The bed was ok, i've stayed in worse beds.

The town its self is probably the biggest let down. Not much to do, the beach is an absolute joke. It was a complete run down mess with rubbish and old parasols left there and the bar/shop was abandoned and looked like it had been hit by a hurricane.

Supermarket up the road sells some nice donuts. Restaurant opposite the hotel serves some really nice and very cheap Giros.
The food in all the restaurants is all pretty much the same. An evening or two in Argostoli is recommended for a change in cuisine.

I do recommend hiring a car and driving inland and to other parts of the island. CBR was good for rental.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank graham_askew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Just returned from a week in these apartments which are set in the grounds of the Lorenzo Hotel.
Our room was spotlessly clean and kept that way by the maid every day. We had a small kitchen area with sink, fridge, two ring burner, toaster and kettle. This was ample as we wanted to eat out and sample the local food. We could use the Hotel facilities, bars and swimming pool but preferred to walk to the beaches when the weather allowed.
This hotel is set in the middle of Lassi and is perfect for touring the island.
Unfortunately the weather was rather wet, windy and stormy during our stay at the beginning of October. Also it was very late in the season so a lot of the restaurants and tour companies were closing so we were unable to take any trips. However, we used the local taxis to take us into Agostoli, on a couple of occasions (6 euros).
The local restaurants that we used were excellent value for money, very welcoming and the local dishes were excellent.
We are returning to Kefalonia in the spring of 2014 and hope to see more of this beautiful island. I would not like to be here in the height of the season as I think it would be very busy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cb48-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lassi
0.6 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lassi
844 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metaxatos Apartments
Metaxatos Apartments
#11 of 19 in Lassi
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
0.5 mi away
Lefteris Village
Lefteris Village
#13 of 19 in Lassi
127 reviews
3.8 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorenzo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorenzo Hotel

Address: Lassi 28100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lassi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lassi
Price Range: £27 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lorenzo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lorenzo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorenzo Hotel Lassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing