We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Place!!!”
Review of Lorenzo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lorenzo Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Lassi
Reviewed 30 June 2010

This Hotel is in a fantastic location with the main Lassi strip 2 mins up the road and a beautigul little bech just down the road. We stayed here a 1 week and highly recommend this hotel The rooms are basic with no fridge for B&B There are communal fridges in the hotel but I did not use them.The bathroom was big for a hotel in Greece. The shower was great it even had a hook on the wall for it (again a suprise for Greece). The Hotel is very clean and maid service was every day Clean towels are given if you leave them on the floor or for a 5euro deposit u can get some at the pool bar. The pool is great (even if a little cold) and the pool bar serves drinks and snacks all day - the staff there are great and very friendly too!!
Breakfast was a little disapointing and personally I could have done with a choice of warm food apart from toast! There was cereal, cold boiled eggs, greek youhurt, honey and jam and some fruit (not fresh from a tin by the taste of it) but I wouldn't let it put me off returning to the hotel. but if u want to eat breaky out then go to Mystic Gusto - Proper bargin of 6euros!! You get more food than u know what to do with and coffe & juice!!
The resrot of Lassi it self is quite small there is however a fab choice of places to eat and drink. Mystic Gusto and Phaedra were the top places of the holiday - very reasonably priced and great food and wine!! Oddessy Bar was a great place to relax and have a few drinks. Overall a great place to visist with great views, places and people. Costa Costa beach is also a great place to see - very comfy beds and even 4 poster beds!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leebaby1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Lorenzo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2010

We were booked on a week's self catering holiday at the Lorenzo Hotel in Lassi, Kefalonia. We were given an apartment on the second floor with nice, though restricted , views of the bay and inland hills. The apartment had a sitting room with a pull out sofa - which doubled as the bed for our 13 year old son - plus a bedroom with TV and a small balcony. The sitting room also included the kitchenette with two hobs and no oven or dishwasher, which put paid to any but the most basic meals. Air conditioning was extra for the week at 42 euros. Maid service every morning was a plus. The courtyard was spacious and elegant. However, the real disappointment with the apartment was the toilet which was very small and basic indeed and not deserving of a single star, let alone two.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

This was our second stay at the Lorenzo, having previously stayed for 2 weeks 15 years ago. I cannot understand the negative reviews. the hotel was just as good as it was 15 years ago, albeit it now has a swimming pool, and a breakfast room. The hotel is still very greek and that's what I love. The hotel is clean, pleasant and very friendly. Also the Mystic Gusto is a lovely place to eat, small and friendly ran by a girl and her papa. Kefalonia is as beautiful as it ever was, and its people are warm and friendly. If you want a relaxing holiday in a fantastic location this is the place to be forget the carribean, Kefalonia wins hands down.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lam143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We wanted a nice relaxing holiday within easy reach of beaches and restaurants. This hotel was perfect. The hotel was set back slightly from the main street through Lassi and so it was nice and quiet. There are restaurants all around the hotel of all types and there's also a hypermarket selling all sorts of groceries and souvenirs just across the road (in case you're wondering there are no clubs of any sort in Lassi). As for beaches there were 3 nice beaches within easy reach - around 5-10 minutes walk away. The capital of the island was quite a long walk (about 35-45 minutes) away but worth a visit to get out of Lassi for a day.
The hotel itself was nice and clean; we had a maid service every day but as for downsides, there was no entertainment at all (maybe as we were there the first week of the season) and the rooms were not very soundproof; we could hear chairs scraping in the room above constantly.
Overall though the hotel is perfect for a relaxing getaway holiday; I would go back there if I was returning to Kefalonia.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gav99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We stayed in Lassi in Kefalonia in July 2009, the Hotel was the Hotel Lorenzo, which was only a 10 minute walk to a georgious beach and 5 minutes to a abundance of restaurants. Argastolli was about a 20 minute walk away or 5minutes in a taxi......if you can find one, the taxi's are known for stopping as you are walking and more often that not they stop for more passengers as well. Making double the fair in one trip! Argastolli has some lovely shops and restaurants, the main square is packed as the sun goes down with locals cooling off after the heat of the day. We took an island trip and visited Fisqardo up in the North of the island, we would most definatley recommend a trip up there as the harbour and quaintness of the resort is well worth a visit. We would also recomend our hotel, very simple, clean and friendly.

2  Thank ReesTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We stayed in the Lorenzo Hotel 4th October for 2 weeks.

Firstly I must say that the people who have given poor reviews on this Hotel must really have very high expectations and should in future book into a 10*** future.

The Hotel was spotlessly clean. Maids came in every day and changed towels every day and the bed linen was changed twice weekly. All the staff, from the maids to the reception, bar and pool bar were all very polite and courteous at all times, so if anyone thought any different they must be really hard to please people.

The continental breakfast is what they say, continental. No it wasn't the best, but again you know what you are getting when you book.

The hotel was in an ideal position, central to the resort. The resort was small wih a selection of bars and restaurants, which I will come to later. There was a bus stop directly outside the hotel to the main town Argostoli and also a supermarket. The beach was very nice and clean, except after a storm when a bit of rubbish was washed up.

There is a ferry which goes from Argostoli to Lixouri which was very nice crossing and a nice little town. We also did a bus trip from the bus station to Sami, which cost 4 euros each and was a lovely drive taking you through all the little villages and then over the mountains on the return journey.

We were fortunate to meet a lovely couple, Mary and Rob, who used to live on the Island and took us on a tour in their hire car where we saw Assos, which was a georgous village, myrtos beach (view to die for), ag efimia, again was a lovely little village. We also visited petani beach and xi beach in Lixouri which were absolutely out of this world.

OK, now to the downsides, (not a lot, but here we go). We went on 4th October which was nearing end of season and it was like a ghost town. Nearly all the bars and restaurants were closing when we arrived and by the second week there was only one bar and two restaurants open which were De Veronica's and Butlers House. We found the Butlers house to be the best one (presentation wise) so tended to stick to it. We ate for most of the 2 weeks there and did not have one bad meal at all and the staff were great. Wobbled back to the hotel everynight after getting a free starter and desert which were given to you whehter you wanted it or not. The restaurant was spotlessly clean and the toilets downstairs were like somebody's home with comfy sofa's and dispay cabinets, hard to explain but a must to be seen.

As it was the end of the season, the second week we were asked to move rooms so they could close the ground floor down. We had no problem with this and ended up in a big family room with lovely views. As for the door slamming which people have mentioned, there was just one inconsiderate room that slammed their doors everynight, and i would get the impression in the high season this would be a problem.

The swimming pool area was immaculately clean, but the pool was Fikkin freezing. I have never been in a pool as cold in my life.

All in all we had no complaints. The only thing that was missing in the hotel was a fridge in the room. This would have been good to keep drinks and such in. That was the only thing that we found lacking.

Back to the end of Season, we felt really sorry for people that flew in on the 18th, which is when we left, as by that time they had also stopped the buses into Argostoli and the last 2 restaurants and the 1 bar also closed on the Saturday night for the season, so basically there is nothing open now. I feel sorry for the Rep, she is going to get some right grief. If that was us, I would demand to get on the next flight to somewhere else. The travel agents should emphasise this to the holidaymakers. We were told it would be quiet but not that it would be SHUT.

It is advisable if you drive to hire a car for a few days, there are some lovely places to visit.

The other advice is WATCH YOU WEIGHT IN YOUR CASES. We were charged £110 excess going out from Manchester, £10 per kilo, the robbing gits. I was gutted. Therefore I had to leave half my belongings behind as coming back they charge 12 euros per kg.

All in all, fantastic holiday, would return but probably beginning Sept before things close.

Oh and one last thing, is it quite expensive to eat and drink, but this is the Euro rate that has done this.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy19662016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We stayed for two weeks towards the end of the season, the hotel itself is very clean towels changed whenever needed. Rooms cleaned every day, the pool is very nice and clean, they have no kiddies area of the pool should you want one. The pool bar is open when needed but the prices are over the top, and their snacks are very limited a very small menu for a pool bar. Having said that what we ate there was very good. The breakfast was dire, we knew it was continental but this was the worst we have had and we have had quite a few in greece hotels. Very little choice at the breakfast table the same thing almost every day sometimes boiled eggs but not often. Only cornflakes never varied. A toaster is available but you had to toast french bread cut like doorstops. One week of it wasnt too bad but by the second week boring. I thought I had booked a studio and paid extra for the breakfast but we were given a room apparantly there is only 6 studios and a lot of other holidaymakers also thought they had booked a studio so beware. The hotel is in a good position near tavernas and near beaches. Lassi is on a long stretch of level road with the tavernas spaced out along it . It didnt have as many tavernas as we expected. But they were closing up on a daily basis even though they still had 4 weeks left to end of season. Lassi is ideally placed for getting around the island especially if you are going to hire a car. Assos is a beautiful old style greek village well worth a visit. Myrtos beach a must if you have a car beautiful!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lassi
0.6 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lassi
823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lefteris Village
Lefteris Village
#13 of 19 in Lassi
125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metaxatos Apartments
Metaxatos Apartments
#11 of 19 in Lassi
125 reviews
3.8 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorenzo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorenzo Hotel

Address: Lassi 28100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lassi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lassi
Price Range: £41 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lorenzo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lorenzo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorenzo Hotel Lassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing