We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Tour- Excellent”
Review of Panem Day Trips

Panem Day Trips
Ranked #5 of 12 things to do in Lassi
Attraction details
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Island Tour- Excellent”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We can recommend the Island tour 100%. Esme the tour guide is British and knows everything and more about the Islands history and wildlife. The tour was extensive and well worth the 31 Euro. Takes in Myrtos Beach, Asos, Fiscardo, Dragoratti Caves, Mellisini Lake, Vineyards Wine tasting)and the scenery is fabulous. A full day with plenty of photo opportunities along the way. Cannot praise Esme enough for making this day magical and educating us on everything from the history of the Island to what this fabulous beautiful Island has to offer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Cardystours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Three Island Tour - rip-off”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked from the office in Katelios where the saleslady told us that we were going on the aptly named Romanitika cruiser and showed us the photos of the boat, "...you will have a beautiful time, it is a beautiful small cruiser"
The coach trip to the marina was ok unless you had an issue with twisty mountain roads, but that was to be expected. Our naïve concern was that the coach was only half full so how is that economically viable - we need not have been concerned!
When we arrived at the marina we looked in horror at the Romantika which was already full on the top and fore decks, with some space inside only. Had my wife not been so adamant about the trip I would have suggested staying in port for the day! Once aboard and having managed to find somewhere to sit we were advised that we would be stopping in Fiskardo to pick a couple more passengers - apx 20!
The trip was crowded, hardly exciting unless you wish to be fully informed about Onassis & family, plus all drinks/snacks on board had to be paid for, as was lunch in the stop-off marina. Not great in my view for 2 adults and a teen at €135.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I went on the island tour as I did not have that much time in Kefallonia and did not hire a car. Esme was superb as the tour guide - so friendly and so knowledgeable. The tour is all in English.
The coach goes through most of the main towns for pick ups. We went to Fiskardo, Assos, Myrtos beach, Melassani lake and Drogarati cave with plenty of time in each. It was a real treat travelling around Kefallonia up the swirling narrow roads, occasionally stopping for a stray goat on the road!
Esme spoke about the history of the island, animals there, the plantation....loads of interesting things.
We ended the day with a wine factory tour.
Splendid day and for the money I would 100% recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lottelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“LOVELY ITHACA TOUR”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We travelled over to Ithaca in 2012 with Panam and enjoyed it so much we went again in September 2013. Esme was a brilliant and very knowledgeable tour guide. She answered several questions and made the tour interesting. The lady who took our booking was very efficient as were the coach driver. Well done Panam we will again be booking through you when we return next year.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne05_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Tour -appalling customer service.”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We booked our Island Tour via email initially, however we never received a reply from Panem Tours (this will be the recurring theme). We ended up having to call them to book our places and we're told to pay cash to the tour guide on arrival. We had to however leave credit card details to reserve the four spaces.
The tour itself was excellent. Our tour guide, Esme, was really good fun and knew loads about the island.
We however had a coach that developed a mechanical fault and we're stranded at some naff cafe for over an hour whilst a replacement coach was delivered.
The tour concluded and we had a good day.
On returning to the UK, I found that not only had Panem accepted our cash on the coach, but had taken108 euros out of my bank.
I contacted Panem four times via the phone, numerous times via email, over a period of two weeks. Eventually I received my refund.
This company has absolutely awful administrative processes and customer service skill.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hulk-0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panem Day Trips also viewed

 
Lassi, Cephalonia
 

Been to Panem Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing