We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week away in May 2014”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Princess Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princess Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Lassi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
worcestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Week away in May 2014”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel is very close to the lovely Makris Giaglos beach where you can hire sunbeds with an umbrella for 8 euros a day, it also has a drinks/food service to your sun lounger which was a lovely touch. The hotel is at the end of Lassi's main street, but only a 5/10 minute walk to the main restaurants. The hotel rooms are very small, as are the bathrooms and balcony, they are very clean and the maids work very hard, they could do with being updated. Breakfast is entertaining, there either aren't any bowls, plates or cutlery available and staff seem very busy but don't look at the obvious things. Hot food is the normal undercooked bacon, small sausages and baked beans, one morning there were poached eggs. This was not checked regularly and often was empty. There were other options tinned fruit, yoghurt, cakes, ham and cheese, so there was always an alternative you could have. Coffee varied from being very weak to good.
The pool area is lovely and quiet with plenty of sun loungers, the hotel tended to attract more couples than families and I would say we did have the child from hell around the pool the first day whose parents couldn't seem to control his behaviour!
The owner did visit the hotel each day and she did tend to put the fear of god up all the staff, which was quite off putting when you were sitting around the pool and she appeared to dress them down one by one!!

The hotel did grow on us, and Greece is basic, would I return - yes if the price was right

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jackieWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    80
    45
    10
    8
See reviews for
51
134
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our first (and certainly not last) trip to Kefalonia. We couldn't fault a thing. The Hotel itself was very clean welcoming pretty and nicely laid out. As soon as we arrived we noticed how every single member of staff welcomed us with a warm smile. We were taken to our room (38) which was clean and comfortable with a view of the pool and sea beyond. The Hotel owner Christie often came and spoke with the guests and her staff were very friendly and attentive. We hired a car for 2 days and circled the island and visited many beautiful places. The weather was just right about 75/80 every day and sunny with a couple of days at the end of our week which was sun and cloud but was quite a welcome relief as the sun was pretty strong for this time of year. The beach opposite the hotel was great - fantastic bar that played wonderful chill-out music and not crowded. Lovely for a walk up and down with a few tavernas and another beach bar further up - all with fabulous views. We really couldnt fault this Hotel and we are planning a further trip next year. Special thanks to Alex at the bar for creating some fab cocktails too. Thankyou !

Room Tip: We had Room 38 which had a good view over the pool towards the sea and just up a couple of flights o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRAZEECAZZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

First time staying in Lassi and pleasantly surprised. The hotel has a great location for the beautiful Makris Giaglos beach. As we were only staying for a few days our room was comfortable on the lower floor, but if you stay longer ask for a higher location with a view of the pool area.
The hotel staff were lovely and the facilities very good. Our room was cleaned and made up daily. The large fridge was an added bonus and much better than most 5 star hotels. House white wine was yummy. Pool area very clean and airy.
Breakfast was very good the first morning as we were up early. The next 2 mornings there was a limited choice as we came down after 9.30 am...the last half hour. Most of the hot food had gone and the coffee was weak. Having said that we enjoyed the homemade cake...mmm.
Overall we more than enjoyed our stay at The Princess and will definately book again. The local bus stops just outside the hotel and takes you into Argostoli for lots of lovely walks and tavernas.

Room Tip: Balcony over pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philld61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Princess for our first wedding anniversary at the beginning of May 2014. It was the very start of the season and so the hotel was quiet. We didn't mind this as we were in need of a total
chill out holiday. The hotel itself looks stylish and is decorated nicely. The rooms are basic but clean and typical of Greek hotels so not luxury. The pool area and pool look great and are very clean. We stayed half board and I expected we would have a buffet style facility but we seemed to be only one of two couples on that board basis. Our meals were chosen from a small menu and cooked freshly to order. The meals included and starter, main and dessert. I have to say I really enjoyed the food that they served. It was fresh, and always tasted very nice. Lots of nice traditional dishes such as souvlaki, greek salad and moussaka. Breakfast was fine and there was always something available to suit everyone. Don't expect lots of cooked stuff but after all it is Kefalonia not the UK. The staff were really pleasant and I particularly found the receptionists really helpful and polite. We didn't see another hotel in Lassi that we would have rather stayed in, the Princess was fab. It's also opposite one of the nicest beaches on the island. Lassi isn't a large resort so I recommend hiring a car and seeing the island. Melassani cave is a must as is the view of Myrtos Beach from high in the mountains. Very stunningly beautiful! Just mind the roads as they have many hairpin bends and are very high into mountains. Not for the faint hearted! (Like me) ... Lovely locals and I found prices on the island very reasonable. We ate at a restaurant called Butlers in Lassi, very good for a change on a couple of evenings. A fab holiday all round Kefalonia is truly beautiful! Well worth a trip :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Samb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Me and my boyfriend came to the Princess Hotel for our first holiday together in July 2013. I can safely say we were not disappointed. The building was beautiful and the pool area is relaxing and quiet. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and immediately recommended car hire places in lassi for us. The room was basic but comfortable and was cleaned everyday. We appreciated the free air con and fridge. They also provide free parking if you want to rent a car. The breakfast was fine, after i read the reviews on here about the breakfast not being great but there's nothing to worry about. It was fine and fueled us for the day.

Lassi is a great place for couples as there's great choice of restaurants and bars. I recommend Veronica's bar (which has great cocktails) and So Simple which also has great cocktails. Our fave restaurant was the Devil's Kitchen which is linked to the so simple bar. Amazing food! Also helps if you learn a bit of greek, we said thankyou in greek and the waiters loved this so after the 3rd time going there we got a free bottle of wine. The owner was very friendly and was there most times.

The Princess is in a great location to see the island. Not too far from Myrtos beach which is a must see! The furthest we went was round to skala which took about an hour and a half. Skala was great, loads of water sports and sami was beautiful.

You will not be disappointed with the Princess Hotel. It's a great base to see Kefalonia. Shall defiantly come back!

Room Tip: Request a double room because there aren't many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

My self and my partner came to stay at the princess hotel in June 2010 (I know a couple of years ago but new to trip advisor). When the coach dropped couples off we soon realised we had been dropped at the best hotel. Friendly family run business, pool cleaned daily by a very very hard working pool man. Entertainments every other night with a grill meal one evening with dancing and cocktails. Local to shops, bars, bus, taxi, beach. Beach has huge sun loungers with palm leaf umbrellas, or huge bean bags or four poster beds that seat 4-6. Cages along beach, rec highly the chicken wraps with fresh salad and grilled veg. At the Princess Hotel like most hotels one side faces away from the sea. 110% worth paying more for a sea view. We (in our opinion) had the best room as it was on the corner, facing the sea on the top floor. So no one looked down on us and we aren't over looked. One night we stayed in with several bottles on wine, played cards and watched the sun go down. I am 25, not boring but it was lovely to stay in and chill.
Turtles in sea at marina, boat trip to another part of the island, excursion coach tour which takes you to caves, senote and wine tasting - good day out. Local to hotel is a lane leading to a church (steep walk but worth it). The church leads to a cave where some one lived for years. Very interesting and a must do.
Highly recommend this hotel. Very clean, staff friendly and food really good. If we went again to Kefalonia we would go again to this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed end of Sept 2013. Our first trip to Kefalonia. The hotel is opposite a lovely beach and walking distance from plenty of taverns. Local facilities good. Argostolli a bus ride or half hour walk.
Eleni on the desk was wonderful. Always pleasant and helpful. The hotel was described as an art hotel. We saw only a few pictures. Not a deal breaker. Our room was clean but very small and the bed not particulary comfortable. The tv in the room was virtually useless. Not that we go on holiday to watch tv. But it was pointless. The pool bar was ok. The pool beautiful in the evening but out of bounds then. We stayed B&B. Breakfast outside was a pleasure but the cooked food was average at breakfast. The hotel is only 15 mins
max from the airport. We had a good holiday and return to Kefalonia this Sept but in a villa with a pool we can use anytime and bigger bedrooms.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Motherhen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lassi
0.9 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#1 of 19 in Lassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#9 of 19 in Lassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Platis Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lorenzo Hotel
Lorenzo Hotel
#8 of 19 in Lassi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hotel

Property: Princess Hotel
Address: Makris Gialos, Lassi 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing