We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel, Beautiful Views”
Review of Thalassa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thalassa Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Lassi
Certificate of Excellence
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

On arrival to the Thalassa Hotel we were allocated a sea view standard double room. The views from the room were lovely but the room itself was far from boutique and did not reflect images shown on the website. The overall décor of the room was basic and was finished to a poor standard:- Key socket was hanging off the wall, furniture stained, floor was dirty, fridge provided in room was falling apart, cracks in the wall, taps super-glued back together.. this was definitely not a promising start to our holiday..........

After complaining to both the manager and hotel staff who didn't seem to completely understand what the problem was with the room even though they could see we were both incredibly upset and disappointed we were told there was a possibility of being upgraded to a different room which occurred 3 days into our week stay when were allocated a superior room on the ground floor still with the magnificent sea view. This room was beautiful and reflected the "boutique" standards:- king-size bed, lovely décor, French style furniture and finished to a high quality.

Staff at the front of the hotel were incredibly friendly in helping us with any queries and questions from where the best places to eat were, how to get to beach etc.

Breakfast had a large selection of food from continental to more traditional Greek style.
The Lounge and Breakfast areas were wonderfully decorated and had a quirky edge to them to create the boutique ambience. The pools were lovely to laze around during the hotter parts of the day.

The Thalassa Hotel is ideally located:- sea views, a 5-10 minute walk to the Lassi main street and a short walk to the beach.

Overall a lovely hotel but some areas do need some TLC, would recommend to stay:- choose a superior/ sea view room to get the best experience ( but don't always believe the pictures)

Room Tip: Book a superior room or suite as the standard double rooms do not reflect the same quality as the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EGregory30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelikiKalafati, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guests,

We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Thalassa Hotel.

In our attempt to constantly improve our Hotel, we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests.

Kindly be informed that a lot of our loyal guests do in fact choose our standard sea view rooms as a budget alternative for staying at Thalassa Hotel and enjoy our ideal location, as you also stated, with the breathtaking sea views and the close proximity to one of the best beaches of the island, Makris Gialos.

As stated before, your Tour Operator offers at the brochure standard sea view rooms, with pictures provided. Your tour operator gives you the choice of booking a superior room or a suite at an extra charge.

Please bear in mind that all standard sea view rooms feature the same furniture but with different colors, yet the taste of every guest is something that we cannot of course predict.


Standard sea view rooms at Thalassa Hotel offer value for money and our main goal is that all of our guests can experience the Hospitality offered at Thalassa Hotel, therefore there are different types of accommodation with the relevant pricing.

Furthermore, we do feel mixed about your review, since on the one hand you are referring to the Front Desk as they did not try to help you and on the other hand you describe the Front Desk as helpful.

Last but not least, we do feel that your comments about the standard rooms are not doing any justice. We do wonder though, since you did post pictures of the rooms, why did you not post any pictures about the low standards of Housekeeping in the rooms as you strongly stated on your review.

All rooms are being checked prior guest’s arrival and none of those allegations regarding the housekeeping standard of the rooms were reported.

I would favour the opportunity of welcoming you back to Thalassa Hotel and to personally attend to your every requirement. I am confident that a return visit to Kefalonia and to Thalassa Hotel would leave you with many more positive impressions than the ones you were already kind enough to mention. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally



Sincerely,
Angela Kalafati
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    75
    21
    11
    16
See reviews for
66
221
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Wonderful hotel with exceptional levels of service I have never experienced (even in the US!). Angela and her team simply couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable and it's so rare these days to find hoteliers who truly care about their guests. Stunning views, wonderful breakfasts, and a great pool area were the highlights. And whilst Lassi is not the prettiest resort on Kefalonia, it's a great base to discover the island from. Highly recommended and understandable why they get so many return visitors.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonItchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We've recently returned from our honemoon spent at Thalassa Boutique Hotel. Our opinion is that we couldn't have asked for better hotel to stay at in Kefalonia. Located in a quiet area at the end of Lassi, yet quite close to the main street. Next to pine wood, the air was filled with the scent of flowers, pine and olive trees. The hotel is overlooking a picturesque bay and a room with a seaview is a must. Housekeeping service was regular and attentive. We were accomodated in a honeymoon suite, only by an e-mail request, even though it wasn't a option trugh our travel agent. Breakfast was abundant and very delicious - ingrediants are mostly organic from local farms. The sitting/reading area, alongside the veranda, are very cosy and makes you feel like home. Besides in the evening you are served great local wine which definitely adds more to the overall exelent experience. Certainly I need to mention Angela (the manager) and the rest of the staff that were very accommodating and helpfull (Thank you guys!!!). Since it was our first time on this beautifull island, Angela pointed us the good places to visit (and there are a lot of them) in order to get the best of our stay there, including small hidden beaches and charming local restaurants unknown to the common tourist. We certainly recommend this hotel and would live to come back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanislav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

When booking with Airtours we expected a nice but simple hotel - we were wrong!! The hotel was fantastic, staff friendly and extremely helpful and everything was nearby and at hand. Even a mini market at the neighbouring complex. Make sure to book a room with a sea view and it was breathtaking to sit and have breakfast looking over the whole bay area at Lassi. Rooms cleaned every day and linen changed frequently. There is a mini kitchenette in a sort of Ikea wardrobe with a sink, fan, few cutlery bits and bobs and two hotplates, but forget it if you're going self-catering as this won't be enough. There is also a fitness room with some keep fit items and an extra shower if you have to hang around the hotel waiting for transport later in the day. There are two small pools and there are 2 small beaches within 250 meters. The village of Lassi has many restaurants offering lots of dishes at very reasonable prices. Try Trata fish restaurant where they give you a gorgeous cinnamon liqueur after your meal! Excellent holiday and hats off to the staff for making everything run smoothly.

Room Tip: Book a room on an upper floor and ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

we booked a sea view room but was allocated room 107a which looks out on to grass and bushes .after 4 days we were reallocated to a better room again no proper sea view.this experiance ruined our holiday .

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel in june this year it was a good hotel great veiw from our balcony 103 . Good base nice pool and really nice breakfast with great veiws, nicely decorated, The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Sea veiw is a must !!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doris1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel 21 - 28 May. The Location is fantastic, the views are fantastic, the rooms are large and the breakfast is very good. The staff are very nice and go the extra mile to welcome you and make your stay everything you want it to be. Definitely one of the best hotels we have stayed at in Greece. Kefalonia is a lovely island, would recommend hiring a car and seeing all the other lovely picturesque ports and villages. There's also plenty to see and do in walking distance from this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a sea view , it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeJan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lassi
0.6 mi away
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Platis Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#1 of 19 in Lassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Enalion Suites
Enalion Suites
#5 of 19 in Lassi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
0.8 mi away
Lefteris Village
Lefteris Village
#13 of 19 in Lassi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Hotel

Property: Thalassa Hotel
Address: Lassi 28100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lassi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thalassa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THALASSA HOTEL is set in the heart of the famous resortof Kefalonia, Lassi, where Makris Gialos Beach is a mustamongst the island’s visitors. The newly built complexThalassa Hotel, that consists of luxurious and spaciousrooms in two neoclassical buildings, captures the basicelements for an unforgettable stay.overlooking the majestic Paleostafida Gulf, Thalassa Hotelis an enchanting, cozy intimate island family hotel, ideal foranyone seeking for a fun and relaxing holiday. The warm familyatmosphere, the elegantly comfortable rooms, the colourfulgardens the breathtaking views makes Thalassa Hotel theplace for absolute relaxation and ultimate vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thalassa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Hotel Lassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing