We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel - Amazing views - great service!”
Review of Thalassa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thalassa Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Lassi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Me and my wife just returned from a 2 weeks stay in this great hotel. We have found Thalassa Hotel while searching on the internet and booked direct with their web site.
The excellent location, just a few meters from trendy Makris Gialos and just a 5 minute drive from Argostoli were the reasons why we chose Thalassa.
At our arrival, the discrete and efficient staff offered us a chilled glass of local wine (Robola I think it was) and some olives. Great start for our stay. The hotel is so beautiful....The lobby is stunning with all the cute furniture, library, and arm chairs; bedrooms are immaculately clean and very spacious. The views are the most breathtaking I have ever seen but what makes this hotel so special is the staff which is one of a kind. Very friendly and caring and always with a smile, willing to help all the time. , from reception to the cleaners, everyone is happy and courteous, which means they really must enjoy working there.
Of course this is not a 5star Hotel, but then again the rates they are charging are not even close to 5 star. Our room was excellent, at the first building with a stunning view of a wonderful bay.
If you want to save money and get a cheaper room try the standard sea view rooms, as we did, which although simple, the views to the bay are just breathtaking. For the last 5days we paid some extra and got upgraded to their amazing suites.
I still recommend the standard sea view rooms, although we got spoiled in our suite.
On a second note, the pool is great, sometimes it really gets crowded, but that was not as bad as some people try to describe it.
The breakfast is really good, with most of the ingredients coming from the family farm. You can even tell the difference from the taste and colors of everything was offered. Every day we had figs, delicious Greek yogurt with organic honey, and even the eggs were fresh.
Kefalonia, is one of the most beautiful parts of Greece, definitely you would need a car to explore it. Lassi on the other hand is a bit touristic but a good base to stay.
All in all, this hotel is by far one of the best that we've been, and we will definitely recommend it more for couples and less for families.
We will be returning next year with friends and we can't wait..... Thank you Thalassa Hotel for making our holiday truly special!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

We just stayed here for one night and enjoyed it very much. Location is super with sweeping views over Palostaphyda bay. Breakfast is 5 star, breakfast area and reception is nicely decorated, the rooms are spacious. Perhaps the rooms haven't got the same style as the reception area , but all clean. Service all round perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbertCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I have recently returned from a weeks holiday with my girlfriend and what a week it was. We decided to stay at this hotel passed on by a friend of a friends review of the hotel and it went well beyond our expectations.

We arrived on a early flight which meant we couldn't check in for a few hours but were greeted at reception by Angela and Alessia who advised us that it would take a few hours and the great news was that we were upgraded to one of the suites - awesome. This was then followed by a glass of wine to wait the time away soaking in the views from the hotel terrace over the water.

We hadn't spent much time prior to arriving looking into what you could do on the island but Angela, Alessia and Harra were a wealth of knowledge and full of great ideas and suggestions - and never concerned with having to repeat themselves.

We spent the first day at the closest beach, which is no more than 300m away and set about planning the rest of the week.

The hotel offers a glass of wine each evening (local) or the local lemonade, think virgin mojito - delicious. Explaining about the wine grape and where you can go to experience some local wine tasting.

I cannot thank the above three Ladies enough on the amazing service they provided. If you wanted to hire a car, book a restaurant, find out about times a winery is open you could leave it with them, go to the beach for the day and they would have an answer for you on your return - so fabulous - allowing you to enjoy your holiday, rather than worrying about having to spend the days planning it!

Without hesitation, I would highly recommend this boutique hotel for anyone who wants a relaxing break - the staff are the best - it's absolutely the place to go!

The facilities are first class, our room was spotless and cleaned daily, the room had a full sea view balcony, fridge and mini freezer unit, clothes line for drying wet swim wear and as for the breakfast there was a great selection that should cover even the fussiest of stayers. We didn't use the pool as the beaches are so close and after visiting over 20 during our stay the local beach; Makris Yialos -"long beach' which is only a 7-10 min wander away is the best we found on the island. It has beautiful sand, clear blue waters that are shallow, warm and you can swim out 100m off shore and still see the bottom, there are various types of beds, free beach space if you don't want to pay for beds along with showers, toilets and restaurants.

Some other 'good to know' facts:
Beach beds; vary from 5-8 euros for 2 beds, and an umbrella
Car hire company - ETAM - 130 euros for 3 days, petrol extra
Roads are in good condition and you can spend a day in the north, east and south, each.
There is no paying for parking anywhere on the island - long may that stay in place
You can hire boats for the day for 60 euros so you can check out all the little private beaches and bays - it would be worth making an early start to make the most of the day-hire charge.
20 euros from airport to Thalassa hotel - one way
6 euro from Thalassa to Arogstoli - one way, buses also go, the timetable is posted at the bus stop and cost only 1.5 euro one way. The bus doesn't go late night.
Arogstoli on a Fri / Sat night is great for sitting in the square and watching the world go buy
FOOD:
A lot of restaurants fish frozen - if you want fresh always ask
Butlers restaurant - good service, reasonably priced - fresh fish - worth a visit
Sto Psito restaurant - bit of a walk from Thalassa but the views are nice and the food is fresh, service is great
Vasso restaurant (Ficardo) / north Kefalonia - comes highly recommended and the food was nice but the staff are a bit up themselves
Veronicas restaurant - do pretty good 'meal deals' - 26.5 euros for 2 fresh fish, 1lt of house wine and a greek salad, they also have live music on some nights
San leonardo restaurant - I would give this one a miss
Casa Greco (Arogstoli) - comes highly recommended. The setting is lovely, inside or in the court yard and the staff are attentive. Went hoping for fresh and local food but its very 'international', limited fresh fish and not a hugh selection of Greek food. Wines are way above most other restaurants that we visited though.
Retseto restaurant - pick of the places we went to, view is good, service is friendly and efficient, decor is a bit dated but the food was the pick for us and the total package was best at this place.
Generally, a large beer anywhere on the Island is 2.5-4 euros
You should expect to spend between 30-60 euros for 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 beers and carafe of house wine.

Room Tip: All rooms overlooked the sea but if you can take one of the suites which has a more private balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank KingKarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

It's a shame because this hotel could be 5* but it lets itself down in so many ways.

Room
The decoration was actually quite nice, colonial, but it's in desperate need of a refurb. All the furniture was scuffed and stained and the sink in the bathroom was coming away from the wall and rusty. The room was clean though. The wardrobe is ridiculous as you can't hang up anything longer than a crop top! We were told we would have a balcony with sea view and what we actually got was a terrace with a side view of the sea but mostly a wall/trees. And at midnight the sprinklers would come on and soak the whole terrace. We turned it into a game of chicken of who could stay out the longest before you got wet!

Hotel/Pool
The main hotel is nicely decorated and the breakfast area was nice. There was an area to eat outside but you would get attacked by wasps after a few minutes. The staff did use a smoke thing to deter them but this was only after an hour. The breakfast was interesting, there was a good selection but not of it was labelled and there was a lot of things that could have been replaced like the rice pudding and thick cake. The pool area was quite nice but a bit cramped.

Staff
The staff were friendly and helpful but would need to put more effort in to make it 4* or 5*. Such as deterring the wasps or at least warning you of them and general hospitality checks.

Location
Fantastic! The beach is just near you, we went to the one down the road to the right and it's beautiful. It's a bit rocky but quite private. The view is beautiful and Lassi is really nice. It's quite quiet and not brits abroad at all. The food was really nice, I would recommend the Butler's House and it's bar next to it So Simple. Argostoli is in walking distance but a taxi is only 6 euros. Argotsoli is good for shopping but difficult to find a good reasonable restaurant. The Captains Table is good there just off the square. Fiscardo is defiantly worth a visit as it's the only town that survived the earthquake, it's has a beautiful marina with lots little restaurants and shops.

I would definwly go back to Cephalonia as it is beautiful and unique due to it's very small population (30,000). It's a very quiet island with little towns dotted between vast areas of stunning landscape. I wouldn't stay here again and I'm grateful that we got this on special offer as it isn't worth the money.

Tip to hotel: Refurbishment! Could easily be a 4-5 star!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony, not a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littleone88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Thalassa Hotel is an excellent place to stay; we stayed in a sea view room which had sweeping views of the bay at Lassi and the room was basic but very clean and the service excellent. Breakfast was supplied and a wide variety of breakfast foods was offered from cerial to cooked breakfast. The pool and surrounding snack bar area is located in the hotel complex, with two pool's available. Wi-fi is available only in the reception area, and it would be good if it was extended to the rooms and pool area.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were cleaned every day, and complimentary wine was served on the terrace near the reception every evening - the terrace and reception area providing the 'boutique' feel which has been referred to in other reviews. This hotel is well worth a stay and gets five stars

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

First impressions of Thalassa were excellent, as we were impressed by the stunning reception area, terrace and breakfast room. The breakfast selection and quality was also good, I particularly liked the honey cake one day. Wine served on the terrace in the evenings was also a nice touch.

This was slightly tempered by our room, which being on the ground floor in a sheltered corner, was dark and lacked a nice terrace to sit out in the evenings. The daily servicing was good though and with hindsight we should have requested an alternative.

The real disappointment was in the pool area and bar, which were shared with the adjoining apartments and not up to 4* boutique standard. The lack of real spa facilities was also disappointing, for example yoga classes were advertised though when I tried to book the Monday 5pm session was told they needed two days notice but the yoga instructor offered to do the class at 8pm. I then booked the Thursday session and the instructor failed to show up.

All in all, we would recommend this as a nice base in a good location, being close to Argostoli and with good access to beaches, but don't plan on spending all day by the pool. Do also plan to hire a car as Kefalonia is a large island with windy roads and scattered beaches best accessed independently.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors which have private terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LK-TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Me and my husband stayed in this boutique hotel during our honeymoon this August. We had informed the administration of the hotel about our marital status before our arrival and they prepared for us a welcome with a bottle of champagne MOΕΤ. Everything was perfect during our honeymoon there. The room was clean,spacy (there was even a small kitchen in this) and very quiet. The breakfast was excellent and was including fruits (figs, grapes etc) and honey made from local producers. The stuff of the hotel was very helpful and the the entrance of the hotel was modernly decorated and furnished.We recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to spend his/her vacation in the beautiful and elegant island of Kefallonia. We will be back, for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EirNom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lassi
0.8 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
0.3 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#2 of 19 in Lassi
850 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Platis Gialos
1,251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Enalion Suites
Enalion Suites
#5 of 19 in Lassi
278 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kefalonia Grand Hotel
Kefalonia Grand Hotel
#1 of 12 in Argostolion
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Hotel

Address: Lassi 28100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lassi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lassi
Price Range: £105 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thalassa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THALASSA HOTEL is set in the heart of the famous resortof Kefalonia, Lassi, where Makris Gialos Beach is a mustamongst the island’s visitors. The newly built complexThalassa Hotel, that consists of luxurious and spaciousrooms in two neoclassical buildings, captures the basicelements for an unforgettable stay.overlooking the majestic Paleostafida Gulf, Thalassa Hotelis an enchanting, cozy intimate island family hotel, ideal foranyone seeking for a fun and relaxing holiday. The warm familyatmosphere, the elegantly comfortable rooms, the colourfulgardens the breathtaking views makes Thalassa Hotel theplace for absolute relaxation and ultimate vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thalassa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Hotel Lassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing