We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday on beautiful Samos!”
Review of Anthis Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anthis Studios
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Pythagorion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I'm almost reluctant to post this, as if the Anthis gets too busy we may not be able to get the dates we want for next year.
Having read reviews before, you are always a bit wary as too how true they really are. Well I can honestly say that there is a very good reason that the Anthis has a tripadvisor award.....it is fab!
Kostas, Meni and Antonis really are the nicest people you could wish for as hosts.
Yes it is a bit of a hike (1/2 hour) to walk into town at night, but it is well worth it. Not that we did every night as we enjoyed the home made food and weekly BBQ on a number of nights also.
The rooms are very clean and (yes typically Greek) so don't expect 5* luxury. What it lacks in facilities is more than made up for in HOSPITALITY, which in our book counts for so much more.
The pool is great with ample sun beds and plenty of shade if you need it.
We had never been to Samos before, but we are already looking forward to seeing Kostas and his lovely family again next year.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floor has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Our 4th visit to Anthis, each time a little bit more has been improved as Kostas and family strive to provide the perfect summer home-from-home for their guests. Compared with our last visit in 2011 the pool has new tiling, there are more signs of energy efficiency and the bar now serves cocktails too. Anthis is located on the road between Pythagorion & Chora so expect some road noise from scooters but it's not intrusive. It's about a 25 minute walk from the harbour, or an inexpensive taxi ride. Potokaki beach is about 15 minutes walk, and there's a supermarket less than 5 minutes away. Parking is limited so bear that in mind if you've hired a car. Food at the pool bar is good value, there's free wifi and if enough people are up for it the family will light the barbecue on Sunday evenings. Anthis remains a superb place to stay within the usual caveats of a Greek island holiday (eg no paper down the toilet, basic decor & kitchen, no TV in your room etc.) and if you are mobile enough to cope with stairs or a level 25 minute walk to town you'll love it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonnaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed here for a fortnight and it was wonderful. Everyone says how friendly the family are, but they also leave you alone if you're want some quite, as we did. The rooms are clean and well kept, but it's a hot walk into town (around 15-20 minutes), but the beach is closer. We spent much of the day around the pool!.

Oh,you don't notice the airport, as the hotel is to the side of the runway, and the noise mainly funnels in and out of the ends - much nosier at the beach!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharmlessNerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was our first time in Samos, and chose the Anthis after looking at Trip Advisor. What a good choice! The owners Kostas, Meni & Antonis could not do enough for us to make our stay so memorable.The apartments are typically Greek, basic but very clean; the top floor apartments have the best views. The food served at the bar is good and there are speciality nights. The swimming pool is quite large and well maintained with adequate sun loungers(sun and shade).The nearest town is Pythagorion a 30 minute walk which has an attractive harbour with many tavernas catering for all tastes. The island is very beautiful with spectacular views, lots of pebble and sandy beaches, but you will need to hire your own transport to appreciate the scenery. Should you be there in the next few weeks you may be lucky enough to meet Robert John(young friendly Welshman and Sue his girlfriend) who will be more than happy to help you with touring around the island and see places that you would not easily find. We had a wonderful holiday and can honestly say the Anthis apartments were the most friendliest we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were a bit dubious on arrival, being so close to the airport and on a main road, but once you settle in to the place, you realise it's a great spot to be! The family are so lovely and can't do enough to make you welcome. the food offered on the breakfast/lunch menu is all home grown and delicious so while the appartment facilities are limited, who needs to cook anyway! We had our 4 year old boy with us. No childrens pool but not necessary as it's a great size to keep an eye on him. Plenty of shade to keep him covered (we were there at the end of may, good weather and plenty of sun) he loved it! Especially with a child, we would recommend a car to get out and about - to the beach, for the shopping and out to eat in the evenings. You can walk to Pythagorio but it's a about 20/30mins. The place is typically greek and Costas, Meni and their family make a huge effort for their guests. If you want 5 star lux, look elsewhere, but otherwise go and see for yourself! We will be going again. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is an excellent place to stay, the family (Kostas, Menni & Antonis) are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, although there is a 25 minute walk into Pythagoria (2 minutes driving). It's close enough to bars and restaurants etc and although it's about a mile outside the town, all the hotels in the town are just hotels, they don't have a pool and they are loud and on busy roads.

The food and drinks at the bar are well priced, cheaper than the town which isn't always the case with some hotel bars. All food is delicious and just what you need for a quick bite whilst sunbathing/ splashing around in the pool. Sunday evening is BBQ night, and I strongly recommend attending, gorgeous food cooked on the BBQ fresh and straight onto your plate. It's also a great opportunity to meet and chat with all other guests at the apartments.

As with most Greek islands, Samos is fairly small and easy to get around (with a vehicle) there's pebble and sandy beaches, both calm and windy. Psilli-Amos is a must if you enjoy beaches, about 20 mins from Anthis, gorgeous water and very nice views. Kokkari is a very nice seaside town, it can get very windy there which makes for excellent windsurfing. If you walk around the corner, Kokkari has a little harbour which has little bars and restaurants which is very nice both in the daytime. Kokkari is a perfect place to watch the sunset (sunsets around 8pm) I recommend this, visit any bar/ restaurant along the front and you will have some amazing views of the sunset.

I would recommend this resort to anyone and everyone, as you can tell I love this island. This doesn't make this review bias at all, this island really is 'that good'. Whether you want a relax, activities or a family break. You will love this island,

Some main attractions to visit -

Four Seasons Restaurant
Aphrodite Restaurant
Psilli-Amos Beach
Kokkari (anywhere on the front)
Pegasus Restaurant (nice for daytime lunch)

Portabello gyros in Pythagoria is a perfect place for a snack of Gyros!

Room Tip: Higher balconies obviously have better views, but also get extremely hot. Ground floors are shaded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RobJohn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

just had another great holiday at the anthis studios for the third time this place just gets better every year. costas and menni with thier son adonis are the hosts with the most cant wait till next year jim sally london

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibbo1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pythagorion
0.2 mi away
Evelin Hotel
Evelin Hotel
#6 of 37 in Pythagorion
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 37 in Pythagorion
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#12 of 37 in Pythagorion
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samos Sun Hotel
Samos Sun Hotel
#10 of 37 in Pythagorion
97 reviews
6.9 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthis Studios

Address: | P.b 72, Pythagorion 831 03, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pythagorion
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
#3 Family Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range: £29 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Anthis Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthis Studios Hotel Pythagorion
Anthis Studios Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing