We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“who could ask for more the best place to stay in samos the Anthis Studios and Apartments”
Review of Anthis Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anthis Studios
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Pythagorion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Just had a fantastic two week stay at the Anthis Studios Samos. We were welcomed off our coach by a smiling Costa and this nephew. Our cases were quickly carried up to our room. The room was simple but very clean with a beautiful pool view. From our room you also got beautiful views of the mountains all around us and also the sea in the distance.These apartments are run by Costa and his very helpful and friendly family. The pool side snack bar offers a variety of hot and cold snacks and also drinks, so you do not need to go far for a light meal or drink although the supermarket is about a five to ten minute walk from the Anthis. Our room was cleaned daily with plenty of fresh towles and bedding, nothing was ever to much trouble for Costa and his family. The walk into the main town Pythagorio is about twenty mintues away, but there are plenty of taxis to use if you do not want to walk which Costa is happy to ring for you. Overall our stay at the Anthis Studios was up to our expectations as we have stay there before back in 2002 and 2004. We highly recomend the Anthis for anybody wanted a lazy relaxing holiday. We will certanly be staying with Costa and family again very soon.

By Gemma-Marie Fawcett

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma-Marie_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Anthis Studios
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

The Anthis is a wonderful place to stay, the first thing that makes it all worth while is the warm welcome by Kostas as soon as you arrive. Our room was on the ground floor with a lemon tree right over the balcony, the shade was welcome after a long hot day in the sun. Kostas and his family are wonderful people, so warm and friendly, their customer service is excellent and Kostas makes a mean omelette also bacon and eggs. The supermarket is only about 100m away and Potakkaki beach is only about a 10-15 min walk. Pythorgorian has a lovely harbour about a 25 min stroll which is nice after dinner to have a stroll back. Try some of the restauarants at the back of the harbour on the beach very nice, Aphrodite restaurant was also very good. We hired a quad bike from the Evelin which is just up the road from the Anthis and they gave us a very good discount because we were staying at the Anthis. This Island is well worth exploring whether by car or quad bike, it is a beautiful Island with many hidden treasures. Kokkari is well worth a look and Psilli Amos beach is beautiful and sandy.
All in all an excellent holiday with great hosts staying at the Anthis is just like being part of the family. Thank you to Kostas and all his family and Malcolm who has great knowledge of the Island and who will also do anything to help you out.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trashytray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Anthis, we found found that the owner, Kostas, and his family to be very warm and friendly people, they really do know how to look after their guests. The room was basic, but spotlessly clean, and comfortable. The Anthis is situated in a quiet area on a main road, surrounded by a lovely garden and lots of fruit and olive trees. The nearest beach is approx. 25 mins. walk away and is pebbles. There is a well stocked supermarket close by. The property is situated roughly half way between Pythagorio Town (a walk of approx. 25 mins) and Mittilini village (a walk of approx 30 mins) both worth a visit. The harbour is surrounded by Tavernas and shops and is a lively place at night time. There is a swimming pool and pool bar which was a popular meeting place. An added bonus was the weather, which was exceptionally hot.
It was our first visit to the Anthis, and Samos, but we would certainly go again. when we left Kostas and family all came out to say goodbye, his mum had tears in her eyese.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lollysalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

arrived at Athis studios with a warm welcome from Kosta the owner who could not do enough for us all the 2 weeks we were there, the studios are a 25min walk from the resort of Pythagorion but it is a pleasant walk in with pavement most of the way, there is also a lovely village 20 min walk the other way with some good taverna's , although we choose to eat at the Anthis a couple of times if there is nothing on the menu you fancy , kosta will go out of his way to get you what you want, the pool is very clean and the pool bar is open till midnight, Kosta and his family really made our holiday special and the Leeds and Salford clan will be back .

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonnieleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

Anthis studios are set in a lovely scenic location,on arriving we were met by Kostas,the owner,smiling,a smile that hardly waned throughout our week long stay.
We were led through a garden path that bordered mostly lime trees,with th occasional rose and other flora being present in a well tended setting,onto a small patio with table and two chairs.
Being shown into our studio,initially we thought it was small,BUT it turned out to be a perfect size,I believe the designer must have had a hand in the Tardis,compact on the outer,but surprisingly spacious and very well thought out.Standard Greek kitchenette,portable double hob,placed on the worksurface,over the fridge,decent size sink/drainer.On the left is the bathroom,again,small floor area,but all you need,shower worked particularly well!
In the living area there was a sofa bed,and a dining table with 2 chairs,then the surprise-2 full size single beds UPSTAIRS!!!A small wooden flight of approx 10 steps leads to a "second half" Beds were a touch on the firm side, but comfortable.
In summation,I would wholeheartedly recommend the Anthis, the only potential disadvantage would be it's distance from Pythagorio,which is a good 30 minute walk each way.The little town of Hora in the opposite direction holds a true delight-Stavros taverna,I cannot praise this establishment highly enough,food par excellence,served and cooked by Stavros and Angela,the lady of the establishment-DO TRY Angelas home made cheese pies,they are truly to die for!!!!!
I would definately return to this Island and accomodation.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quattro100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Have just spent 2 weeks at the Anthis Studios near Pythagoria in Samos . The landing requires a 90 degree turn before the final approach as landing from the other direction would mean flying over Turkish airspace . The transfer is very short , about 1 km as the crow flies . The Anthis is on the main road to Pythagoria but our rooms were at the back where it was very quiet . We got sun in the morning when we ate our breakfast on our little terrace . Aircraft noise is limited to at most half a dozen flights a day with no night flights , all you hear is the very brief reverse thrust on landing . The Anthis rooms are typical Greek , very basic but perfectly acceptable , however some of the other rooms had the bed on a platform and these were small . The Anthis is owned and run by a family who also live there , grandparents , brother and sister and her children with goats , chickens a horse and a tortoise . The pool is perfectly adequate in size surrounded by a patio area which is raised up so some with mobility problems may find it a problem .
There is a pool bar manned ? by Sue who was a Kosmar rep. for several years but now lives just up the road ., she was very nice and knew alot about the island . They do basic but decent food until 20.00 in the evening . The walk into Pythagorio is 30 minutes we used to walk in and get a taxi (4 euro's) back . Pythagorio is a harbour lined with restaurants it is touristy but if you like people watching.......alot of the visitors are other Greeks from the mainland . We hired a car for 4 days at a very reasonable rate . The roads are generally better than the UK average and was no trouble the roads were not busy even in August . Samos town is a working town with old Vathy up the hill do not drive through Vath as clearance on some roads was only 2 inches either side with mirrors folded in ! Samos island is beautiful only 1 km from Turkey at the closest . Highly recommended .

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bald130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2008

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Anthis, Pythagorion, Samos.
We booked through Kosmar and flew with Excel. Have to say the runway at Samos must be pretty short as we came to a stop right at the very end!
The exit and transfers from the arrivals was very smooth. In fact, the accommodation is literally just across a field from the airport!
Don't let this put you off though as we hardly heard any aircraft noise for the entire week. Samos is not that busy a place so there isn't a constant landing or take off of flights. I believe there are only 3 flights a week there from the UK so that will give you an indication of how quiet it is. There are no night flights either so there is no question of your sleep being disturbed.
The Anthis is situated on a main road on the side of a mountain. It is pretty much on a limb but there is a reasonably stocked supermarket about 50 mts away and also slightly further is a nice taverna.
The rooms are very basic, as you usually find in Greece. A nice addition though was the electric kettle, not something you usually find and saved us having to boil a saucepan to make a coffee. There was also air con for a local fee. Having said that, our room was at the back of the property facing the mountain so it stayed pretty much in the shade most of the time which meant our room kept cool in the blistering heat.
The accommodation is run by a friendly family who are very helpful and will go out of their way for you. There seemed to be a problem with the cleaner when we were there and several complaints were made by people about her lack of attendance and toilet bin emptying duties. A quick word to the owner and she did appear again. We were told they'd found her sleeping in an empty room instead of cleaning!
The pool is lovely but I did feel they could have provided more umbrellas. There are a few steps leading up to the pool so if you are less mobile it could cause a problem. I would also add that it isn't really a place to take children to. The actual pool area is quite restricted in size and there are no activities such as pool tables/table tennis etc to keep them occupied. There is a pool bar and they cook basic food. The chips are home made not frozen! It stays open quite late if you fancy having a drink there.
As I mentioned, the property is on a main road outside of Pythagorion. It took us about 35 - 40 mins to stroll down there to the very picturesque harbour. There are pavements most of the way so you don't need to worry about safety as the cars do tend to zoom past quite quickly. It isn't expensive to catch a taxi, about 4 euros. If you walk the opposite direction to Pythagorion when you leave the Anthis, you'll find yourself in a quaint village called Horas. That took us about 20 mins to walk to and we actually preferred going there and exploring the narrow streets. Not at all commercial, I don't think there is any holiday accommodation there, just locals. We found a few nice tavernas to eat at.
Samos was lovely and I will certainly go back there. Many people at the Anthis had been serveral times before and others were planning return visits. As long as you don't mind walking or catching a taxi it is a great holiday for adults.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacwar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pythagorion
0.2 mi away
Evelin Hotel
Evelin Hotel
#5 of 37 in Pythagorion
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 37 in Pythagorion
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#14 of 37 in Pythagorion
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samos Sun Hotel
Samos Sun Hotel
#9 of 37 in Pythagorion
95 reviews
6.9 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthis Studios

Address: | P.b 72, Pythagorion 831 03, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pythagorion
#3 Family Hotel in Pythagorion
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range: £29 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Anthis Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthis Studios Hotel Pythagorion
Anthis Studios Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing