We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place”
Review of Zorbas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zorbas Hotel
Hurth, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

If you are planning to visit Samos, then the perfect destination would be Pythagorion (I visited all of the cities, and most of the villages, and this one is the best mixture of culture, beaches and city, plus it is near the airport).

Now when you are in Pythagorion the hotel I recommend is the one I stayed at, ZORBA. It is the family run hotel, where you feel like at home. You get served with homemade Greek wine, you learn quickly Greek phrases from the owners and good tips what to see. There is an option of taking breakfast, but also you can prepare it on your own in small kitchen you have on the balcony. The view from the Hotel is breathtaking. After researching a bit, I discovered that this is the best position for hotel, as you are not too near the cafes, but still you can hear live music in distance, your view is not covered by other buildings, and you are 5 min walk from the harbor (center with cafes and boats). The churches around, open archeological findings, and numerous stairs make the excellent atmosphere of the Greek island.

Every room has air condition, TV, hair dryer, refrigerator... the sheets and towels were changed every day! WiFi included.

I recommend it fully!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank masamarjanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Our room felt more like an apartment than your typical generic hotel room. As soon as we walked in the door, we loved it. Beautifully decorated, spacious, light-filled. The little balcony looks out over the picturesque town with a sweeping view of the harbor. What heaven to have our breakfast there each morning, cooked in the small but fully equipped kitchenette. Spotlessly clean and on a quiet little street, it's a short walk down the hill to the lively harbor-front restaurants and a promenade along the cobblestone streets around the harbor. Good-size bathroom (again, spotlessly clean) and lots of closet space.

Andreas, the owner, is as charming and helpful as can be. He organized a rental car for us upon arrival, which is a must to get around and see this incredibly beautiful island, though the winding roads up to the mountain-top villages are not for the faint-of-heart - but so worth the sometimes hair-raising drive. And the better beaches need a car to get to. We didn't want to leave Zorba's or Samos. Just lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EditrixNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

First, the hotel have a best location and best view on the harbor. Second, the owner, Andreas is very helpful and welcoming. He gave us all the advice and best tips about all Samos's area. I remember that I was driving nearby to explore the neighborhood, suddenly he he appeared on our road, and helped us to find and exotic wild beach.
The hotel is very quiet and clean and the inside balcony for cafe also have clear view. Before we left his hotel to turkey he gave us a symbolic present that marks our trip during our vacation in Greece. People in Pythagorion city are unique where ever you walk they say to you " giassou" in phonic is " yasso'' or "yassas". I recommend all travelers to discover this area certainly Zorbas hotel and have ozou drink with Andreas.

Room Tip: Upper floors and second
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed in room 7 with views over the harbour.The room was very clean and the team who manage the studios are very friendly and helpful.The accomodation is in an elevated position and may not be suitable for people who have health concerns though once you are familiar with the location you can graduate your climb up from the harbour.The harbour and village are stunningly pretty with some great restaurants and bars-- not an english breakfast in sight -- hooray.Greece at its best.Loved everything and will be booking again once the flights for next summer are published.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor have best views number 1-4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alison710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed at Zorbas in June this year. We had booked rooms six months earlier. When we were two families, so we wanted to have the two rooms with balconies on the top next to each other. We were very specific on just the two rooms with "Fully sea view". We had also agreed pickup at the airport. The price we received was higher than the one shown on the website and when I pointed this out and that the price could be discussed at further accommodation (According to their website. We stayed seven nights), so I got a slightly lower price.
When we arrived there was nobody at the airport, which would pick us up. We rang and when he came in a small Opel Corsa! We were two families with gasket and he found that half of us could take a taxi. The taxi we had to pay themselves.
The hotel was found that we do not have the rooms we requested, but two rooms on different floors! One of them was the limited view and when we pointed this out, so the owner just shrugged his shoulders and said there were no other rooms available. We also had ordered a "Triple Studio" and it was not. It was a common room, where they squeezed in an extra bed and one SAFE. It was so crowded that one person at a time could just move around the room.
We had an elderly lady in the crowd, so we chose not to change hotels. Once in the room I found no remote control for air conditioning and when I asked the owner, so he said that it costs 5 Euro exta per day! Although it says it is included under the home page.
We had a lovely stay, however, on the island of Samos. The hotel had a good view and was otherwise clean. Simple class, however. We kept us away from the unreliable owner throughout the week. Unfortunately I can not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Excellent, great host, family run hotel with fantastic views over the village. Close to everything. Make sure you ask for an 'upstairs' room as the views are far better. the terrace is terricfic too.
very resonable room rates for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NeilAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

The owner of this place ran into us at the Samos docks when we arrived. We were a bit hesitant at first, but once we got to the place it was very worth going along with him!

Our room had an amazing view over the town of pythagorion and was absoultely spotlessly clean. Our hosts could speek reasonable english and we very friendly. There was a small kitchenette including a fridge on our balcony, but we didnt end up using it. Everything was nice & close in pythagorion and the owner didnt have a problem giving us a lift from Samos town.

Finally, this place is cheap! Probably the cheapest place we stayed in the greek islands.

I would definately recommend this place. The only problem is that it isnt very well advertised.

  • Liked — The view and the rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gringravitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pythagorion hotels
3.8 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.9 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 37 in Pythagorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.4 mi away
Evelin Hotel
Evelin Hotel
#4 of 37 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Remezzo
Hotel Remezzo
#10 of 37 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Naftilos
Hotel Naftilos
#6 of 37 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
4.3 mi away
Zefiros Beach Hotel
Zefiros Beach Hotel
#15 of 37 in Pythagorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zorbas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorbas Hotel

Property: Zorbas Hotel
Address: Pythagorion 83102, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Zorbas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Zorbas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zorbas Hotel Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing