We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in a quiet location”
Review of Samaina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samaina Hotel
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Pythagorion
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The hotel is located in the upper part of Pythagorio, just a few minute-walk from the seaside and the crowded streets. We stayed in a nicely decorated and clean en-suite twin room on the roof top. The room was provided with a roomy balcony overlooking the bay and the castle. The owner warmly welcomed us on our arrival and gave us a lift to the port when we left early in the morning.
We just spent one night but we recommended it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank biol76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

We were only able to stay one night at Samaina, due to the change in this year's ferry schedule. This was a disappointment as the hotel was very comfortable and we loved the island of Samos, what we were able to see. If you have some time to stay on Samos, I would recommended Pythagorion, rather than Vathy, where the ferries from Turkey land. We took the local bus from Vathy, which was cheap (compared to a taxi) and convenient.

Our host Petros was very helpful is recommending restaurants, etc. We spent our time wandering the scenic harbor and shops. My husband is a sailor and was green with envy at the lovely boats from all around the world.

The hotel is a short walk up hill from the harbor. The room was not large but quite comfortable, with wood paneled walls and a small balcony giving a gorgeous sea view. There is an extra charge for AC but we didn't need it in early May. Petros asked if we would be willing to forgo breakfast (we were the only guests), which was fine for us; we had huge English style breakfasts in a cafe on the harbor. We had an excellent dinner at a restaurant called Poseidon, on the left as you face the harbor. Our table was no more than steps from the water. How romantic, to watch the lights come on across the harbor and hear the waves lapping nearby.

Petros, like other innkeepers we encountered later on, was a native of the island, but had spent time in the States working and studying in Chicago. We were most appreciative that he gave us a free ride to the ferry landing the next day, so we did not have to call a cab.

Sure wish we could have stayed longer on Samos.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is a very pleasant Hotel, helpful staff (like family), breakfast is very good, location is perfect. We made reservations directly with the owner and booked a seperate flight, it all went as planned.

There is no pool but the beach just down the hill and there are couple of nice places in the neighbourhood. The owner is very helpful in every way.

Room Tip: describe your wishes to Pertros, we didn't use the AC because the fan worked fine and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zandweter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Best place to stay!
Stay close to everything, nice walk to the beach and a breathtaking view over the village of Pythagorion, Turkey to the east and some Greek islands far out to sea!
The owner Petros doing all the best for their guests, and serves a good breakfast.

Very good cleaning!

I've been a guest there 5 times and will continue ....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gunn Karita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I totally agree with the other recommendations here, the Samaina is perfectly situated in a quiet backstreet, yet very central. You can walk down to the waterfront within minutes or choose to enjoy the beautyfull view from the small balcony. The rooms are small but comfy and WiFi is available pretty much all the time. We booked for two nights and ended up staying the whole week, the owner is very friendly and helpfull, and we had a great relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joshil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

A nice and well cared for hotel close to the picturesque Pythagorio port and Samos airport.
A smallish but functional room with a nice little balcony. And I also liked the friendly and helpful owner, Petros. All in all, I warmly recommend this hotel for couples and solo travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank OApple68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed at the Samaina in August this yeat and found it to be a little gem. I whole heartedly endorse the other positive reviews on here.

The location is good ( quiet) and the rooms are clean and comfortable.
Thank you to Petros, the owner/manager, for collecting us from the port and making our stay very enjoyable.

We will stay here again when we revisit Samos.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gojerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pythagorion
0.9 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pythais Hotel
Pythais Hotel
#17 of 37 in Pythagorion
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Polyxeni
Hotel Polyxeni
#8 of 37 in Pythagorion
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Penelope
Penelope
#16 of 37 in Pythagorion
18 reviews
1.4 mi away
Anthis Studios
Anthis Studios
#4 of 37 in Pythagorion
180 reviews
15.6 mi away
Samaina Inn Hotel
Samaina Inn Hotel
#1 of 8 in Karlovasi
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaina Hotel

Address: Damous and Irodotou, Pythagorion 831 03, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Pythagorion
Price Range: £40 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Samaina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samaina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaina Hotel Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing