We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely facility, but the food...”
Review of Proteas Blu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Proteas Blu Resort
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Pythagorion
Certificate of Excellence
Perkasie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely facility, but the food...”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Proteas Blu Resort, according to our driver, is the area's only 5 star hotel. They are not quite there,

We were welcomed with a refreshing fruit drink while our room was readied, and then we were taken to the sea-front villa by golf cart. (Be aware that many steps are between the pool/ocean and the main building.) Although we had reserved a "bungalow", we were upgraded to a "villa", including 3 rooms and a private pool. The villa was very clean and comfortably furnished in a contemporary style. Sparkling rose' and a plate of sweets waited for our arrival. The scenery was spectacular!

The pool area is attractive and furnished with a variety of lounges and sun beds. I wish there were more seats in the shade; not everyone wants to sun bathe. The beach provides lounge chairs and umbrellas, and of course, both areas have a bar nearby for drinks and food.

My only complaint is with the food - it is definitely not 5 star. Breakfast is a buffet; most people should be able to find something to start the day, but except for the yogurt and honey, nothing was exceptional. Our only lunch was salads by the pool and they were over-dressed. We had one dinner at Pi Squared Theory: the food was not the "traditional" Greek food found at the local tavernas; we had the lamb. It was good but not great. The wine, a Greek syrah was quite good and our server was wonderful. My biggest problem was the theme night. It was the only dinner at the resort that night, and it was a seafood theme night. We sat for 10 minutes before anyone took our beverage order, and that was only after flagging down a server. The food , well... Had it been served at a college cafeteria 40 years ago, we would have been over the moon; however, we found it tremendously disappointing, loaded up on dessert and fresh fruit, and left after 30 minutes or so.

If Proteas Blu wants to be a true 5 star hotel, it needs to up it's culinary game.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Tracy M,

Thank you for choosing Proteas Blu to be a part of your wonderful holidays in the island and for your nice feedback.

Your review is overall very important as we see that the hotel met your expectations.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a memorable experience in regards to the free upgrade to a Blu Suite with private pool as our aim was to make your holidays unforgettable.

Concerning the food based on the comments that you write, we still have many procedures to do in order to offer you a unique culinary experience. We are planning to change the policy of our restaurants and we would like to inform you that after your review we have already created in the dinner a corner with traditional flavors for the lovers of Greek cuisine.

We will be glad to welcome you again in our premises next year as you will have the opportunity to see our changes and our new surprises!

Sea you soon!

Iliana Sigala
Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    133
    34
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
351
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boras, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel was wonderful with an amazing view. Ouiet, hotel and friendly and helpful staff. A hotel to recomend for celebrating birthdays, honeymoons and wedding days. We were greeted by a welcome committe at the airport with flowers, a drink and a friendly smile. The best of all, no one was under 20. And an extra plus to the great staff at Adam and Eve Spa. Beautiful surrondings, nice pool area and extra plus for getting new pool/beach towels. Going to miss this place and will come back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pearl1528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Pearl528,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for this wonderful review in regards to your holidays at Proteas Blu!

We do our best in order to provide to our guests an excellent attention and service standards as we want to leave our premises with the best impressions and memories. We are glad that your review confirmed our efforts.

It was lovely of you to mention about the welcome committee at the airport. We here at Proteas Blu would like all of our guests to feel our hospitality and friendliness from the first moment.

Thank you for spending your lovely holidays in our Resort and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

We wish you a pleasant rest of summer.

Sea you soon!

Iliana Sigala
Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

this year was the second time we returned to this hotel. this in itself is a recommendation, because I have only done this once before. the Proteas Blu is wonderful. When we arrived there was a welcome drink for us and then we were taken to our room in 'the village'. There was champagne on ice and some delicious nibbles for us and the most beautiful sea view from our balcony to look at while we sipped! Our room was clean, light, spacious and tastefully decorated. I can also recommend the spa. I had a very relaxing massage during my stay. I stayed bed and breakfast. The breakfast was really varied. You had lots of things to choose from and this was perfect for my husband and I as I like continental breakfast and he enjoys his cooked breakfast. we ate in the restaurant a few times for dinner and that was excellent too. It is buffet style and all delicious. Our waiter 'Costas' didn't just serve drinks, he was lovely to talk to too. We had one special night in the hotel where we ate in the 'Thala Sea' (hope I've got that right!) It is a tiny open air restaurant set in a sail boat, suspended above the sea. You have to walk the gangplank to get to it! Honestly I enjoyed the experience so much! Our waitress Simonetta was so lovely and the food was out of this world!!!!!!!!!!!!! Highly recommended for a really relaxing holiday.
Melanie and James Farnes England

Room Tip: Upgrade to the village for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Farnes,

We would like to thank you for choosing for your second time Proteas Blu to spend your holidays in Samos.

It is pleasing to read such wonderful comments regarding your accommodation in our premises and it was lovely of you to mention that you recommend our Resort for a relaxing holiday.

We really appreciate your reference to our Θαλαsea Fish and Oyster restaurant and we are glad that we offered you a unique experience and a ‘journey’ of flavors.

Be assured that our staff will be informed of your kind comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Resort and we wish a nice rest of summer.

Sea you soon!

Iliana Sigala
Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The location of this hotel is amazing with an amazing view from the hotel over the ocean and to Turkey on the other side. Quiet hotel made it perfect for one week of needed relaxation and the pool & beach was very nice too.

Be warned that you should bring your own beach-towels, they have some big pink towels but it does seem that they only have a few of these, so if you are a little bit late you are given some very small blue towels wich does not help very much.

I do have to point out something, and it was some of the people working there. I found some of the people working in the reception, pool-restaurant and beach-bar extremly rude and not very friendly who did not seem to enjoy their work. A little smile is enough..



I also think that the breakfast lacked some alternatives, but that might be that I`m a bit picky.

But, I am 100% sure that I`m going to stay at the very same hotel if I go back to Samos, hopefully with a friendlier crew working there the next time.

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Otto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Otto L,

Thank you for selecting our Resort for your precious holidays in the island and for your lovely comments in regards to your accommodation in Proteas Blu.

We are more than grateful to read such a kind review, as our aim is to offer to our guests a memorable experience.

Regarding the beach towels, we are glad to inform you that we have already ordered new and bigger ones, in order to meet all guests’ needs.

Please be so kind to get in touch with the contact details of Proteas Blu as we need to know exactly the issues that you had in regards to our staff. We really appreciated in order to improve our service standards.

Looking forward to your next visit and wishing you an enjoyable rest of summer.

Sea you soon!

Iliana Sigala
Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We just returned from a one-week stay at this beautiful hotel. It is the best hotel I have stayed at in Greece. The pool and the poolside are fantastic, the views are gorgeous, the landscaping is very pretty and the staff is helpful and friendly. We had breakfast at the hotel every morning and the buffé was delicious with plenty of choices. The rooms and the surroundings are very clean. The only complaint is regarding the bathroom which seemed a little outdated. If I would ever return to Samos, I would definitely stay at Proteas again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stellina650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Stellina650,

We would like to thank you for choosing Proteas Blu for your holiday destination in Samos.

It has been a pleasure reading your lovely comments in regards to your experience in our premises.

We are highly committed to provide to our guests a relaxing and unforgettable stay from the beginning of their holidays until the end so they leave from our Resort with the best impressions. Your feedback is much appreciated and valued as it confirms these efforts.

Since 2010 Proteas Blu has been under a major renovation. This year we created 8 beautiful Suites with their own pools. One of our major plans is the improvement of the bathrooms as we want to meet all of our guests’ expectations.

Thank you again for such a lovely review and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our Resort.

Have a happy rest of summer.

Sea you soon!

Iliana Sigala
Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I was in the restorant of the hotel and it was the best service I ever had in Samos. The waiter Simoneta is amazing woman, very kind and proffesionalist!!! Really made me great impression! Bravo for the good looking place and the best people working there!!!! I like also the bar with the vew of the beach. The barman in the hot time was with long shirt and smile. So I'm sure that if you choose the hotel will be really have the best service! Many Greetings to Simoneta!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumiana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear rumiana k,

First of all we would like to thank you for spending your precious holidays in our premises.

It is especially pleasing to read such a wonderful review in regards to your accommodation at Proteas Blu

We are grateful for your fondness of our waiter Simoneta and we will inform her for your lovely comments. It is lovely of you to mention that you have enjoyed our hospitality and our service standards. Be assured that the staff will be also informed of your kind comments.

Looking forward to your next visit and wishing you a happy rest of summer.

Sea you soon!

Iliana Sigala
Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Location and outside areas are stunning, the views are amazing. We upgraded to a bungalow sea view room, 1) they are NOT bungalows they are 2 story buildings, I tried to clear this up with the hotel before we arrived but was told we would not be disappointed (we were) for this standard of hotel the rooms were basic.

On arrival the rooms were clean but the standard of cleaning over our 2 week stay was poor. Breakfast was ok but the same everyday, they should try and introduce a 2 week cycle for those staying 2 weeks.

We went to the hotel beach everyday which is unheard of for me as I normally prefer the pool, the pool was amazing but we did not go there as we enjoyed the beach so much.

We tried the al la carte restaurant for my husbands birthday and they really pulled out the stops when it came to service and birthday cake but unfortunately the food just did not hit the mark! all presentation but lacked flavour.

Reception areas were very clean, reception staff were very hit and miss, either very good or boarder line rude.

Wifi became a bain of our life as the service was very up and down and the only help given was to log off and log back on again, as they had a two tier log in it was a pain in the !!!! as they advertise full wifi they should invest in providing a better service.

The Local town is a 6 euro cab ride or 45 minute brisk walk away, lots of really good places to eat and drink.

We hired a jeep for the day and it was well worth exploring the beautiful island of Samos on our own.

We looked at other hotels and to compare this hotel with any of them would be an insult, it is truly in a stunning location and would not need a lot to bring it up to a standard that would make it stand out compared to the rest.

Would we go back again - YES we would - but my expectations would be more realistic and not based on some of the inflated views shared on Tripadvisor, I always try to be balanced in my reviews

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoseJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear JoseJH,

Thank you for selecting Proteas Blu for your precious holidays in Samos.

Your review is much appreciated and we would like to thank you for your suggestions and comments.

We do our best in order to provide to all our guests a relaxing and enjoyable holiday in our premises and to leave our hotel with the best impressions.

Please be so kind to get in touch with the contact details of Proteas Blu as we need to know exactly the issues that you had regarding our staff. It is important for us as we always want to improve our service standards.

Once again thank your for your feedback and we will be glad to see you again some time in the future.

Have a nice rest of summer.

Sea you soon!

Iliana Sigala
Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pythagorion
1.9 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
370 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 37 in Pythagorion
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#10 of 37 in Pythagorion
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 20 in Kokkari
201 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
161 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
#2 of 20 in Kokkari
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proteas Blu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proteas Blu Resort

Property: Proteas Blu Resort
Address: Pountes | Samos I North Aegean, Pythagorion 831 03, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pythagorion
#2 Family Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Proteas Blu Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique environment to enjoy in magnificent scenery Laid back and experience stress free holidays. Proteas Blu Resort in a tranquility atmosphere shows character and inspires a sense of familiarity. After the warm welcome sense the friendliness of the people. Feel comfortable within "Proteas family" while taking part in numerous activities or by chilling and resting your mind. Accommodation facilities are wonderful and the food is superb. In PB you will have quality time...Actually the time will be all yours. Proteas Blu Resort is the most finest and luxurious beach front resort on the Island of Samos. Guest's accommodations looking to the sea are spread out on Mediterranean landscaped terraces situated on a naturally secluded bay having two private beaches. The unique architectural personality, the elegant accommodation and the tranquil setting offers majestic views of the blue marine seas surrounding the Aegean Islands and the Anatolian coasts. Together with the highly personalized and eminently friendly service satisfies the needs of the most distinguished traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Proteas Blu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proteas Blu Hotel Pythagorion
Hotel Proteas Bay
Proteas Blu Resort Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing