We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Proteas Blu Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mykali Hotel(Pythagorion)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Naftilos(Pythagorion)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kasteli Hotel(Pythagorion)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Lenox Hotel(Pythagorion)
View Hotel
Hotel Remezzo(Pythagorion)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
320
144
35
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
144
35
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachbeach barpanorama restaurantturkeymain buildinggolf buggiesmemorable staywater shoesrecharge your batteriesgala dinneroverlooking the seasteep hillgreek nightevery morningupgraded to a suitebuffet restaurantcomfortable sunbeds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Proteas Blu Resort, according to our driver, is the area's only 5 star hotel. They are not quite there,

We were welcomed with a refreshing fruit drink while our room was readied, and then we were taken to the sea-front villa by golf cart. (Be aware that many steps are between the pool/ocean and the main building.) Although we had reserved a "bungalow", we were upgraded to a "villa", including 3 rooms and a private pool. The villa was very clean and comfortably furnished in a contemporary style. Sparkling rose' and a plate of sweets waited for our arrival. The scenery was spectacular!

The pool area is attractive and furnished with a variety of lounges and sun beds. I wish there were more seats in the shade; not everyone wants to sun bathe. The beach provides lounge chairs and umbrellas, and of course, both areas have a bar nearby for drinks and food.

My only complaint is with the food - it is definitely not 5 star. Breakfast is a buffet; most people should be able to find something to start the day, but except for the yogurt and honey, nothing was exceptional. Our only lunch was salads by the pool and they were over-dressed. We had one dinner at Pi Squared Theory: the food was not the "traditional" Greek food found at the local tavernas; we had the lamb. It was good but not great. The wine, a Greek syrah was quite good and our server was wonderful. My biggest problem was the theme night. It was the only dinner at the resort that night, and it was a seafood theme night. We sat for 10 minutes before anyone took our beverage order, and that was only after flagging down a server. The food , well... Had it been served at a college cafeteria 40 years ago, we would have been over the moon; however, we found it tremendously disappointing, loaded up on dessert and fresh fruit, and left after 30 minutes or so.

If Proteas Blu wants to be a true 5 star hotel, it needs to up it's culinary game.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Tracy M,

Thank you for choosing Proteas Blu to be a part of your wonderful holidays in the island and for your nice feedback.

Your review is overall very important as we see that the hotel met your expectations.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a memorable experience in regards to the free upgrade to a Blu Suite with private pool as our aim was to make your holidays unforgettable.

Concerning the food based on the comments that you write, we still have many procedures to do in order to offer you a unique culinary experience. We are planning to change the policy of our restaurants and we would like to inform you that after your review we have already created in the dinner a corner with traditional flavors for the lovers of Greek cuisine.

We will be glad to welcome you again in our premises next year as you will have the opportunity to see our changes and our new surprises!

Sea you soon!

Iliana Sigala
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel was wonderful with an amazing view. Ouiet, hotel and friendly and helpful staff. A hotel to recomend for celebrating birthdays, honeymoons and wedding days. We were greeted by a welcome committe at the airport with flowers, a drink and a friendly smile. The best of all, no one was under 20. And an extra plus to the great staff at Adam and Eve Spa. Beautiful surrondings, nice pool area and extra plus for getting new pool/beach towels. Going to miss this place and will come back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pearl1528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Pearl528,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for this wonderful review in regards to your holidays at Proteas Blu!

We do our best in order to provide to our guests an excellent attention and service standards as we want to leave our premises with the best impressions and memories. We are glad that your review confirmed our efforts.

It was lovely of you to mention about the welcome committee at the airport. We here at Proteas Blu would like all of our guests to feel our hospitality and friendliness from the first moment.

Thank you for spending your lovely holidays in our Resort and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

We wish you a pleasant rest of summer.

Sea you soon!

Iliana Sigala
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

this year was the second time we returned to this hotel. this in itself is a recommendation, because I have only done this once before. the Proteas Blu is wonderful. When we arrived there was a welcome drink for us and then we were taken to our room in 'the village'. There was champagne on ice and some delicious nibbles for us and the most beautiful sea view from our balcony to look at while we sipped! Our room was clean, light, spacious and tastefully decorated. I can also recommend the spa. I had a very relaxing massage during my stay. I stayed bed and breakfast. The breakfast was really varied. You had lots of things to choose from and this was perfect for my husband and I as I like continental breakfast and he enjoys his cooked breakfast. we ate in the restaurant a few times for dinner and that was excellent too. It is buffet style and all delicious. Our waiter 'Costas' didn't just serve drinks, he was lovely to talk to too. We had one special night in the hotel where we ate in the 'Thala Sea' (hope I've got that right!) It is a tiny open air restaurant set in a sail boat, suspended above the sea. You have to walk the gangplank to get to it! Honestly I enjoyed the experience so much! Our waitress Simonetta was so lovely and the food was out of this world!!!!!!!!!!!!! Highly recommended for a really relaxing holiday.
Melanie and James Farnes England

Room Tip: Upgrade to the village for a quiet room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Farnes,

We would like to thank you for choosing for your second time Proteas Blu to spend your holidays in Samos.

It is pleasing to read such wonderful comments regarding your accommodation in our premises and it was lovely of you to mention that you recommend our Resort for a relaxing holiday.

We really appreciate your reference to our Θαλαsea Fish and Oyster restaurant and we are glad that we offered you a unique experience and a ‘journey’ of flavors.

Be assured that our staff will be informed of your kind comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Resort and we wish a nice rest of summer.

Sea you soon!

Iliana Sigala
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The location of this hotel is amazing with an amazing view from the hotel over the ocean and to Turkey on the other side. Quiet hotel made it perfect for one week of needed relaxation and the pool & beach was very nice too.

Be warned that you should bring your own beach-towels, they have some big pink towels but it does seem that they only have a few of these, so if you are a little bit late you are given some very small blue towels wich does not help very much.

I do have to point out something, and it was some of the people working there. I found some of the people working in the reception, pool-restaurant and beach-bar extremly rude and not very friendly who did not seem to enjoy their work. A little smile is enough..



I also think that the breakfast lacked some alternatives, but that might be that I`m a bit picky.

But, I am 100% sure that I`m going to stay at the very same hotel if I go back to Samos, hopefully with a friendlier crew working there the next time.

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Otto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Otto L,

Thank you for selecting our Resort for your precious holidays in the island and for your lovely comments in regards to your accommodation in Proteas Blu.

We are more than grateful to read such a kind review, as our aim is to offer to our guests a memorable experience.

Regarding the beach towels, we are glad to inform you that we have already ordered new and bigger ones, in order to meet all guests’ needs.

Please be so kind to get in touch with the contact details of Proteas Blu as we need to know exactly the issues that you had in regards to our staff. We really appreciated in order to improve our service standards.

Looking forward to your next visit and wishing you an enjoyable rest of summer.

Sea you soon!

Iliana Sigala
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We just returned from a one-week stay at this beautiful hotel. It is the best hotel I have stayed at in Greece. The pool and the poolside are fantastic, the views are gorgeous, the landscaping is very pretty and the staff is helpful and friendly. We had breakfast at the hotel every morning and the buffé was delicious with plenty of choices. The rooms and the surroundings are very clean. The only complaint is regarding the bathroom which seemed a little outdated. If I would ever return to Samos, I would definitely stay at Proteas again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stellina650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBResort, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Stellina650,

We would like to thank you for choosing Proteas Blu for your holiday destination in Samos.

It has been a pleasure reading your lovely comments in regards to your experience in our premises.

We are highly committed to provide to our guests a relaxing and unforgettable stay from the beginning of their holidays until the end so they leave from our Resort with the best impressions. Your feedback is much appreciated and valued as it confirms these efforts.

Since 2010 Proteas Blu has been under a major renovation. This year we created 8 beautiful Suites with their own pools. One of our major plans is the improvement of the bathrooms as we want to meet all of our guests’ expectations.

Thank you again for such a lovely review and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our Resort.

Have a happy rest of summer.

Sea you soon!

Iliana Sigala
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews