We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place”
Review of Samos Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samos Sun Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Pythagorion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2008

Just back from 2 weeks at the Samos sun hotel,and what a nice place.Its a 5 minute taxi from the airport cost 6euro. The hotel has free air con(essential) and was always very clean,sheets towels changed regular.I booked via a website and was the only British people onsite during my fortnight. No Uk travel companies feature this hotel although it does have Scandanavian and german guests. The pool is one of the largest in samos.Its a 10 minute walk form the nearest beach(Blue flag) and about a 20 minute walk along a flat road into Pythogorian centre,which if you want a taxi back at night costs 3.5euro. Samos town can be reached via taxi or local bus which took about 20 mins. We took a flying dolphin to Patmos which takes an hour it was a lovely island full of history ideal for a day trip,the only downside was 75%of passengers had seasickness, if your not a good traveller avoid this trip.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mikewoolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2008

The room is clean and service OK .
It's close to airport but not too noisy (no flights in the night and the afternoon. It takes 25 minutes walking to join the center with
the port. It's full of shops, bars and restaurants among which our number 1 is "APOLLONIA". We advise to lovers of very good greek cooking to have a stop there.
The breakfast has very few diversity.
Sometimes, in the afternoon, the employee of the reception is in the swimming pool. There are only 2 restaurants around the hotel (200 metres). One does NOT accept credit cards
That's OK if you go there only to sleep and have a shower, and if you are out all the day, just like we did.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_light_energizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2008

The hotel is beautiful, with most rooms having direct access from the lovely gardens or the pool.

However, I stayed in mid May and many of the promised features were unavailable. The stunning pool bar and the elegant indoor bar were not open.The reataurant was closed, un the air conditioning was only available in June/July. I understood there would be no TV but an in-room music player was promised. This was not in use in May, so my only entertainment was courtesy of Boeing as their planes took off from the adjacent airport ( not a problem since there are very few flights)

The steep incline from the road to the main hotel buildings is quite a struggle. Also be warned, the hotel only provides a hand towel - no bath sheets.

On the possitive side the cleaning was thorough and the hotel, grounds, and pool immaculate. If you could locate a receptionist (which I could not on my arrival) the service is both courteous and efficient. The situation can not be falted a the walk to Pythagoria is delightful, and the town quite magical.

Half way between the hotel and the town is the Pegusus Bar. I ate and drank there at least once a day! Leftiris and his family are fabulous and the food and drinks are very inexpensive. A must.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank keithsramblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

Just back from 2 weeks staying at the Samos Sun. The hotel is a very short taxi ride from the airport however with no night flights aircraft noise is no problem.The rooms have maid service on a daily basis and are kept extremely clean.Towels and sheets are changed every two days.The pool area is large with plenty of sunbeds and a nice pool bar open from 10.am till late.There is a T.V. lounge,games room and gym.A nice place to stay.
As for Samos,a really nice island and very easy to see either by car or local bus.Samos Town is a 15 minute bus ride for less the 2 Euro.The local pebble beach is a 10 minute walk and it is a 20 minute walk into the lovely harbour at Pythagoria.
Pythagoria itself has many tavernas,bars and restaurants to chose from around the harbour where people watching is the order of the day.However my favourite restaurant was not on the harbour front.The Palladion where the owner George and his staff provide excellent service and really great food can be found in the same street as the taxi rank.Try it,you will go a second time.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SAINTJOHNSt_helens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2005

I have just returned from a week in Samos, we stayed at the Samos Sun Hotel on a self catering basis, the apartments are very nice and clean with free air conditioning, kitchenette and lovely sea view balcony, it has a lovely pool area with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas, there is a bit of a hill up to the rooms but we didn’t find this a struggle, there is a very good mini market right next door to the hotel which is very handy and you can use the facilities of the illios hotel aswell which has a restaurant if you don’t want to go into Pythorgorion.

The airport can be seen from the balcony but there are so few flights to and from the airport that it was never a problem and it was very handy to get a taxi for 6 euros to the Samos Sun Apartments which took us straight to the reception in about 5 minutes.

Its about a 20 minute walk into Pythorgorion which has a lovely harbour lined with a few restaurants and bars, the sunshine bar was excellent with really friendly staff and good cocktails, all in all its a lovely place for a relaxing week in the sun.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank axp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2005

I stayed at the Samos Sun Hotel for a week at the end of June. The hotel itself was nice enough and the pool area was gorgeous. The main problem however was that neither the restaurants nor the bars were open. The pool bar opened during the day but didn't serve food. In the evening there was no choice but to leave the hotel as everthing was shut.

This hotel is definitely not for the unfit as there are a huge amount of steps to get to the rooms, especially if you have selected a room with a sea view. The hotel itself is set up a hill and there is no assistance with your luggage on arrival or departure. In fact they drop you and collect you from the hotel at the bottom of the hill, which incidently does serve food so you may as well stay there!!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank suecr0ss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank H3589WRmassimod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pythagorion
0.5 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 37 in Pythagorion
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anthis Studios
Anthis Studios
#4 of 37 in Pythagorion
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Penelope
Penelope
#16 of 37 in Pythagorion
18 reviews
14.5 mi away
Samaina Inn Hotel
Samaina Inn Hotel
#1 of 8 in Karlovasi
267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Polyxeni
Hotel Polyxeni
#8 of 37 in Pythagorion
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samos Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samos Sun Hotel

Address: Pythagorion 83103, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Pythagorion
Price Range: £91 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samos Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Samos Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samos Sun Hotel Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing