We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love the staff at this Hotel......will always come back....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Polyxeni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Polyxeni
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Erin, Ontario, canada
1 review
“love the staff at this Hotel......will always come back....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

This Hotel is situated on the Port of Pythagoreio....millionaire yachts, old fishing boats, bars and cafe's are along the boardwalk......with people walking and no cars....
It is busy and always something to watch...I..personally love dancing right in front of the boats and diving in the water afterwards....
The hotel staff is courteous and friendly and took really good care of me after drinking the best Moquitoes I have ever had.....mint growing in a pot right in front of me....the receptionist Freedom....treated me as family the minute I walked into this hotel...and the waiters at the bar....gentleman....polite..and served me wonderfully...rooms are small, but....big enough to sleep and shower...what else do you need???? Your on an island that has the clearest, transparent, turquoise blue water...night life and restaurants that serve food just like Mom use to cook...no one stays in their room!!!! And no one sleeps either...only on the beach...in the late afternoon....never at night....you will miss the sunrise and the dancing!!!!!...The Hotel Polyxeni is perfectly situated between all of these things....walking distance to the beach......liitle restaurants tucked in narrow streets...and day trip boats docked right in front of the hotel....and shop until you drop..LOVE IT!!!!..

Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank PopieBetsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Pythagorion was the step-off point for a week of sailing through the nearby islands. On arrival, hotel staff although polite, refused payment by credit card, insisting on cash. Our room was on the first floor and a broken lift meant hauling luggage up a steep and narrow staircase.
With respect to rooms, if you choose to stay in this hotel you MUST INSIST on rooms numbered 201 - 204. These are the only rooms that actually overlook the harbour.
The room was basic but comfortable, clean neat and tidy (we had room 202), and the balcony provided excellent views of the entire harbour.
A small note in favour of this hotel was the excellent double glazing of the windos/doors to the balcony. After working out how to close them properly (there is a trick to this for those not familiar with this type of window) the exclusion of noise and loud music from below was almost 100%.
Our room cost included breakfast that was ample but basic. For food there is a plethora of choice along the waterfront if you are happy with "tourist" quality dining. There are many small restaurants and cafes hiding in the back streets within short walks of the hotel and these are worth finding for finer dining.
Overall, this place is basic, but clean and comfortable and if you can get a room with a balcony overlooking the harbour, the location is hard to beat.

Room Tip: insist on rooms 201 to 204 only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeanFlanigan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pythagorion hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Having planned to stay in Samos for 24 hours before a ferry to Patmos, we decided to choose a cheaper hotel and were too rushed to read the other reviews of this hotel...what a mistake. Our experience was terrible. The rooms are dirty, with cockroaches and ant infestations. The staff were rude and apathetic and it was clearly a major hassle to accommodate any of our requests or questions. They also did not know anything about island information - where to buy ferry tickets, where the nearest beach was... We were overcharged 10Euros for some sort of bogus credit card issue - which has not come up in our whole trip, and did away with our cheap hotel idea. The wireless internet will only work in the loud lobby. When we asked about access upstairs in our room we were told, "Well, it worked yesterday, so I don't know." (eye rolling and loud sighing from staff) The music from the downstairs bar is so loud that the windows reverberated throughout the night until about 3am and the walls are so thin between each of the rooms that all manner of things can be heard throughout the night and early morning. As we left, the rude staff member even wanted to check that we hadn't taken anybody else's bags by mistake...

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mavournein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
187 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

So we read a lovely Tripadvisor review and thought that proximity to the Patmos morning boat sounded great and we'd give Polyxeni a chance. Utterly jet lagged from our NYC-Athens-Samos trip we walked in and a couple walking out said "good luck". Utterly tired out we thought "whatever".

So the room on the waterfront was simple but quite nice. The hotel staff was courteous and the harbor view lovely. Had a great dinner in town at Elia and crashed out... so we thought.

Around 11pm our room became the nexus of a sound wave booming, cresting and indeed crashing from the floor below as the disco music started to scream out at us. We were so tired that we laughed as the room shook. My favorite at 2am was "Night in white satin" but the 3:30am "Beat it" was even better. In the morning I realized that we never heard "Brown eyed girl" a profound disappointment.

The Polyxeni staff did serve a nice breakfast and we caught the morning boat to Patmos but sleep we did not a wink.

As the outgoing guests said to us: "good luck".

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idefixaegean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

We stayed at the Polyxeni Hotel when last-minute ferry schedule changes put us on Samos for one unexpected night.

The hotel is located right on the harbor-front , very convenient to the ferry dock, where we were leaving from early the next morning. The room was clean and basic, with air conditioning and comfortable beds. The hotel has an elevator and provides a substantial breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful; one girl, when learning we were headed for Patmos, made a list of good restaurants for us (she worked there as a tour guide the previous year).

The harbor at Pythagorio was a surprise, as it was very touristy. There's a whole stretch of cafes & bars where you can sit outside and watch the yachts and day-trip-boats returning. The side streets off the harbor were reminiscent of Plaka in Athens, with lots of shops of all sorts.

This hotel would probably not be a relaxing place for a long stay, but it was great (and convenient) for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pythagorion hotels
0.8 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Naftilos
Hotel Naftilos
#6 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Labito Hotel
Labito Hotel
#27 of 38 in Pythagorion
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kouros Bay Hotel
Kouros Bay Hotel
#11 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samaina Hotel
Samaina Hotel
#9 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Polyxeni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polyxeni

Property: Hotel Polyxeni
Address: Pythagorion, Pythagorion 831 03, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Polyxeni 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Polyxeni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Polyxeni Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing