We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everthing We Needed!!”
Review of Hotel Polyxeni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Polyxeni
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Pythagorion
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We had done prior research on Pythogorian accomodations, and chose this one when we arrived for proximity, view and price. We arrived the first of May, and it was literally just opening. I was shown a couple of rooms, garden view in the back and a harbour view in the front. I was told the rooms were much quiter in the back, but opted for the larger front room with a balcony and fabulous view. We stayed three nights and could not have been happier! Yes, the rooms are basic, but very clean and comfortable. There are plenty of other accomodations in the area, but be prepared to walk steep hills and pay a lot more. Staff was super friendly and could not be more accomodating. The balcony was on the small side, but enough room for two people to sit and enjoy the sights and sounds of this lovely port setting. All the bars shops and restaurants are in walking distance. One has to realize these rooms are in close proximity to the bars and nightlife on the Pythogorian "strip" so rather than complain, it would be easier to walk the steep hill and pay a lot more for a quieter room! Again, we were offered quieter rooms in the back, and savvy travellers need only to look at the immediate surroundings (bars/discos) and determine what they are getting into! For a great price, fabulous view (from teh front rooms) and OUTSTANDING location, Hotel Polyxeni cannot be beat!!! Would definately recommend and will definately be staying agaion next visit to this lovely location of Samos!!

Room Tip: Choose front rooms for view, garden view for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NSGALBUTTEMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

We arrived by ferry and taxi from Kusadaci Turkey. The Polyxeni Hotel is located on the water front in the charming village of Pythagorion on Samos Island. The front of the hotel is attractive but when we entered the lobby it area appeared to not be open, tables piled up, etc. The owner or manager, Yani, greeted us and was very friendly. He showed us to our rooms. The rooms were clean and all facilities were in working order. The view out the garden window was of pipes on the adjacent building. The room was very stark and utilitarian. In sumation this hotel could be a real gem. It needs some TLC, decorations and be made to appear ready for customers.

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKissinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Great location for me that was leaving with the Flying Dolphin early next day.
Elevator broken. Nice staff helped with my heavy suitcase thou.
Quite big room. Scruffy. Funny smell. Lots of dead moskitos in the bed and in the bathroom. Some living ants.
No television! It did not say in the advertising so its nothing to complain about. I just took it for granted.... Could not find any internet connection. Since it was in the middle of the night I gave up and tried to sleep instead.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Susanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Turned up to this hotel upon arrival in Pythagorion as we needed somewhere to stay for the night. The lady at the reception was friendly enough and showed us a couple of rooms that were available. There is a lift but it was out of order when we stayed. I believe all rooms are on the first floor so there is not far to carry bags up.
The location can't really be faulted - it is above one of the many bars and restaurants that stretch along the harbour. Rooms at the back were cheaper but very much on the small side, but rooms facing the harbour were a decent size and with balcony.

She did warn us that the sea-facing rooms would be noisy in the evenings and night due to music from the bar below and the other premises along the harbour, but said that with the terrace windows shut and the air-conditioning on we probably wouldn't hear much. This turned out to be the case, and we had no trouble sleeping through with the doors closed and the a/c giving off only a little hum noise.

Facilities in the room are somewhat limited given the price - no TV or tea/coffee facilities etc, and the bed wasn't the most comfortable, but it was good enough. A lack of safe in the room was a bit annoying - reception did offer safe deposit boxes behind their desk but didn't want to store any of our valuables in them as they had lost/misplaced some of the spare keys to them... frustrating, possible careless but understandable. Bathroom decor was a rather 70s green all round which isn't to everyone's taste, although everything was in working order.

Breakfast was a bit on the sparse side and staff would need a bit of prompting to bring out more plates, bread etc.

Overall an average stay for the price - suspect you can get better for your money if you look at some places a bit away from the harbour strip.

Room Tip: Rooms facing out onto the harbour are larger but potentially noisier - these are rooms 201-204
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank heycos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hotel is located at the harbor. Music is quite loud at the bar, but if you want more quiet room, ask for the garden view. There is not very much garden to see, but at least it's quiet.

The breakfast is very basic: toasted bread, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, yogurt, honey, mysli, cornflakes, tea, coffee, juice. There are many bars and markets next to the hotel to buy breakfast if this is not enough.

Air condition was free and worked fine. Toilet is clean, but small and the rooms are also quite small. The fridge was big enough for drinks and snacks for 2 people.

Free wireless internet works at the lobby and the bar. No signal in the room.

There were a larger group of us living at the hotel, so we had the opportunity to see 3 different rooms, all with garden view. This is what we had:
- First floor room on the right side of the corridor had poor view, but large balcony.
- Second floor room on the right side of the corridor had small balcony, but more trees around and a bit better view.
- First floor room on the left side of the corridor had better view and large balcony. Some of the balconies were separated only with a small fence, so it can be annoying if you have some stranger living next door. Some had bigger glass walls between the two balconies.

So, they have different sizes of rooms (1 to 3 persons), balconies and different views. The things above is just what we saw and experienced. You can always ask and then see what you get :-)

Room Tip: Garden view is more quiet. Rooms at the left side of the corridor have better views. Second floor ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malla73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This Hotel is situated on the Port of Pythagoreio....millionaire yachts, old fishing boats, bars and cafe's are along the boardwalk......with people walking and no cars....
It is busy and always something to watch...I..personally love dancing right in front of the boats and diving in the water afterwards....
The hotel staff is courteous and friendly and took really good care of me after drinking the best Moquitoes I have ever had.....mint growing in a pot right in front of me....the receptionist Freedom....treated me as family the minute I walked into this hotel...and the waiters at the bar....gentleman....polite..and served me wonderfully...rooms are small, but....big enough to sleep and shower...what else do you need???? Your on an island that has the clearest, transparent, turquoise blue water...night life and restaurants that serve food just like Mom use to cook...no one stays in their room!!!! And no one sleeps either...only on the beach...in the late afternoon....never at night....you will miss the sunrise and the dancing!!!!!...The Hotel Polyxeni is perfectly situated between all of these things....walking distance to the beach......liitle restaurants tucked in narrow streets...and day trip boats docked right in front of the hotel....and shop until you drop..LOVE IT!!!!..

Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
Thank PopieBetsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Pythagorion was the step-off point for a week of sailing through the nearby islands. On arrival, hotel staff although polite, refused payment by credit card, insisting on cash. Our room was on the first floor and a broken lift meant hauling luggage up a steep and narrow staircase.
With respect to rooms, if you choose to stay in this hotel you MUST INSIST on rooms numbered 201 - 204. These are the only rooms that actually overlook the harbour.
The room was basic but comfortable, clean neat and tidy (we had room 202), and the balcony provided excellent views of the entire harbour.
A small note in favour of this hotel was the excellent double glazing of the windos/doors to the balcony. After working out how to close them properly (there is a trick to this for those not familiar with this type of window) the exclusion of noise and loud music from below was almost 100%.
Our room cost included breakfast that was ample but basic. For food there is a plethora of choice along the waterfront if you are happy with "tourist" quality dining. There are many small restaurants and cafes hiding in the back streets within short walks of the hotel and these are worth finding for finer dining.
Overall, this place is basic, but clean and comfortable and if you can get a room with a balcony overlooking the harbour, the location is hard to beat.

Room Tip: insist on rooms 201 to 204 only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeanFlanigan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pythagorion hotels
0.9 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pythais Hotel
Pythais Hotel
#23 of 37 in Pythagorion
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samaina Hotel
Samaina Hotel
#8 of 37 in Pythagorion
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Evelin Hotel
Evelin Hotel
#6 of 37 in Pythagorion
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Remezzo
Hotel Remezzo
#11 of 37 in Pythagorion
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Proteas Blu Resort
Proteas Blu Resort
#2 of 37 in Pythagorion
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Polyxeni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polyxeni

Address: Pythagorion, Pythagorion 831 03, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Pythagorion
Price Range: £50 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Polyxeni 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Polyxeni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Polyxeni Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing