We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top place,top people, top notch!”
Review of Studios Zafira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Studios Zafira
Certificate of Excellence
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top place,top people, top notch!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

It has all been said in previous reviews, so all I can do is endorse the sentiments that have been expressed. We had a wonderful 2 weeks thanks to Dimitris, Zafi and their staff. The place was spotless, welcoming and well run. Nothing was too much trouble and all our party (6) enjoyed it greatly (especially the two young grandchildren).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    37
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
108
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Im going to zafira on 14th of this month aug. After reading these reviews I can not wait to get there. Will review again on our return. It sounds so perfect.the ideal place for me and my partner to spend 2 weeks. Thanks to every who has reviewed the zafira studios.:)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just completed a week here with my husband and 2 girls (13 and 11). Lovely relaxing break, so quiet. Rooms plenty big enough, although the girls did find the sofa beds hard to sleep on. Had a room overlooking the olive groves at the back of the hotel. No problem getting sunbeds around the pool even though some people were intent on bagging them at a ridiculous time in the morning. The wifi round the pool was a godsend for the girls. The meze and bbq nights were definitely value for money and worth booking. We didn't bother with breakfast, found it cheaper to buy our own from the supermarket down the road. Hired a car for 2 days, and saw most of the island in that time. Already looking to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeySarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We returned from a fabulous family holiday four weeks ago. We stayed at the zafira studios at schala richoni on the island of thassos in the North Aegean Sea. Our holiday was booked through thomson holidays. Our flights were punctual and service on board was excellent which is not always the case on package holidays. We had to fly to mainland Greece then bus to ferry port for our crossing to the island of lthassos. Our luggage was taken care of from the airport to our destination , brilliant. Therefore our transfer by ferry was like a boat trip on our first day. Crossing was beautiful especially with a nice comfortable bar to start our holiday off properly. We boarde the same coaches for our continued trip of a further twenty minutes or so to as close as we could get to zafira studios, we were met by one of the owners dimitris in his truck . He took all our luggage and we followed on foot for a couple of hundred yards to our home for the next two weeks, not knowing what to expect. As we arrived our eyes lit up as we saw the lovely gardens and studios that we were about to be checked into. We were invited to reception , checked in, shown to our accomodation, unpacked , shorts and flip flops and of course perched on our barstools all within a few minutes. It's the first time we have been to this side of the island but it certainly won't be our last. Already talking about going back. The apartments were great , we could sit on front or back balcony, in or out of the sun. Pool bar great, pool spotlessly clean, food of a good standard though we ate out at a different taverna each night. There's approximately half a dozen each way. I'm not going to recommend any in particular because we used them all and found them all to be of good value. We are lovers of Greek food so try it , they love you trying different things. On average you will get starters, main course, carafe of wine, for 12to15 euros each. Don't order sweet cos they will give it you and it's always nice. Maybe an ouzo too. The zafira is ten mins from bus stop, ten seconds to beach ? Honestly . Turn right on beach to small harbour and few tavernas. Turn left on beach for one lea surely hours walk to schala prinou. You must have gyros and retsina at andros opposite ferry terminal. Walk back or get cab at 7euros . Only cos we were bit funny after heat or retsina. Bus 1.6 euros. All in all great , great , family holiday. 7 adults,2 children,. Thanks to yannis also barman extraordinaire. See you soon. You can and will understand why people keep returning here. Loved it. Enjoy !

Room Tip: Olive grove studios maybe quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyl0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

These appartments are excellent, being large, for Greece, with a balcony and screened shower. The beds are comfortable and there is plenty of storage space in the rooms. The safe costs 2 euros a day-we'll worth the peace of mind, and air conditioning is 6 euros a day-expensive and not really needed. Cleaning is daily and towels and bedding were changed once, mid week.
The owners and staff are very helpful and friendly. The pool bar is good and you can set up a tab and pay off with a credit card every few days.
The pool area was very crowded with sun beds right next to the tables at the bar. It was also very shaded so not ideal for those wanting to get a tan. The beach was 50 metres away and the sunbeds belonging to the Zafira were free to use. We ended up using the beach due to the crowding of furniture round the pool, and, not being a beach lover was a bit disappointed with this, as it was, in part, photos of the pool area that made us book the Zafira.
You do need to walk a short distance to the studios as the coach is too big for the narrow lanes. Dimitris however collects your luggage in his truck and takes the luggage to the pick up point on departure day.
This is an example of how quiet and peaceful this area is, with no large vehicles able to drive past the studios. At night, sitting on the balcony, all you can hear are the crickets.
There a a few tavernas in easy walking distance, Gekas (the best), Sakis, Gorgona, and Olga. The only one that we found poor was Kostas.
If you want peace and quiet, like an uncrowded beach and a few tavernas for your evening meal, this place is ideal.

Room Tip: Rooms in block 1 have balconies facing the pool, block 2 faces the olive groves
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Visaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just returned from a two week stay at the Zafira and what lovely, clean , friendly and well appointed Studios they are. We had a studio overlooking the back with a nice big balcony which was completely private with a view over an olive grove. It did tend to get very hot on the balcony though in the afternoon/early evening with the sun shining right down on you! Still you dont fly to Greece to sit on a balcony all day.The room itself was well appointed with the usual ie kettle/toaster/fridge/hob unit/TV etc and unusually for this rating of studios had loads of drawers and wardrobe hanging space. There was also aircon at 6 euros per day. We didn't use it but its there if you want it. The twin beds were large and very comfortable and we didn't have to ask for extra pillows as they both had two on. Pool area and pool bar were lovely and the staff as like most Greek people were very friendly and polite. If you can manage the 40 yard walk to the beach you will find lots of free sunbeds/umbrellas (perhaps too many as only a small beach and they were a bit too close to one another for our liking).I disagree with the previous reviewer re the state of the sea. There is a lot of grass growing in the shallow water but "dark and merky(?)" nah never. Its as clean and clear as most Greek beaches.If you are feeling energetic try the walk along the beach to the nearest town Skala Prinou.Took us about an hour doing a gentle stroll with the sea on one side and mostly olive groves on the other, fantastic, and there are plently of watering holes at the other end to re-energise yourselves for the stroll back! The restaurants in Skala Rachoni are few and far between but we only used three and by far the best in our opinion was the closest one "gekos". There are a couple on Skala Rachoni beach which we thought were ok but we thought the sunsets were better, simply fantastic! The meze night and barbeque night at the Zafira were excellent and great value for money. There is usually a quiz night after the meals also. We hired a car for a week, the roads (or should I say road as there is really only one road which goes all around the island) are good and Thassos is such a lovely and green island that it just has to be explored with lots of great beaches some busy and others very quiet. All in all a terrific relaxing holiday at a terrific laid back location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westbobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel for a self catering holiday. The rooms are very well equipped with all you would need. Very spacious apartment with a lovely balcony overlooking the olive groves. Air con fitted but at an extra charge so didn't use but it's there if you need it.

There is a hotel beach with free sunbeds and parasols which is a nice touch however the beach itself is not good. It's full of seaweed and rubbish and the water is dark and merky. There is loads of other beaches some only a 5 minute drive away so personally we used them.

The pool area is lovely though, with again free sunbeds to lounge about on during the day. The pool is lovely and clean there is also a nice little whirl pool.

The bar serves lovely drinks. Good local beer, spirits, teas and coffee's, lovely milkshakes. They also put beer glasses in the freezer so it keeps your beer cold.

Personally I would say keep clear of the bar food, as the burger I had was frozen and poor quality. We didn't try any of thier speciality nights but they smelt good.

The staff at the hotel are lovely although as self catering we didn't really have much dealing with them.

I would recommend for for couples wanting a very quiet relaxing break.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Rachoniou
11.4 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
6.3 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#8 of 89 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.1 mi away
Louloudis Hotel
Louloudis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pachis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#18 of 89 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#2 of 10 in Limenaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#3 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios Zafira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios Zafira

Property: Studios Zafira
Address: Skala Rachoni | Thassos, Skala Rachoniou 640 10, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Skala Rachoniou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Skala Rachoniou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Studios Zafira 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Studios Zafira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studios Zafira Hotel
Studios Zafira Greece/Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing