We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Studios Zafira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Studios Zafira
Certificate of Excellence
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the Zafira Studios as a family from the 27th July to the 10th August and this was one of the best two weeks we have spent on holiday in Greece. All of the many excellent reviews are correct and we must endorse them as the studios are very clean and well looked after. As is the rest of the hotel, bar and pool area. The staff are very welcoming, helpful and can not do enough for you. The main details of Zafira have been covered many times - but we must say a big thank you to Dimitri, Yiannis, Zaffi and the other staff for helping make our holiday ! They all work so hard.
Whlst out an about, we did try the local restaurant's and our favourite's were Vicky's & Gorgonas, where we ate 3 times at each. At Vicky's I tried the Prawn Sagnaki (another reviewer had advised that this is not on the menu, but ask for it). This was fantastic and I was not disappointed. The stuffed tomatoes, tatziki and greek salad were also very good. At Gorgona's, I tried the swordfish and also the lavraki, which was very good. Sakis was ok, but we felt the food, service and staff were better at Gorgona (next door), so only went to Sakis once. I didn't like Olga's Place as most of the food was flooded with olive oil. That said, one of my daughters did have a pizza, which was good. We also didn't think much of Licos on the beach as we only went there once for lunch.
Must not forget to mention the Meze night at the hotel - The food was fantastic and good value. Our daughters loved the opportunity of trying all sorts of different dishes and didn't go hungry.
I must also mention Thomson's. From the moment we got on the plane, things went smoothly and were great (with the pilot talking to our girls just before take off), to the way in which the transfers & ferries were dealt with by the reps, took away any worries and stress we may have had. Laura the rep at Zafira was also very helpful & informative and helped with our car hire. The only real issue we had was upon return - the dreaded M25 !
Most definitely recommend this property !!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carpy_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    38
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
75
115
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sussex Uk
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at The Zafira for 2 weeks and can honestly say it was the most relaxing holiday I've ever had.
Well lets start at the airport - no hassle at all through customs and baggage handling onto the bus, short ride to the ferry and off the bus and a short wait to board 40 minute ferry ride, back on the bus and a short ride to Zafira. landed 12:45 and arrived at Zafira at 3:30. I spent longer getting through passport control in Egypt than it took for the whole transfer.
Dropped off down the road from Zafira but Dimitris picks up your luggage and you have a 2 minute stroll up the lane.
Rooms - If you want wifi in your rooms email Dimitris beforehand and he may be able to sort you out depending on how busy they are. The rooms near the pool get the wifi in the rooms. I would say take those plugin mozzy repellents as I believe mozzies get in the rooms. Although I didn't see many 1 night I got 17 bites on 1 foot and 12 on the other but only on my feet which were probably sticking out the bed.
Also with regards the rooms, our room was on the end facing the day sun and got extremely hot over the day. We lasted 11 days without aircon but finally gave in for the last 3 days. My sons rooms were inside and nowhere near as hot.
The rooms like the hotel are absolutely spotless. Showers are temperamental especially in the morning but no big problem.
Pool is not the biggest but adequate for us and the sea is only 20 yards away. Sunbeds were in slightly short supply, due sometimes to some 'block bookings' but this didn't bother me as the sun beds on the beach were always available and you used to get a nice breeze there. They do have an emergency supply if needed.
Car Hire - Used Europcar ( Thomsons partner ) 4 days for 153 euros ( buy 3 get 1 free ). Fully insured and no excess ( which was handy for me ) except if you damage to underside or tyres. This is to stop people going up into the mountains. You can split your allotment as well. We had 2 days in first week and 2 in second week. Went to several beaches and the old village. Golden beach was loverly but very busy. The old village ( can't remember what it was called ) was well forgettable except it did have a nice bakery. Pachis Beach though is not far behind Golden beach in terms of niceness and only 3 miles up the road from the hotel. And there are a couple of nice restaurants at Pachis. Drove into Thassos one night for a meal ( Thassios restaurant which was probably the best food we ate all week ) but it was extremely busy due to a Turkish holiday and I don't recommend it if you are a nervous driver as streets are narrow with no pavements and lots of people. Also tried to find the amphitheater and after walking up a really steep hill/mountain for an eternity gave up. This excursion single handedly meant I didn't go back home overweight.

Cash points - 1 in skala prinou which is about a 5 minute drive or an hour walk.

Wild life - Quite a few wasps although you get used to them.
Mozzies - see earlier comment
Sea Urchins - quite a few in the sea which you will see if you snorkel so i would recommend beach shoes which you can buy from the local shops.

Local shops - 1 local shop - turn left from rear of hotel and 5 minute walk. There are also other shops slightly further on, on the main road as is the pharmacy.
Supermarket - Turn right out of the rear go over a small bridge and turn next left afterwards ( about 15 minute walk ) although we drove there and stocked up.

Hotel food is very reasonably priced and very good. Local restaurants are very reasonably priced but quality is a bit hit and miss but it is enjoyable to go out onto the beach and turn either left or right and walk along the beach to restaurants and I did like Vikkys lamb chops.

Lastly but not least the staff are fantastic and special mention to Jannis ( spelling?) on the bar, works so hard and always smiling.

Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Internal for slightly cooler rooms, near pool for wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ridgeback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

It has all been said in previous reviews, so all I can do is endorse the sentiments that have been expressed. We had a wonderful 2 weeks thanks to Dimitris, Zafi and their staff. The place was spotless, welcoming and well run. Nothing was too much trouble and all our party (6) enjoyed it greatly (especially the two young grandchildren).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Im going to zafira on 14th of this month aug. After reading these reviews I can not wait to get there. Will review again on our return. It sounds so perfect.the ideal place for me and my partner to spend 2 weeks. Thanks to every who has reviewed the zafira studios.:)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just completed a week here with my husband and 2 girls (13 and 11). Lovely relaxing break, so quiet. Rooms plenty big enough, although the girls did find the sofa beds hard to sleep on. Had a room overlooking the olive groves at the back of the hotel. No problem getting sunbeds around the pool even though some people were intent on bagging them at a ridiculous time in the morning. The wifi round the pool was a godsend for the girls. The meze and bbq nights were definitely value for money and worth booking. We didn't bother with breakfast, found it cheaper to buy our own from the supermarket down the road. Hired a car for 2 days, and saw most of the island in that time. Already looking to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeySarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We returned from a fabulous family holiday four weeks ago. We stayed at the zafira studios at schala richoni on the island of thassos in the North Aegean Sea. Our holiday was booked through thomson holidays. Our flights were punctual and service on board was excellent which is not always the case on package holidays. We had to fly to mainland Greece then bus to ferry port for our crossing to the island of lthassos. Our luggage was taken care of from the airport to our destination , brilliant. Therefore our transfer by ferry was like a boat trip on our first day. Crossing was beautiful especially with a nice comfortable bar to start our holiday off properly. We boarde the same coaches for our continued trip of a further twenty minutes or so to as close as we could get to zafira studios, we were met by one of the owners dimitris in his truck . He took all our luggage and we followed on foot for a couple of hundred yards to our home for the next two weeks, not knowing what to expect. As we arrived our eyes lit up as we saw the lovely gardens and studios that we were about to be checked into. We were invited to reception , checked in, shown to our accomodation, unpacked , shorts and flip flops and of course perched on our barstools all within a few minutes. It's the first time we have been to this side of the island but it certainly won't be our last. Already talking about going back. The apartments were great , we could sit on front or back balcony, in or out of the sun. Pool bar great, pool spotlessly clean, food of a good standard though we ate out at a different taverna each night. There's approximately half a dozen each way. I'm not going to recommend any in particular because we used them all and found them all to be of good value. We are lovers of Greek food so try it , they love you trying different things. On average you will get starters, main course, carafe of wine, for 12to15 euros each. Don't order sweet cos they will give it you and it's always nice. Maybe an ouzo too. The zafira is ten mins from bus stop, ten seconds to beach ? Honestly . Turn right on beach to small harbour and few tavernas. Turn left on beach for one lea surely hours walk to schala prinou. You must have gyros and retsina at andros opposite ferry terminal. Walk back or get cab at 7euros . Only cos we were bit funny after heat or retsina. Bus 1.6 euros. All in all great , great , family holiday. 7 adults,2 children,. Thanks to yannis also barman extraordinaire. See you soon. You can and will understand why people keep returning here. Loved it. Enjoy !

Room Tip: Olive grove studios maybe quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyl0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

These appartments are excellent, being large, for Greece, with a balcony and screened shower. The beds are comfortable and there is plenty of storage space in the rooms. The safe costs 2 euros a day-we'll worth the peace of mind, and air conditioning is 6 euros a day-expensive and not really needed. Cleaning is daily and towels and bedding were changed once, mid week.
The owners and staff are very helpful and friendly. The pool bar is good and you can set up a tab and pay off with a credit card every few days.
The pool area was very crowded with sun beds right next to the tables at the bar. It was also very shaded so not ideal for those wanting to get a tan. The beach was 50 metres away and the sunbeds belonging to the Zafira were free to use. We ended up using the beach due to the crowding of furniture round the pool, and, not being a beach lover was a bit disappointed with this, as it was, in part, photos of the pool area that made us book the Zafira.
You do need to walk a short distance to the studios as the coach is too big for the narrow lanes. Dimitris however collects your luggage in his truck and takes the luggage to the pick up point on departure day.
This is an example of how quiet and peaceful this area is, with no large vehicles able to drive past the studios. At night, sitting on the balcony, all you can hear are the crickets.
There a a few tavernas in easy walking distance, Gekas (the best), Sakis, Gorgona, and Olga. The only one that we found poor was Kostas.
If you want peace and quiet, like an uncrowded beach and a few tavernas for your evening meal, this place is ideal.

Room Tip: Rooms in block 1 have balconies facing the pool, block 2 faces the olive groves
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Visaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Rachoniou
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#1 of 3 in Skala Rachoniou
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Louloudis Hotel
Louloudis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pachis
134 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#4 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
2.8 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#19 of 89 in Thasos
383 reviews
5.5 mi away
A for Art
A for Art
#1 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios Zafira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios Zafira

Property: Studios Zafira
Address: Skala Rachoni | Thassos, Skala Rachoniou 640 10, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Skala Rachoniou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Skala Rachoniou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Studios Zafira 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Studios Zafira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studios Zafira Hotel
Studios Zafira Greece/Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing