We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mediterranean Hotel Thassos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mediterranean
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Skala Rachoniou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We are just back from a week in the Mediterranean Hotel, Skala Rachoni, Thassos. The hotel was fab and the location was great being right on the beach. Karen, Jordon and Sonny were friendly, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed half board and the food was good with a varied choice. The rooms were large with a small kitchen area and were kept immaculately clean although the beds were a little firm.

As this was our first visit to Thassos we hired a car to see as much of the Island as possible. Hiring a car allowed us to see a lot of Thassos and discover the traditional Greek Tavernas. One in particular we had to go back to was Vasilis, in Kazaviti. The owners gave us a lovely welcome, the food was fabulous, a traditional Greek menu and a view down the valley towards the sea.

There are mosquitoes in the resort and the sprays that we have in the UK do not seem to protect you from being bitten. I would suggest that you purchase the spray from a local pharmacy in Thassos rather than take your own with you as soon as we done this the bites were dramatically reduced.

A fabulous holiday and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mediterranean
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Just arrived back after 2weeks here. The trip there was great &thomsons reps were the best we have met. The good thing about the hotel was it was right on the beach. We were met by Karen who was very nice &told us wat we needed to know. We met Jordon & Sonny who were a pleasure to know, nothing was too much trouble for them. Lovely people were staying there &the atmosphere was great. No rushing for sun beds on the beach as they were 6euros for 2beds & umbrella. The aircon was 4euros a day, cheap as it went off from 7 pm till 9 pm. Most of the hotel was clean. They were the good points. The not so good were ------- our room 301 was on the top floor up 43 steps the marble ones were ok but the wooden ones were not safe ( pictures to follow) The 1 bedroom apt was big but not a lot in it. No coffee table so wen it rained yOu had to put your glass or c up on the floor, the bed settee has seen better days. The bathroom was big but very old fashioned. The bath had big chips in it as the shower head was put on the wrong way, how long it had been like that who knows but sonnY fixed it for us. Plenty of storage in 20 year old furniture. The drains smelled all the time !!! Big bedroom with 3 wardrobes & 6 coat hangers, good job I took my Own. Large balcony with parasol but no cover so wen it rained you had to stay indoors. You got the sun in the morning & it was cool at night. Food !!! As I am a fussy eater it is not fair for me to comment but I did enjoy the lunches,

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank grannyross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

we stayed here for 2 weeks from the 19th May.everything was wonderful from us leaving our front door to our arrival in the resort.on arrival we were greeted by Karen who welcomed us with a drink and explained the workings of the hotel.we then headed to the bar and met Yordan and Sony who are just to much fun.the pool area is nice and the hotel is situated right on the beach.
The room we were in was fab it was 208 and the balcony looked over the pool and beach,the room was clean and seamed fresh as the colour of the room drapes are a sunny yellow.
the food is great there is a choice for lunch and dinner and in the morning you can opt for cereal,bread and cheese or go the whole hog and eat a massive cooked meal bacon,sausages,mushrooms,beans,eggs fried or scrambled.
I would not hesitate to use this hotel again and we were made to feel so welcome.

Room Tip: 208 was perfect right in the middle
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lyla38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My husband and I had a glorious child-free week at this wonderful hotel in August.
The staff are all amazing - helpful, friendly and go the extra mile to make you have a wonderful holiday.
We went half board with the intention of eating out some nights - but ended up dining at the hotel every night bar one as the food was fantastic. The bar prices were very reasonable and the drinks selection was certainly incredible.
Some reviews earlier in the year highlighted a mosquito issue so we went armed with every spray, roll-on and plug-in available - and never saw a single mosquito!
All in all a fabulous week and we plan on going back next year with friends.
So cheers to Karen, Jordan, Sonny, Kitchen staff, cleaners and Gandalf the cat :)

Room Tip: All rooms have balconys and are all similar - bar not too loud at night
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Plato22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Myself and hubby returned from our holiday at the Hotel Mediterranean yesterday (16/09/12) and can honestly say it was the best holiday we have ever had, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Karen and soon settled into our large and comfortable room, it wasn't long before we had visited the pool bar and over a cold beer in a wonderful setting met Sonny and Jordan who had us laughing from the minute we met them. On our first night after dinner we decided to sit on our balcony for a while before having an early night to recover from our journey, we then met the people in our neighboring rooms, and early morning/late night chats were very quickly established and helped to make our holiday so very special so a very special mention goes to Elaine and Colin and Tracy and Alan, lemon verbena and Ouzo cocktails all round ;o)
The food at the Mediterranean was always freshly made, hot, tasty and in very generous portions (The diet starts today Karen ;o) ) The rooms are equipped with a kettle, cutlery, crockery, a full size fridge and a two ring cooker hob so if you fancy making something for your self it's all there for you.
All of the transfers went smoothly and the Thomson rep Kerry was lovely, making sure everyone was enjoying their stay. We had never traveled with Thomson before and were used to reps saying they would be at the hotel at a certain time and then not turning up or finding a quiet corner to hide in but Kerry was there on time and made sure people knew where to find her and dealt with any queries quickly and efficiently.
The island of Thassos is not commercialised but is beautiful and has it's own unique honey which is delicious. If you are looking for a holiday where you come away feeling refreshed and relaxed then a stay at the Mediterranean is for you, the hotel, the staff and the setting is second to none.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Linny5519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My mother in law and I spent the last two weeks of june here. The hotel is situated right on the beach and the views and the beautiful sunsets are simply amazing. The rooms are cleaned regularly and have little kitchenette things if you need to do any cooking. We found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming. We stayed full board with the intention of going out for some evening meals but the food was so good we ended up eating at the hotel for all but a couple of meals. As its only a small hotel there was always room to chill in the pool especially as the sea is on you doorstep too. There is very little night life in the area so this really was an ideal quiet relaxing holiday. You can take a bus from nearby to the capital thassos. Here are lots of little shops as well as bars and restaurants. After about 6 ish you have to get a taxi back as the buses stop early. We loved it and would defiantly go back in the future.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
6  Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We (4 men travelling as a group) went to the Mediterranean Hotel / Apartments for 2 weeks (end of June, beginning of July).

We couldn't fault the place. It was clean, well maintained and well run. The food was lovely, well presented, and there was lots of it.

Yes, the decor in the rooms is a bit dated in places, but how much time do you spend in your room in such a lovely place. The main thing is that they were clean and well maintained.

The staff were all wonderful. Friendly, helpful and very hard working. I can't agree with the previous reviewer's experience and comments about Karen. She couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating when we were there. Sonny and Jordan behind the bar were also great guys who are eager to please.

The staff all get to know you personally, and nothing is too much trouble. The fellow guests as well were a great bunch of people. Everybody had the time of day for you and it was easy to mingle and socialise with such a lovely group of people.

The location (on the beach) is perfect, although the resort itself is very quite and quite isolated. But that's what we wanted, so for us it was perfect. We did hire a car for a couple of days to see the rest of the island, and I'd recommend anybody to do that. It's a cheap, safe and easy way of getting to see the things you want to see.

We've been holidaying together for about 10 years and are lucky enough to have never had a bad holiday. But this, I can say, was probably one of the better of all of our holidays.

Thank you to Karen, Jordan, Sonny, and all of the other "behind the scenes" staff, as well as our fellow guests for such a fantastic hoiliday. We'll definitely be back.

David, Mark, Andy and Gary

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a fantastic view, but out on the balcony it gets UNBEARABLY hot in the afternoo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Rachoniou
1.1 mi away
SENTIDO Thassos Imperial
6.0 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#12 of 89 in Thasos
410 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#6 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Louloudis Hotel
Louloudis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pachis
139 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#18 of 89 in Thasos
399 reviews
8.4 mi away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 10 in Golden Beach
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterranean

Address: Skala Rachoniou 64004, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Skala Rachoniou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Skala Rachoniou
Price Range: £43 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mediterranean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterranean Greece/Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing