We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mediterranean

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala Rakhniou
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Mediterranean
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Skala Rakhniou
Certificate of Excellence
Brownhills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and myself have just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Mediterranean hotel. The journey there went without a hitch,even the ferry crossing that I was dreading,it only took 30 mins and was so smooth Thomson's did a good job of organising everything so there was no waiting about.On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by Karen and Jenny with a lovely cold drink.We were allocated our room which was near the front of the hotel with a wonderful sea view, it was very large. I had been worried about the beds as previous reviewers said the beds were hard.It was a lovely surprise to find that all the beds had been replaced this year with new foam/sprung ones,much like ours at home so we had a good nights sleep.There was a kitchen unit so you had a fridge for water and drinks there was washing up liquid and sponge supplied.The bathroom had a shower over a bath,shower curtain and liquid soap dispenser on the sink.The room was cleaned to a high standard every day except Saturday when just the bins were emptied.The two barmen(Sunny & Jordan i think) were always working keeping the grounds clean and tidy.The food was very good, buffet breakfast, four choices for main at dinner, starter and sweet were buffet.My husband is a very fussy eater but he usually found something to eat.Karen and Jenny are usually in the dining room so they make sure everyone is happy.There were two mini markets close to the hotel,a larger supermarket about fifteen minutes walk away.The nearest mini market sold most things at a reasonable price.We did not visit the local tavernas but other guests said they were all good.As it was May we expected to get some rain as the island is so northerly but it was hot and sunny every day.It was very quiet as the other hotels were not yet open,there were only a few people on the beach every day.We walked along the beach for miles and hardly saw anyone,it was idyllic.The sunsets were amazing,don't forget your camera.When there you have a tab for drinks and loungers so you can settle up at any time or leave till the end of your holiday.All in all we had a fabulous holiday,we have already booked for next year so look forward to seeing Karen,Jenny and rest of staff in June 2015.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view,rooms for two are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Casstack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    31
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
74
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just back from a very relaxing last minute holiday - 4-11 May. Location was absolutely perfect - right on the beach. We stayed half board and the food was very good with plenty of choice and there's always a Greek dish. Main course is always waitress service. Rooms are very spacious and clean. The staff, Karen, Jenny and Jordan, can't do enough for you and are always there with a smile whatever time you see them. We met some lovely people. The surrounding area is really nice and plenty of places to walk to and so many little beaches it's like they're your own private beach!! We went into Thasos Town - we'll worth a visit and very Greek. All in all a very relaxing holiday. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: An upstairs room is a must for the lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterandJackie1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Loved the hotel and personal attention to detail given by Karen and her staff. Food excellent especially the Vegetarian options which were YUMMY. Restaurant very modern - orange and lime green with wall mounted TVs - lacked the Greek authenticity but the air conditioning perfect for those very hot days plus there were trattorias within walking distance if you fancied a change. Room very big and spotlessly clean. Only criticism was the bed was very low and uncomfortable. Great having sea views and being on the beach. Evenings spent drinking wine, watching sunsets and listening to lapping of waves. Definitely a chill out place for those needing it! Thassos also a great Island to travel round - beautiful views and mountain villages.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goodhotelsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed full board at the Med Hotel in July 2013 and had a wonderful holiday.

This hotel is also reviewed as Med apartments on here.

It's 3 star Greek accomodation so don't expect luxury but our room 301 was spotless. Yes as a previous reviewer said the stairs up are steep but weve stayed in villas with worse staircases and no handrails! The selling point of the hotel is the setting, lovely pool area right on a sandy beach with great views. Very peaceful, amazing sunsets .

Breakfast was good and lunch but can't comment on the evening meals as we ate out. Karen the manager was most concerned initially until we explained we wanted to come B& B which they no longer do but got such a good deal ( the difference in half board to full was 49 p each for the holiday) that we were happy.

If there had been an option to eat outside we may have tried it . Eating out is a big part of our holiday. We found 7 tavernas walking distance and the bus to Thassos town only takes 15 mins with a taxi back being 15 euros so we ate there a few times with lots of choice .

The hotel staff were very friendly and Sonny especially was great with children, our daughter had a wonderful time.

Karen was very professional and efficient and friendly . I noticed a comment on the Med apt reviews about her not being very approachable, we found her very chatty. Given that she is currently dealing with a serious family illness , juggling caring for two children and keeping the hotel running smoothly I think she is amazing . Most guests will have no knowledge of this as she keeps smiling.

All in all we had a wonderful time and if there was a B & B option would return very quickly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ouzo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Got back yesterday after two fabulous weeks at the Hotel Mediterranean in Thassos. The location is perfect - hotel, pool area, decking then beach. Accommodation is simple and comfortable, cleanliness is very good. We were half board and could always find something on the menu that we liked for dinner. The snacks at lunchtime are also great. There is no entertainment in the daytime or the evening apart from a Quiz on a Friday evening, but to be honest you don't need it. We have 2 boys aged 10 and 5 and they made their own entertainment all day and into the evening with friends that they made. It really is a place to go and chill out and relax, and do absolutely nothing but! What really makes the Hotel so great though is the staff. Karen is the Manager and could not be more friendly or helpful, and Sonny and Jordan at the Pool Bar are great - funny, friendly, helpful and cheeky! We had such a great time we tried to stay for another week, but it was fully booked, but will definitely be going back! You should go NOW!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SalisburySue936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

No evening floor shows with professional entertainers; no wrist bands to identify your status; no aerobics, no kids' clubs or cooking demonstrations and, whilst we were there, no noisy water sports.
Instead, the Mediterranean offers basic, comfortable accommodation in a small hotel where the individual is recognised and respected.
Although sold on a half/full board basis, rooms are equipped as studios with all that is necessary should one wish to self- cater. We found it a great benefit to have a functional fridge available which was not taken up by an expensive mini bar. Air conditioning and safe are available at a modest cost.
Expertly managed by Karen and her colleagues Sonny and Jordon; who all seamlessly change roles as required during the day, guest satisfaction is obviously most important.
Food was excellent during our stay (top marks to the chef) with a hot or cold selection at breakfast. Dinner offers a daily choice of four main dishes, including one fish and one vegetarian option; and including traditional Greek specialities.
Location is excellent. Step from the pool patio straight onto the soft white sand, leading to the safe, shallow water of the Aegean sea.
The pool bar offers a large choice of drinks, including coffees and cocktails, at very reasonable prices. As all sales are automatically charged to the room there is no need to carry money with you to the pool or beach.
A limited number of sun beds around the pool are free to use. Sun beds and umbrellas on the beach are charged at €2 each per day, but a free soft drink or small beer is offered to residents for each bed paid for.
The beach is not private to the hotel and non-residents may make use of the sun beds. Whilst we are critics of, and would never advocate 'towels on beds', it is worth noting that at weekends and holidays the beach becomes very attractive to non residents, many of whom ail want to make use of the beds.
There are a number of excellent tavernas close by, and two mini markets within a few minutes walk, which can supply all that one requires, including sub screens and insect repellent.
(During our stay in early July, mosquitos were not a major problem, although we and others did suffer a few attacks. We feel that the problem will intensify as the season professes and would advise the use of a repellent in the evenings, and the use of a mosquito plug in the room at night.)
For the more energetic there as a games room with pool. table tennis and table football. Also a fitness room with two exercise bikes, treadmill and weights bench. In reception there is a small library of mainly, paperbacks - leave your old one and choose another book.
Should you wish to venture further afield, the local bus stops by the mini market on the main road ( a bus time table is available in reception) and the hotel provides a courtesy bus into Thassos town at 9.45 each morning, except Sunday and Monday, but does not provide a return service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2mercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Just had two weeks at the Mediterranean half board I can only say good things about the apartments we stayed in room 203 which was quiet spacious with the usual sink hob and kettle separate toilet and shower with hot water the beds were the standard hard mattresses but hey they make you get out of bed! Aircon 4euros due to the fact there could be power cuts but that didn't happen safety deposit boxes available We usually go self catering so this was new for us and we got the best of both worlds we had breakfast most days which set us up for the day. while at breakfast you were given a choice of meals for the evening so if you didn't fancy it you could eat out. The food was of a decent standard so no worries if you want to eat there all the time drinks and wine at very good prices as were most of the bars around they are really out to please most Tavernas giving out free shots or puddings which were my favourite! Karen Jordon and Sonny were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. It was great to be able to step out from the apartment straight on to the beach which stretches for miles so if you like walking you can walk along the waters edge or along olive trees in places. I recommend you hire a car although not a big island there are a lot of little beaches dotted along the island. I also recommend Real Holidays for car hire based in Skala Prinou see Yanni much cheaper than Thompsons he also does a Safari into the mountains well worth doing ask him about it ! As for tavernas I think it depends on what you order as to how you rate them so I will just throw some names out there and you can make your own mind up so here goes Gekas Olgas. Vickys all in skala Rachoni The Nest. Larados. Skala Prinou Simi Thassos town in all we had a great holiday everyone was very friendly and will definitely go back. If you want to just chill out this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Room 202 balcony overlooking adjacent apartments but also sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gowser12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Rakhniou
11.6 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
11.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#2 of 9 in Limenaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.8 mi away
Louloudis Hotel
Louloudis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pachis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#19 of 90 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
6.0 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#10 of 90 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
12.1 mi away
Atrium Hotel Thassos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterranean

Property: Hotel Mediterranean
Address: Skala Rakhniou 64004, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Skala Rakhniou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Skala Rakhniou
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterranean Greece/Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing