We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fair price for a fair room”
Review of Diolkos Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diolkos Studios
Ranked #2 of 16 Loutraki B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed there with my husband on 6/1/14-6/2/14.

The Diolkos studios is not trying to pretend to be something classy and that is an attitude that I like. A fair hotel for a fair price. We got the front room with a sea view, great working wifi and a small kitchenette. We were offered to chose a refurbished room but with weaker wifi, so that the choice was ours. It is true that the furniture is dated (probably early 90's), but if you do not plan to spend much time in the room, it serves its purpose. The bathroom was the downfall, toilet not flushing, paint peeling and the hot water coming to the shower taking ages.

The staff is very nice, polite and friendly, speaking excellent English. Breakfast was surprisingly good and rich for studios like that. Just a few steps far away you can find many fish taverns and restaurants and they stay open until 1 o clock in the night.

Definitely a nice place to stay for everybody looking for a simple accommodation. For me it is fair 4 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, it is worth it!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZdenkaScully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Diolkos Studios
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

You get exactly what you pay for. The good and bad points balance out each other. If you want the Ritz, then pay for it. If you're happy with an older acomodation with some noisy nights, then this will do. Amazing views, good WiFi, decent buffet breakfast and new/clean towels every day. Hard bed, small kitchenette and peeling paint are the downside.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Lovely little studio apartment, spotlessly clean with gorgeous views out to the water. Friendly staff and a nice breakfast made this a place to remember. The only suggestion I have, is to perhaps have a jug, some instant coffee and long life milk available in the kitchenette.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyanneMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were on our way from Methana to Athens looking for a nice place to sleep.Most of the places were closed since it was January so we drive to Lutraki . We found this small nice very clean place.. The owner was very helpful and answered all our questions.
The room is big enough with small kitchen for self catering ( we did not use it ). Breakfast was nice especially the homemade jam. The see is just across the road . The price is 35 Euro including breakfast

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanduavni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Everything was spotlessly clean,the hot water & heating (it was winter!) were efficient, the bedroom area was bright and fresh, and the balcony had a lovely sea & mountain view. The breakfast room/lounge is very light & modern, with a beautiful fireplace for the winter, and you're looking out through the garden to the sea. Yes, it's true that the accommodation is simple and fairly basic, some of the rooms are a little tired, our bathroom door needed a touch of paint and the mirror had seen better days...but the owners are clearly working hard to keep things as nice as possible. We found them charming and helpful.

The breakfast buffet was continental, with the usual ham, cheese, hardboiled eggs, but also yummy Greek yogurt and honey and a large selection of herbal teas. We were pleasantly surprised with the breakfast choices, given that it was December and I think we were the only guests that day. Next time, though, it would be nice to have some fresh bread and not just sliced bread for toasting.

A bonus is that the rooms are in fact "studios," with basic self-catering facilities -- fridge, hotplate, and enough equipment to make an omelette or simple meal for two, to eat on your balcony with that stunning view. (I see a previous reviewer found the kitchenette inadequate -- well, you wouldn't want to prepare a six-course gourmet meal here, for sure, but that's not the point of this kind of accommodation -- you could easily make a light lunch or dinner if you don't want to eat out all the time, I wouldn't expect a microwave at these prices, and Greeks don't use kettles much.)

The location is excellent, the sea is just across the road and it's a good swimmable beach, there are several eateries and a mini-market within a couple of minutes' walk, the casino's close by, and the town centre is a 10-15 minute stroll along the seafront. And the hotel has its own parking, which is like gold dust in Loutraki.

This was our second time staying here and it won't be the last. It's not luxury, but the price/quality ratio is excellent. I'd have no hesitation recommending the Diolkos for a weekend or longer -- Loutraki is a good base for touring the Corinth area and the Peloponnese, and if you're on a budget, at this location you can easily buy takeaways or cook for yourself, plus the nearby tavernas are very reasonably priced. And when you're tired of sightseeing you can relax on the beach. What's not to like?

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyklamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Good things - location (close to beach and casino), staff (polite and accommodating), breakfast, parking and Wi-Fi internet included in price.
Bad ones - the hotel is pretty old, worn and torn. Elevator last time worked half century ago. So called kitchennete is a small corner in room, not really suitable for cooking due to lack of exhaust ventilation. No, microwave, no kettle, shortage of certain kitchen utensils. Bathroom is extremely small and not ventilated - your towels will stay wet forever (at least in winter), no hairdryer. Very noisy, both from the street and neighboring rooms. Wi-Fi internet connection is limited to lobby and some lucky rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Orsons21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Location is ok in front of the beach. Service from Melitos: very good. The owner Dimitris is the reason i would never go there again. Probably he doesn't need any clients in his pour hotel. He was very rude with no reason, as he new we where repeat clients every weekend. The rooms are just basic and not much clean. Anyway, don't go there because if he is not in a good mud, you will have bad luck and bad holidays!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jkav4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loutraki hotels
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Loutraki
Club Hotel Loutraki
#1 of 30 in Loutraki
383 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mitzithras Hotel
Mitzithras Hotel
#19 of 30 in Loutraki
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cristina Maris
Hotel Cristina Maris
#10 of 30 in Loutraki
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pappas
Hotel Pappas
#3 of 30 in Loutraki
183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marion Hotel
Marion Hotel
#15 of 30 in Loutraki
53 reviews
1.5 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#12 of 30 in Loutraki
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diolkos Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diolkos Studios

Address: 99 Leoforos Possidonos, Loutraki 203 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Corinthia Region > Loutraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Loutraki
Price Range: £49 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Diolkos Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined, modern, just renovated, Diolkos Studios offers a unique accommodation experience. Located one kilometer from the city center, 200 meters from Loutraki casino, and just 10 meters from the beach, provides immediate access to Loutraki's most popular promenade. Relaxing colors, great views from spacious balconies, excellent bedding, modern bathroom and a small kitchenette, should someone need to prepare a meal, guaranty your comfortable stay. Additionally one can enjoy free high speed Wi-Fi with full coverage and a spacious parking available, free of charge, for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Diolkos Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing