We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for families with kids”
Review of Pelion Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelion Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Portaria
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for families with kids”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed 2 families for 7 nights at this hotel and used it as a base to experience Pelion. We were very pleased and highly satisfied. great value for money.

Pros:
1. Excellent for children (especially boys) - pool, football (soccer) field, playground and general areas great for independent kids to roam and play.
2. Service - the staff was great and went to length to accommodate all our needs.
3. WIFI - free and FAST !
4. Great value for money.
5. luggage drop off - you can reach the room with the car - sounds anecdotal but its exactly the kind of things that make it more pleasant to travel as a family with many bags.
6. Large rooms - we were pleased with the size of the rooms which included a double bed and 2 singles for the kids.

Cons:
1. While the room was very big and the bathroom as well, in our friends room the actual shower was quite small (place for one adult only). Also don't get excited about he multiple jet shower which lacks water pressure to enjoy.
2. Location - while Portaria is a nice village on the west side of pelion, the east side has perhaps more attractive villages. we drove half of the days to the beaches and villages on the east side (1.2 hour drive). it didn't bother us since the drive is beautiful and lets the kids fall asleep on the way back but one can choose to stay on the eastern side as well or at least split.

To conclude - highly recommend if travelling with kids. for couples - you can find a more romantic hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YoZ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    49
    24
    7
    1
See reviews for
70
84
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is comfortable in an incredible location in Portaria. The rooms were large with a multiple jet shower. The view was a beautiful village nestled in a mountainside, along with a pool view and patio. The service was friendly and attentive. The breakfast was delicious serving up a Greek specialty of loukoumades ( fried honey balls) each morning. The best wii fii that we experienced in Greece.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Pelion resort is a nice hotel located in portaria.We had a 3hd gathering guzzisti hellas in july 2014 with moto guzzi bikes.The rooms and the service was exellent.The stuff was very kind.Many thanks !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We spent 2 nights at one of the best hotels in the area!First of all portaria is the best choice to visit Pelion villages and the city of Volos!The hotel is in a very good spot, on walking distance from the square of the village, and it provides parking for the customers!Great staff, really helpful and hospitable!They gave us good tips too!!The room was clean and the bathroom spacious!Our room had a fireplace,which was very cosy!Every space of the hotel was very nice decorated!The breakfast was excellent, with great variety, freshly-made, for every choice!It had also a lot of traditional products!The spa though is a must-do!Private, after reservation, and so relaxing!Clean,in a simple, cute space!We really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rethymnon, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

pelion resort is one of the best hotels in the hole area.The rooms and the service was excellent.The only thing that should be improved is the breakfast.The hotel's staff were very helpful and hospitable

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank xristos d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Pelion resort is a nice hotel located in portaria. We stayed at the Junior Suite which was very nicely decorated and also had a fireplace. The staff was super kind and helpfull an the break fast was very good. Hygiene and cleaning of the room is satisfying. Portaria is a beautiful and one of the most crowded villages of Pelio. There are many little restaurants with nice food and local tastes. One of the thing i didnt like is that wood to light the fireplace in room were charged 5 Euros per time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyCarlberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelionResort, Ιδιοκτήτης at Pelion Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review - we feel flattered from your comments. Please let us clarify our policy regarding the use of fireplace: We do not charge wood per hour; instead the rooms with fireplace have an extra charge per day – of course only if the fireplace is used. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Pelion resort was an unforgettable experience, the hotel's staff were very helpful and hospitable, they helped with organizing horse ride, and provided medication when needed.the rooms were fantastic,clean and avery cute fireplace that can be light by yourself or ask a staff member. Breakfast had many different choices, delicious varieties and nice music for morning. The hotel is very well managed and run. No complaints.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MrPlakaMeKaneis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelionResort, Owner at Pelion Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review and really flattering comments. We hope to see you soon during your next visit at Pelion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portaria hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Despotiko
Hotel Despotiko
#6 of 12 in Portaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Portaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#5 of 12 in Portaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Xenia Palace
Xenia Palace
#4 of 12 in Portaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valeni Boutique Hotel
Valeni Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Portaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Naoumidis Guest House
Naoumidis Guest House
#3 of 12 in Portaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelion Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelion Resort

Property: Pelion Resort
Address: Chatzakou Str, Karavos, Portaria, Volos 37011, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos > Portaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Portaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelion Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PELION RESORT is a 4* hotel, built in 2008 at 700m altitude in location "Karavos" on the north east side of the traditional Portaria village. The hotel is built like a "village" according to the traditional local architecture of Pelion mountain area. Easy walking access to the village’s centre through picturesque pavements and magnificent panoramic view. In Pelion Resort, simplicity and a warm friendly ambiance are combined along with 4 stars service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelion Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing