We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good...but not so impressed...”
Review of Hotel Pelias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pelias
Ranked #22 of 27 Portaria B&B and Inns
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good...but not so impressed...”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The hotel is placed in the center of one of the small traditional villages of mount Pilio near city of Volos. Actually is in front of the main square of Portaria village which is very good and near everything you may need (mini market, souvenir shops, taverns, coffee shops etc.) Also is very close to another traditional village called Makrinitsa.

It doesn't have private parking area but as we visited at the end of the season was very easy to find parking spaces everywhere. The lobby area of the hotel was mediocre and the receptionist or maybe the owner was always there. He was friendly and helpful in everything we asked.

The room for me was just ok, not so impressive. The thing that worth it a lot was the fire place and that the heating was used private by us any time we want it. The bathroom was not something special with a shower but it was clean.

The breakfast was very good with many choices and the staff was very kind and was ready to prepare whatever we want. It had almost everything, baked bread, cheese, ham, eggs, many varieties of pies, corn flakes, coffee, orange juice and many other things.

The bad spots that made me put this grade is that when we entered the room and we opened the fridge to put our bottles of water we found food and milk left from the previous customers and apart from the price that was low for such a place still it was the end of the season and the service was not worth it for such a price.

Overall it was a very good place and choice but this two spots must be attended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Nice,quiet and clean. Also, a traditional and ''warm'' place to stay with a very big fireplace in the old-fashioned living room. Big room but small bathroom. Friendly staff and really nice breakfast. Located in the central square of Portaria village.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie-Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We only stayed here for one night, but still remember our experience fondly. The ride up the mountain alone is worth it because you'll be able to see the city and bay from above! What a beautiful vista. The owner was kind and considerate and very concerned about our experience in Portaria. He gave us suggestions on where to eat and what vistas to see. The room was nice and clean and the hotel was surrounded by beautiful nature. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snout39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larisa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here and had a fantastic time. Very nice rooms, nature and hospitality. The hotel is very well cared for by the staff, and Mr Giorgos made us feel like family. We will definitely stay again next time when we return to Pilio.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manolis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Really warm service on behalf of the owners and its family.
Breakfast was at least satisfactory but the serving buffet was quite oldfashioned.
The rooms were really nice and so much better than the previous time that i had visited the hotel since they have been renovated.
The hotel is located at the central square of portaria.
It is really quite but so close to the hot spots...
Nice place to be if you want to spent a loose weekend...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yannis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

I travelled with my friend on October 2010!
We had booked a double room on Half Board Basis!
The rooms of Pelias are big enough with a very comfortable
bed.The bathroom is a bit small, but clean!
Only thing that we didn't like is the food...
and also the room was a bit cold..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ankiCrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portaria hotels
0.3 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#3 of 12 in Portaria
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Naoumidis Guest House
Naoumidis Guest House
#4 of 12 in Portaria
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lotus Tree
The Lotus Tree
#20 of 27 in Portaria
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pelion Mansion Hatziargiri
Pelion Mansion Hatziargiri
#8 of 27 in Portaria
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alchemist
Alchemist
#6 of 27 in Portaria
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Hotel Triantafillies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelias

Property: Hotel Pelias
Address: Portaria, Volos, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos > Portaria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Portaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pelias 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pelias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing