We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average in everything good in breakfast”
Review of Hotel Pelias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pelias
Ranked #21 of 26 Portaria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We want to this hotel in a school trip and our overall experience was average. We were 50 students and 5 teachers approximately so all the hotel was occupied by us. First of all the rooms are small, and we were 3 people sleeping in rooms of 2. Most beds are bad, at least my bed was bad and I couldn't sleep well. The hotel was GENERALLY clean but there is lot of dust under the beds. The service was good, they changed the towels everyday and they would help us in any way they could. The owners-employees (you could not tell who is too) were friendly and eager to help. The breakfast was wonderful. I don't know if this is the regular breakfast or it was special because of the size of the group but it was perfect. It was home made the products were very good, probably locally produced, and it had basically everything.

Room Tip: rooms in the ground floor are the best, quiet, isolated and some of them are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank george A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

The hotel is placed in the center of one of the small traditional villages of mount Pilio near city of Volos. Actually is in front of the main square of Portaria village which is very good and near everything you may need (mini market, souvenir shops, taverns, coffee shops etc.) Also is very close to another traditional village called Makrinitsa.

It doesn't have private parking area but as we visited at the end of the season was very easy to find parking spaces everywhere. The lobby area of the hotel was mediocre and the receptionist or maybe the owner was always there. He was friendly and helpful in everything we asked.

The room for me was just ok, not so impressive. The thing that worth it a lot was the fire place and that the heating was used private by us any time we want it. The bathroom was not something special with a shower but it was clean.

The breakfast was very good with many choices and the staff was very kind and was ready to prepare whatever we want. It had almost everything, baked bread, cheese, ham, eggs, many varieties of pies, corn flakes, coffee, orange juice and many other things.

The bad spots that made me put this grade is that when we entered the room and we opened the fridge to put our bottles of water we found food and milk left from the previous customers and apart from the price that was low for such a place still it was the end of the season and the service was not worth it for such a price.

Overall it was a very good place and choice but this two spots must be attended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Nice,quiet and clean. Also, a traditional and ''warm'' place to stay with a very big fireplace in the old-fashioned living room. Big room but small bathroom. Friendly staff and really nice breakfast. Located in the central square of Portaria village.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie-Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We only stayed here for one night, but still remember our experience fondly. The ride up the mountain alone is worth it because you'll be able to see the city and bay from above! What a beautiful vista. The owner was kind and considerate and very concerned about our experience in Portaria. He gave us suggestions on where to eat and what vistas to see. The room was nice and clean and the hotel was surrounded by beautiful nature. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snout39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here and had a fantastic time. Very nice rooms, nature and hospitality. The hotel is very well cared for by the staff, and Mr Giorgos made us feel like family. We will definitely stay again next time when we return to Pilio.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manolis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Really warm service on behalf of the owners and its family.
Breakfast was at least satisfactory but the serving buffet was quite oldfashioned.
The rooms were really nice and so much better than the previous time that i had visited the hotel since they have been renovated.
The hotel is located at the central square of portaria.
It is really quite but so close to the hot spots...
Nice place to be if you want to spent a loose weekend...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yannis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

I travelled with my friend on October 2010!
We had booked a double room on Half Board Basis!
The rooms of Pelias are big enough with a very comfortable
bed.The bathroom is a bit small, but clean!
Only thing that we didn't like is the food...
and also the room was a bit cold..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ankiCrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portaria hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelion Resort
Pelion Resort
#2 of 12 in Portaria
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maritsa's Hotel-Suites
Maritsa's Hotel-Suites
#12 of 12 in Portaria
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#5 of 12 in Portaria
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Filoxenia
Hotel Filoxenia
#8 of 26 in Portaria
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guesthouse Filokalia
Guesthouse Filokalia
#5 of 26 in Portaria
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lotus Tree
The Lotus Tree
#18 of 26 in Portaria
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelias

Address: Portaria, Volos, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos > Portaria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Portaria
Price Range: £42 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pelias 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pelias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing