We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portaria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portaria Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Portaria
Larisa, Greece
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

I am here only for a congress hence i can write only for the event. The organization is good the translation service seems flawless and the food served previously for lunch had an adequate variety with a buffet. I like the location alot and the restaurant and coffee area. It is a good place to be

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixalios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administration d, Guest Relations Manager at Portaria Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Visitor,

Thanks a lot for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, during your participation of a seminar that took place in our conference center.
We have working hard and try always to meet every ones satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Olga Tzima
Portaria Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    40
    34
    8
    7
See reviews for
57
70
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We visited a good friend in Volos and were recommended Portaria Hotel and Spa. Well, let me tell you best decision we ever made. We vacationed for one week with another family and 5 girls in total! From the moment we arrived we were pampered! Staff is exteremly dedicated and helpful. George, the owners son has fabulous information and suggestions on things to do. Never a dull moment. The Hotel overlooks the town of Volos. My goodness what a view. We had lunch on the outdoor patio and just felt like we were on top of the world. The Spa is also wonderful with a very nice staff and many treatments to choose from. We can't say enough about it. April is not too full with tourists so it made it great to not fight crowds. Weather was 65F-70F. We were able to visit beaches at a short distance (40 min) and highly suggest visiting the monasteries at Meteora. Breath taking! Can't say enough about this experience--book your room today!

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartments. They are nice and spacious. One has a private bedroom (with door). The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stokstaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administration d, Manager at Portaria Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, our service, the cuisine as well as the view and the spa area.
We have working hard and try always to meet every ones satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

George Theodorou
Portaria Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We opted the Hotel for our Christmas vacation. The Hotel is located on Mountain Pilion (or Pelion) toward the road to AGRIOLEUKA Snow & Ski Centre. Upon arrival in the city of Volos you must follow the average road signs and after careful driving from 20 to 45 minutes (depends on weather conditions, road traffic etc) you can find the Hotel. We arrived under a severe rain storm, the water was pouring from everywhere. The first excellent impression was the complete absence of a bell boy to assist my wife caring the luggage from the car to the reception, under the heavy rain. Reception was ok. Avoid opting the standard room; pay something extra to get the deluxe standard room for two persons because you will have air-conditioning independence. If you select the deluxe suite, notice that it’s a good choice in terms of space but do not expect that the fireplace will provide you heating or warmth. Although it was sold to us as a four star hotel, to our intimate personal opinion it is not. The prepaid breakfast was average to mediocre despite its quantity. On the other hand we enjoyed the a la carte menu, few things well prepared yet expensive The SPA staff lacks the experience and or courtesy in treating people to our age, needless to mention that the service is unreasonably priced. Maybe a second thought in the SPA invoicing policy would attract more Hotel Guests. Lest we forget ineffable new-rich guests from around the world that they believe that the SPA services are included in BB pricing. Reception ought to inform these brainless people about that so we can avoid useless issues during SPA bookings. . Overall, it is a good choice if you select a package deal from a travel office domestic or international and you know why you go there (i.e. especially if you enjoy skiing)

Room Tip: Deluxe twin room, or deluxe suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sondek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administration d, Guest Relations Manager at Portaria Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Visitor,

Thank you for completing a review of your stay in December 2012.
The staff and I are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed our service in our ala carte restaurant and service from a bell boy.
Regarding the heating system of the rooms, every guest can adjust the temperature by own individually by remote control. For SUITES fireplaces are used mostly for the relaxing ambiance they create.
Regarding the Spa pricelist our hotel's guests have a 20% discount on the therapies that we provide. A full pricelist provide in our official web page.

Also i would like to ensure that we will try to do our best in order to improve anything that you mention with our team.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon and thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Olga Tzima
Portaria Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I stayed 2 nights to this hotel after vacation in nearby island. Located in the mountain with fab view to Volos city and the sea. Hotel has easy access by car and parking space. Room very clean, comfortable and from the balcony a breathless view. Breakfast buffet with choices. For dinning the veranda area is a nice place to dine with view to Volos and enjoy delicious meal from local dishes. I enjoyed the therapies on spa after an excursion around the mountain. Makrinitsa a lovely traditional village is 2km from the village and highly recommend it. Agios Ioannis beach apprx 35min by car is the closest beach and the trip is through the mountain. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Panoramic Room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administration d, Manager at Portaria Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Visitor,

Thanks a lot for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, our service, the cuisine as well as the view and the spa area and that you rated it good value for money.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

George Theodorou
Portaria Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Hotel is about 500m from village in a high point were you can have very good view. We stayed in an apartment (230) which was quite big and cozy. There is a fireplace and a small but very practical kitchenet. Bathroom quite good. Room was very clean and warm. Now about the rest. Reception is friendly and helpful but some persons have to understand that smiling is obligatory...Smile can change a bad review! The restaurant is next to the reception area and provides a small but excellent range of food for lunch and dinner. Breakfast is very good too. The manager of the hotel, Giorgos, was very helpful and did his best for our cooperation. Thank you George! Hope see you soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaderTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel is located in the high part of Portaria so you have a great view from the room. the town is start point to visit all of north Pelion. the village center is a walking distance from the hotel and parking is abounded. Breakfast is full and tasty but try your dinner elsewhere ( in the village center - Kritza). All in all we had a very nice time in the hotel.

Room Tip: choose the rooms that face the view in the upper new part
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administration d, Guest Relations Manager at Portaria Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Visitor,

Thank you for your short and brief review of your recent stay with us. We have working hard and try always to meet every ones satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Olga Tzima
Portaria Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed in Portaria Hotel & Spa btw 27/6 & 1/7/12 in the context of a 4-day training seminar. The training organization was charged so I cannot express an opinion regarding price vs value. The 2-bed room was spacious but needed renovation. It was obviously none of the rooms depicted in photos. Equipment for serving such an event was inadequate, as we had to constantly tranport chairs from one place to another.

Beyond the aforementioned, the service was perfect, reception was quick, hotel personnel was very friendlyt, polite and willing to help in any way. The view of volos and the pagasitikos gulf is spectacular, the pool is very good, the breakfast & meals also of good quality. Portaria center is 5' walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yiannis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Portaria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Visitor,

Thank you for completing a review of your stay in June 2012 attending a seminar in our conferece center combined with your stay in one of our standard rooms. The team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed the view to Pagasitikos Gulf and our service from us. You appear to have enjoyed also the quality of meals that been served during the seminars. Regarding the issue with the equipment in seminars rooms we did everything that been asked from the organizer.

I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Portaria Hotel & Spa again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Olga Tzima
Portaria Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portaria hotels
0.2 mi away
Pelion Resort
Pelion Resort
#2 of 12 in Portaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#5 of 12 in Portaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Despotiko
Hotel Despotiko
#3 of 12 in Portaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Portaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valeni Boutique Hotel
Valeni Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Portaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xenia Palace
Xenia Palace
#6 of 12 in Portaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portaria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portaria Hotel

Property: Portaria Hotel
Address: Portaria, Volos 370 11, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos > Portaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Portaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Portaria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portaria Hotel has been built to combine respect for the traditional architecture of Mt. Pelion with all modern comforts. It is located 12 km from Volos, 12 km from the Ski centre of Mt. Pelion and only 40 minutes away from the deep blue beaches of East Pelion: Agios Ioannis, Plaka and Papa Nero. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Portaria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing