We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden touch of paradise, balancing beautiful mountain views and amazing beaches.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St Stefano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Stefano Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tsagkarada
2 reviews
“A hidden touch of paradise, balancing beautiful mountain views and amazing beaches.”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The second leg of our trip found us in Greece. My wife always wanted to experience what this country had to offer and believe
E when I tell you we got more than we bargained for. The hotel was beautiful and Peter, constadino temo and the playful manager I will call el jefe made you feel at home. They were more than helpful to assist us in options for things to see nearby or help us find those sights we wished to venture out to. We drove 4 hours from thessaniki to tsagarada located on the Pelio peninsula, where the st stefano sits. The closest town is volos which can give you the chance to see skiathos or plan your route to other sites. I would definetly stay here again should I find myself in Greece if not for the, the beauty but to just drop in and say hello to my new found friends

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drg6714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    10
    2
    8
    9
See reviews for
8
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Lets begin with the area. Pelio surpassed our expectations on the beauty spectrum, your eyes will never get bored. Sure, you need a car to go to the local beaches, but this is to be expected, you are on a mountain.

Regarding the hotel, we were impressed by the quality of construction and decor. It really stood out from the typical old school greek style hotels. The lounge area in the lobby was just an amazing place to chill out in. Half board was mandatory, which we weren't excited about because it meant we had to be back at the hotel by 15:00 if we wanted lunch. Thankfully the food was great.

The room had modern decor and was spacious with a double door balcony, over looking the valley. The bathrooms were so great that we took some pictures of it as inspiration for how we want to build ours.

The staff were very helpful. They paid extra attention to helping us with directions and hints for where the best beaches are etc. One evening, I had an upset stomach, and was not able to eat my prepared meal. The manager made sure that I was taken care of, with a special rice meal.

Overall, expemplary staff, hotel facilities, and region will make for a great holiday experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Panag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Once you know about St. Stefano Hotel, you won’t want to choose anywhere else to spend time enjoying the Pelion peninsula. When you drive up to the entrance to the St. Stefano Hotel, you feel the warm embrace of the staff right from the beginning. They show in what they say and what they do that the comfort of their guests is their mission. The hotel staff never deviated from that commitment. Every staff member smiled, greeted us by name, and checked regularly to see if everything was all right. When we requested wine with dinner, they brought local wines that were delicious and very reasonably priced. Meals were prepared with pride and a desire to introduce us to a variety of authentic Greek dishes. The hotel was fully renovated in 2010, so rooms are modern and very comfortable. They have strikingly beautiful views of the Aegean Sea.

Tsagarada is a small community comprised of 4 villages adjacent to one another. Total population is about 700 people. By the end of your stay, you’ll have experienced the gracious hospitality of the residents and gotten to know many on a first name basis. In Tsagarada and in the Pelion area, there are many charming hiking trails, town squares and tavernas, and beautiful beaches to explore. It is an historic area with a strong sense of traditional Greek culture. We are eager to return for another visit.

Room Tip: Ask for an Aegean Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith_and_Nancy_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed at the St. Stefano for our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier. The "half board" meal arrangment was new to us and we were a bit leery - but the staff was so impeccable and amazing our worries were unfounded and we quickly fell into a great routine. You will not, bar none, find better staff service anywhere in Greece. Possibly anywhere in Europe! The rooms are neat, cozy and clean - very modern as well. The hotel lobby is gorgeous and the dining area makes you feel like you're in an old fashioned British boarding school - also in a cozy, fun way. If you're unsatisifed, ask Costa and he will fix it for you! In addition, you can't beat the views - one of the most beautiful areas we've seen.

Room Tip: The second floor is better for views - make sure you ask for a balcony that can see the water, if po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed a week in August 2011. The room was perfect. The Food very good and diverse, and very nice helpful staff too. The gardens behind the building could be better cleaned and prepared for a gathering during the summer between the guests. If you don't have car, no problem, you can walk, do hitchhiking, and take the early buses. A must: go walk in the woods to at least taxiarches, beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flat Rock, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

After a long drive up a mountain to the hotel we were advised we had to pay 35 euro per person per day for food. This was a big dent in our budget and i had morning sickness during this trip and it wasn't like i was able to just eat whatever someone decided to feed me. The breakfast was the same thing each day. Dinner was nice but we had no choice in what we had to eat. Each morning we had to call down to the desk and let them know we needed hot water and if we spent all day at the beach and wanted hot water for a shower again we had to call and let them know. we were the only guest in the hotel and they made sure not to be put out because we were there! The lights in the hall outside of out room were always turned off we had to turn them on to see to walk down the stairs! Our shower leaked when we arrived and they told us it had to dry before they could fix it and then after some demanding we were moved to a room that had a working shower. Our view was blocked from the trees and we were told that the floor above us was closed. This hotel was clean and im sure it would have been better if we were not the only guest. There are some really nice pubs near by with great food and the beaches are amazing!

Room Tip: stay on the top floor for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Me and my wife spent a week here. The hotel is new and our room was spacious, clean and the furniture had a modern design and was in a great condition. Common area were very nicely decorated. From our balcony we could see the sea on the right over the tree tops and the mountain on the left. The staff was very friendly and they tried to make our stay very pleasant.
The hotel is located near the main road, very close to Tsagarada center. There are nice restaurants and pubs near by. The beaches are not so close but there's no problem if you have a car. The wonderful beach (imho) of Milopotamos is at 7-8 km away and Fakistra beach is 4 km away on a pretty steep descent. We made the trips even twice a day and it worth it.

And now the cons:
We knew that there was a mandatory half-board but we expected buffet (as other reviews suggested) but instead we had fixed menu. There was no choice if you didn't like the food served. They would improvise some low quality food like boiled chicken with mash potatoes made from potatoes flakes. Breakfast was dull. The same thing every day. And all that for "only" 35 euro per day per person.

One day we asked for a cold breakfast to go at 7am (breakfast started at 7:30). The manager said it was not possible. (!?) He offered coffee and cookies instead. This was very disappointing. How hard could it be to boil a few eggs and make some cold sandwiches and you can do it the night before while the kitchen staff is still there. This should not be a problem for a hotel with such high standards. This never happened to us before, anywhere we went. One of the staff (Costa) was incredible nice and just before we walked out the door he came with a small bag with toast with ham & cheese.

Also the rooms didn't had a safe deposit box and there was no alternatives at the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the last floor have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank horatiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsagkarada
0.0 mi away
Amanita
Amanita
#1 of 6 in Tsagkarada
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Kentrikon
Boutique Hotel Kentrikon
#2 of 3 in Agios Ioannis
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maistra
Maistra
#4 of 6 in Tsagkarada
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amaltheia
Hotel Amaltheia
#5 of 6 in Tsagkarada
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Minelska Resort
Hotel Minelska Resort
#1 of 3 in Kala Nera
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anovolios Boutique Hotel
Anovolios Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Agios Georgios Nilias
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Stefano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Stefano Hotel

Property: St Stefano Hotel
Address: Tsagkarada 37012, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Tsagkarada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tsagkarada
Hotel Class:3 star — St Stefano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your St Stefano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Stefano Hotel Greece/Tsagkarada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing