We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet beautiful spot in mount Pillion”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amanita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amanita
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tsagkarada
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet beautiful spot in mount Pillion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Spent 5 nights at Amanita. The place is beautiful, well kept, lovely buliding and lovely garden. Quiet and green. a 10-15 minutes drive from the most beautiful beach - Milapotomos. Close to the center of the village and restaurants. We are a family of 5 - stayed at the downstairs apartment which has a double bedroom, a living room with 3 beds and a small kitchen - perfect for a family. The service was very good. Excellent traditional breakfast with different local pastries every day. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
155
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Isolated absolutely wonderful environment nice houses, even nicer owners. You can 'force' them to learn their recipients with natures' secrets. Walk throught the old stone roads (kalderimi) under the treas or go to the wonderful sea places so unique and peaceful with no sweemers and noice this time of year. Imagine that centaurus lived there and feel and blend with ancient Greek history.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

About Mount Pelion:
We stayed two weeks at Amanita which is absolutely perfect. If you love nature, hiking, mountain, wonderful and quiet beaches, traditional food and authenticity this is the place to go…
You will not get bored; there are plenty of village’s beaches, old paths to explore. We did Kayak and Paddle surf at http://www.pelionsecrets.com/ which we truly recommend

About Amanita:
Filaretos and his team is extremely kind and fully devoted. They offer traditional and delicious home made bread, cakes, their famous mushroom omelette and other lovely local specialties.
The old-stone house and the rooms are full of charm, well decorated and super clean.
We went for mushroom picking and learnt to prepare some great traditional recipes with Filaretos.

We truly recommend Amanita !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giada G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Amanita is an incredible discovery! The stone-built guesthouses, nestled in the hills of Tsagkarada, are a perfect way to explore Mount Pelion. Filaretos, who operates the guesthouses with great passion and care, has curated every detail: the rooms are charming and inviting and the grounds are meticulously kept. From the home-made marmalades at breakfast, to cherry-picking in the garden our days were filled with activities that allowed us to explore and enjoy the magnificent countryside. We were even fortunate enough to join Filaretos on an impromptu mushroom-picking foray in the hills! Amanita exceeded our exceptions in every way, we can't recommend it enough!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and our daughters (10 and 11 years) for one week and we all loved it. We booked the Petrini suite, which is very spaceous and comfortable. Good quality furnishings and bedding, everything spotless. I fully share other reviewers' comments about the excellent breakfast and friendly service. We also enjoyed the late afternoon aperitif on the guest house terrace: Greek wine served with olives, sliced apple, yoghurt with sour cherries or quince or honey. Before leaving we bought some marmelade and jams made by our host, Filaretos, and they're a nice reminder of the wonderful week we spent a Amanita. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belgonate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortenberg, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Amanita, strongly recommended by friends. Excellent experience: all the good things from the Pilion area, beautiful setting of the hotel on the hill, nice view, historical cobble stone paths nearby to walk down the hill to the sea. A unique sense for details in the hotel, love for nature combined with an excellent service, hospitality and breakfast. Don't be afraid to drive up the hill to discover this Greek authenticity.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guidov36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights @ Amanita. the room is clean and had comftable beds. Breakfast served in a Greek traditional way and was tasty. The view was very nice - the sea, hills and forest. Our host was very nice to speak with and guided us for travelling tips in the area.
The Pilion area is great - we enjoyed visiting the beaches.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ofer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsagkarada
5.3 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chorefton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Kentrikon
Boutique Hotel Kentrikon
#2 of 3 in Agios Ioannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Minelska Resort
Hotel Minelska Resort
#1 of 3 in Kala Nera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Anovolios Boutique Hotel
Anovolios Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Agios Georgios Nilias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maistra
Maistra
#4 of 6 in Tsagkarada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amaltheia
Hotel Amaltheia
#5 of 6 in Tsagkarada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanita

Property: Amanita
Address: Tsagkarada 370 12, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Tsagkarada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tsagkarada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanita 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMANITA is situated in a truly privileged location between mountain and sea on the eastern slopes of Mt. Pelion in the genteel village of Tsangarada in the Prefecture of Magnesia, Greece. Behind it soars Mt. Pelion, ancient home of the Centaurs; a mountain much sung of; a mountain where the trees cast deep shade and countless springs bubble forth. Gazing outwards from the Guesthouse one sees the blue of the Aegean Sea, spotted with the islands of Skiathos, Skopelos and Alonnissos. All around is the verdant countryside of Tsangarada with its renowned paths, centuries old trees, old stone fountains and bridges.AMANITA is a beautifully restored old mansion of the 19th century. The AMANITA Guesthouse consists of two buildings: the three-storey main house and a two-storey outhouse. We offer 6 accommodation options, 5 of which are located in the main house (2 suites consisting of 2 rooms, 1 three-bed room and 2 double rooms), and a self-contained, fully fitted 2-room apartment with its own kitchenette in the outhouse. The main house has two sitting areas, a breakfast room and a professional kitchen. We attach great importance to local cuisine. That's why our famous breakfast that we serve includes hand-kneaded bread, home-made jam and local specialities such as pies and herby omelettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amanita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanita Greece/Tsagkarada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing