We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, Greek, English Silver Service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tsagkarada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lost Unicorn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tsagkarada
Certificate of Excellence
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quirky, Greek, English Silver Service”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

If you want to experience a hotel in the most picturesque region of Greece that you only thought existed in books set in the 1930's, this is the one. With a wonderful combination of atmosphere, great food, comfortable accommodation and friendliness. Set in the historic square of 'Agia Paraskevi' with it's ancient church and thousand year old London Plane tree. All set on the lush mountain side of the Pelion, surrounded by some of the best beaches int the world. This is Greece at it's very best......

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good and they do offer single rooms if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
80
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

What a wonderful find in the heart of Greece's Pelion.
The Lost Unicorn is a very homely comfortable and friendly hotel run by the perfect hosts, Christos and Claire, who provide excellent food and were also very informative about the surrounding area.
Hoping to return one day

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The Lost Unicorn sets a precedent with its name; you expect it to be magical. Fortunately, it lives up to the expectation at every turn. From its setting, nestled at the edge of a village square, shaded by an ancient plane tree and surrounded by similarly vast, spreading boughs, to the charm and humour of its owners ( they are a Greek/ English couple and seem ably to combine the best aspects of both nationalities) to the colourful characters who populate the surrounding area (there's an old guy who wears a plastic-covered photo of his late wife on his chest!) and from the charming, hilly walks to the calm, pleasant beaches, this really offers the best of all worlds to anyone wanting to experience a taste of Greece more authentic and beguiling than the all-laid-on escort. Granted, there's no pool but the beaches are within close reach and, nearby, a resort called 12 seems to be pretty cool about non-guests using the facilities as long as you buy a drink or somesuch. There are places to eat out but it's way too tempting to stay in of an evening with one of the owners donning his whites to serve up food that retains a distinctly sophisticated flavour; a welcome change if you've been doing the taverna lunch thing every day. Tranquil without being even remotely dull: we can't wait to go back.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank PacificButty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

A Unique (literally) hotel in the Heart of Greece's Pelion. The owners are animal lovers (the only downside, is the town has a lot of dogs, and if you are a light sleeper, you might find the barking a disturbance). But nestled next to one of the largest plane trees in the world (14m diameter), in lush gardens, the restuarant has first rate Greek fusion food, a great house wine, with unusual wildlife on amlmost all the numerous walks in the area. We saw toroises, Stone Marten, three species of woodpecker, and nightingales hop-ped around in the open (unlike in UK). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JABSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Édessa, Pella, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

the lost unicorn is offered me one of the most excellent experiences in my life as a traveller. very inspiring. the hotel owners are very hospitable and you feel that you are a wanted and precious guest. very nice breakfast and food in the restaurant. a must choice.

Spyros

Room Tip: check the rooms from the side of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paloukis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I have stayed a number of times at The Lost Unicorn both in summer and winter and it's hard to find enough superlatives to describe my stay.

The owners Christos and Clare's attention to detail and hospitality is second to none. Every room is beautifully decorated, the food the best I've ever tasted, and nothing is too much trouble for them.

During the summer it was lovely and cool without the need for airconditioning. Breakfast out on the terrace and cool peaceful evening drinks after a day spent at one of the fantastic nearby beaches.

In winter the cosy fires and relaxing library are a haven to completely unwind after a day of beautiful walks full of stunning scenery. Evening meals are an absolute treat. Everything is home cooked , even the bread, which is to die for !

The Lost Unicorn really is one of those very special places you just have to visit. My only complaint is ........That I can't stay forever.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed as a single traveller at The Lost Unicorn Hotel. The owners could not have made my stay more comfortable . The hotel is an old Pelion mansion presiding over the main square. The rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean and the hearty breakfast amazing. Such attention to detail is evident in all aspects of both the hotel and the resteraunt. As a vegetarian I very much appreciated the delicious meals , all made from locally sourced vegetables, fruit and cheese. This hotel is way above any other hotels that I have stayed at during many years of visiting different areas of Greece. Treat yourself and stay here !

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsagkarada
0.4 mi away
Amanita
Amanita
#1 of 6 in Tsagkarada
281 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chorefto
106 reviews
2.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Kentrikon
Boutique Hotel Kentrikon
#1 of 3 in Agios Ioannis
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Anovolios Boutique Hotel
Anovolios Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Agios Georgios Nilias
56 reviews
2.3 mi away
Manthos Blue Hotel
Manthos Blue Hotel
#3 of 3 in Agios Ioannis
39 reviews
13.7 mi away
Leda Village Resort
Leda Village Resort
#1 of 2 in Chorto
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lost Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lost Unicorn Hotel

Property: The Lost Unicorn Hotel
Address: Agia Paraskevi, Tsagkarada 370 12, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Tsagkarada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tsagkarada
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lost Unicorn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Unicorn occupies an 19th century mansion at the central square of Tsagarada. It is furnished with antiques and its rooms have private bathrooms and balconies. Other room facilities include Cocomat mattresses, flat screen TVs, safes. hair-dryer, refrigerators and free Wi-Fi internet. The Lost Unicorn features a wonderful restaurant with velvet chairs and crystal chandeliers, a baby grand piano and a Victorian fireplace. In the Summer months the guest dine at a magical flower-filled terrace with a small fountain, that overlooks the oldest Plane Tree in Europe. The hotel’s chef specialises in a fusion of French and Italian cuisine prepared with local produce. The hotel also features a well-stocked Library and games’ room where guests can relax and enjoy a book or listen to vinyl records and an aristocratic Salon filled with antiques where guests can have a drink from the Honesty Bar.The beaches of Mylopotamos and Damouhari are just a ten minutes’ drive away. Hotel rooms: 8 all en-suite with large shower enclosed cubicles. Most rooms have balconies and high ceilings with colonial fans or Air Condition. We also serve the best Full English breakfast in Pelion! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lost Unicorn Hotel
The Lost Unicorn Hotel Greece/Tsagkarada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing