We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time here, still perfect”
Review of Hotel Wellamarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wellamarin
Ranked #1 of 14 Zamardi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel 2 years ago, and since it was perfect, we decided to visit again.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Meals are delicious and good quality.
The room is perfect, clean and comfortable, spacious and bright. However when we entered the room, there was smelling something bad in the bathroom, so we mentioned it to the receptionist. Then we went down to the shore for a short walk and during this time they fixed it, since when we got back we found everything in well order, and bad odor was terminated. Anyway the room is as nice as it was 2 years ago. It is obvious that they take care of the room condition.
The weather was warm, so at this time we missed indoor spa facilities and used the outdoor pool and sun terrace with the wonderful panoramic views to Lake Balaton and Tihany. The water was perfect, around 28 degrees. Cocktails and spirits are excellent at the pool bar too.
It is also very good that staff gives you a receipt of your services so you can follow up your bill.
We hired bikes too, its price was reasonable with no special conditions (in town it is more expensive with very strict conditions).
We found out that during the last two years some developments were done (a nice bistro area is opened from the side of the lake, though we did not not have enougt time to try).

Will we get back to Wellamarin Hotel? Definitely, as soon as possible!
Well done, Wellamarin :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magdi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

The room was great. Plenty of room and well furnished. The location by the lake was good, and so were both the indoor and outdoor pools. The two-lane bowling was an unexpected bonus. The food was surprisingly interesting and good at dinner, and good at breakfast. Really my only complaint is that the wifi (which worked well) was available only in the public areas and not in the rooms. Not very Hungary 2014.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We traveled on Motorcycle and they had very secure covered parking which was very nice. We were there Off Season so the Hotel was not fully booked. Very nice Hotel, spacious very clean Rooms. The Indoor pool area is very well maintained and due to that there was hardly any people there was plenty of space. Very good selection on Saunas and Steam rooms. The Breakfast could be a little better if real O-Juice would be served instead of Lemonade, but the food selection is plenty and good. The Dinners were phenomenal, especially the appetizers. The outdoor pool was a bit to cool since it is not heated. The Lake itself is very nice, clean and by the time we left it had 24 Degrees and we enjoyed the water and the grassy Beaches. The lake is great to ride a bicycle and it is easy to take the Ferry across to Thiany which is a nice little town and lots to see. The Staff in Hotel was very helpful especially our waiter (I think his name was Michael) he spoke very good English and was so nice and pleasant. We had a Aroma Massage Oil in the Black and Orange Wellness area which was very nice, if they would have also massaged the Head and Arms and Hands they would get a 5 * on that.
Great overall Stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randyandpetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We drove here and found it very difficult to locate because Zamardi is very long and signposts few and far between.The guide book said that Lake Balaton opens in May but in the middle of the month Zamardi was still in Winter shutdown.The weather was bleak so the hotel's spa facilities which we had to ourselves were a very positive facility.Nothing wrong with the room, staff were helpful and the food was decent.We would not go here out of season again and cannot comment what it is like in Summer.

Room Tip: Select one with a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights en-route to a conference in Budapest as had often thought about visiting Lake Balaton. The hotel is unusual by UK / US standards, being aimed at Hungarian and German Spa clients - and the only option was to stay half board, which isnt something we would usually choose to do, however the standard of the evening buffet was much better than we expected. Breakfast disappointing - as apart from house baked bread, everything else was pretty low grade bought in food. Lovely indoor pool which we had to ourselves and another small outdoor pool, which was closed when we were there. Right on the beach though which we were informed has warm shallow waters - but we were a little too early for it to be warm enough. Interesting area - mostly holiday homes - some fabulous, some not, but because this is the longest 'free' beach on the south side of the island its the most popular area. Didnt see the actual town which is a 40 minute walk to the south and the weather on our only full day there turned stormy. Staff all wonderful and very helpful, from Vivien who made sure we had 3 parking spaces reserved together for our long van, to Judit who was so helpful when trying to get the air con to work in our room, and Thomas in the restaurant - everyone we had contact with was just lovely. In comparison to other hotels it was expensive, but compared to Budapest itself it isnt, and out of season it was very plesant with lovely views of the lake and sunsets from our balcony (all rooms have balcony but not all have lake view -which is charged extra for)
However - we had a big problem on our first night. Air Conditioning. We had a problem in that it had been very hot the day we arrived - and my first thing is always to put on the AC to cool the room down - however all we could get was recirculated warm air. Four trips to reception later and they were still trying to figure out how to make it work in our room. The system is a very complicated electronic centrally controlled system, which they operate from reception - however nothing they could do would make it stay on for any length of time. Judit was determined to help us and in the end gave us the instruction book so we were able to take over control of our own room - but it would have been so much nicer having driven for 8 hours to have just walked through the door and turn it on and enjoy a drink on the balcony. Instead I made 4 trips to reception, we then ended up eating late, and not enjoying the evening as we hoped to do. I assume this system saves thousands by controlling the temperature rather than letting customers have control, but the implication is that you have aircon, and thats what we expected to be able to use. It also meant after a pretty unplesant day travelling I then had an almost sleepless night and because of this is the only reason we probably will not return -which is a great shame as otherwise it would be a good stop over for us next time we are en-route to Budapest.

Room Tip: Just make sure the air con works if you need a cool room to sleep in Lake view is lovely, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend spa break and was certainly not disappointed. The hotel was lovely with spacious modern rooms, awesome food and a spa you were more than happy to relax in. This hotel does attract a lot of families so if you are looking for a child free hotel this may not be the place for you but it didn't bother us at all. The hotel is located right on the lakeside and is 5 minutes from Siofok (Balaton's main "party" place). There's nothing much to do in Zamardi itself but the crossing to Tihany is a 2 minute drive from the hotel which is also a beautiful place to visit.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Emi-lou23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Nice hotel, just meters from the lake. Clean and spacious rooms. Good food for breakfast and dinner the variety of food is not bad but it can be a little wider at dinner. Professional and helpful staff. Wellness possibilities are good, I would like to go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoborc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zamardi
5.0 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 39 in Siofok
370 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Kentaur
Hotel Kentaur
#4 of 39 in Siofok
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Familia
Hotel Familia
#2 of 3 in Zamardi
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Residence Balaton Conference & Wellness Hotel
6.1 mi away
Mala Garden Hotel
Mala Garden Hotel
#1 of 39 in Siofok
184 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ket Korona Hotel
Ket Korona Hotel
#1 of 6 in Balatonszarszo
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wellamarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wellamarin

Address: Eoetvoes utca 15/1, Zamardi 8621, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Southern Transdanubia > Somogy County > Zamardi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Zamardi
Price Range: £93 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wellamarin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let’s get tuned to the same wave…115 km from Budapest, on the Southern shore of Lake Balaton, located on the 3 km long beach of Zamárdi, in our brand new built four-star wellness hotel, the Hotel Wellamarin.Our hotel is situated right on the shore in picturesque setting, immediate foreground of the Northern shore’s lined hills and the beautiful view of the Tihany Abbey; an ideal location offering a recharge.Our hotel has 118 rooms and suites for our guest available in various categories: Superior, and Deluxe room, Superior, Deluxe, and „Tihany” Apartment, and Suit. We can provide Accessible rooms for our handicapped guest, and we also offer rooms with kitchenette, apartments, and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Wellamarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing