We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This place is magical”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Whitestrand House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Doonbeg, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
RoryGeelo...
Naas, Ireland
2 reviews
“This place is magical”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is a beautiful finished holiday home, fabulous interior. Clean and fresh. Offering breath taking views of the White Stand, Atlantic Ocean and the West Clare coastline.

The owners Teresa and Michael are wonderful friendly people who made every effort to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

The farming experience was the highlight of the holiday for my son! He can't wait to go back next year.

This place is a little piece of heaven

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2017
Hi Rory. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Doonbeg. Thank you for your lovely review. Michael and I look forward to seeing you all next August. Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evaandpet...
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Lovely modern cottage near the ocean”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved this recently renovated and well-equipped cottage with its many large windows, allowing to continuously view the ever-changing ocean. The owners, Teresa and Michael, are very friendly. Our three girls enjoyed milking the cows with them and we enjoyed the chats about the pros and cons of farm life. The three body boards in the shed were a nice surprise, highly appreciated by our daughters. Next to the ocean, there's a lot to see and do: We explored the loop head peninsula, marveled at the Cliffs of Moher, visited the Ailwee cave and the birds of prey centre, and went hiking in the Burren.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thanks Eva. It was lovely meeting you all and appreciate your review. Hope ye enjoyed the horse and trap experience in Mayo. Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrina...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another perfect family holiday in Whitestrand!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Another great holiday this year in Whitestrand. House is still amazing with everything you need to make your stay comfortable including lots of accessories for the kids such as buckets & spades, boggie boards, fishing nets for the amazing rock pools (we found lots of small fish, crabs and even some star fish!), wellies, books, dvds and jigsaws etc. Location very relaxing. Teresa, Michael and the family were very welcoming again and if we needed anything all we had to do was ask. Location is perfect to explore the beautiful county of Clare. We have already made our booking for next year!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Hi Corrina.. it was lovely to have you all stay with us again this year. I hope the girls enjoyed milking and helping with the calves. Tell them we said hello. See you next July.
Best wishes,
Teresa and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Hi Maeve.. Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday in Doonbeg. We are very fortunate to have such fantastic restaurants in the village. Looking forward to seeing you again sometime.
Regards , Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JansWeitW...
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Perfect family retreat with stunning views on the atlantic ocean.”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Me and my family (including 3 children and grandparents) just spent 2 weeks in this wonderful family retreat. The view from the house is spectacular, the family-friendly beach is just a 2 min walk down the road. The couple running the place is lovely and live just up the road. My daughter loved getting involved with some of the daily farming routine. Thanks for everything, we had a great time. Wonderful spot!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
It was our pleasure to welcome you all to our guest house. Tell Alma we miss her and we loved having her help with the cows. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland. Regards, Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HildaM212
1 review
“Perfect location to enjoy the wonderful Co Clare.”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I knew the minute I read the reviews on Whitestrand House, this was perfect for our family. Myself and my husband, our two kids aged 9 and 6 yrs plus my parents stayed for 7 nights.

The house is newly refurbished to a very high standard with 3 double rooms. Loads of room for 6 people and plenty around to explore.

The kids had a fantastic time exploring the rocks and pools when the tide was out.
The weather was a little cold, but it was so amazing to come back to the house and feel the warmth, it was just perfect.
Teresa was amazing, so lovely and so helpful, always on call if we needed anything, which we didn't because she has everything you would need for your stay.

I would highly recommend Whitestrand House and hope to book again for our next trip.
Thanks again Teresa.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Hilda. It was my pleasure to welcome you all to Doonbeg. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you all again in the future. Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare M
1 review
“Absolutely perfect home away from home!”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Our family of six recently stayed at the Whitestrand House for a week and could not have had a better experience. The location was stunning and totally unique — nestled on a small farm located right on the beach! The house was very spacious, totally spotless and very sunny, with all the amenities of home. Teresa was wonderful and took great care to make sure that we had everything we needed. Mornings at the Whitestrand House were particularity magical. The sun would pour through the large window overlooking the bay and we would walk down to the beach, coffee in hand. We will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Thanks Clare for the lovely review. I thoroughly enjoyed meeting you all. Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to Whitestrand House again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing