We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home - but with better scenery - and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Doonbeg, County Clare

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
JimoHarlo...
Harlow
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home from home - but with better scenery - and chickens”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was our third visit in 9 months but, at two weeks, the longest in duration. As usual Nuala (owner) had made sure the place was spick and span and had kindly left us a few basic supplies and a nice bottle of wine. The house is equipped for all eventualities and all weathers - a must in a country like Ireland. Luckily we only had one bad day so we couldn't complain about the weather.
All of the appliances in the kitchen were utilised - oven, hob, dishwasher, microwave, washing machine and tumble dryer. Solar panels provided copious hot water for the showers with no messing around with immersion heaters!
When the sun shone we sat out in the well stocked gardens with manicured lawns enjoying the beautiful surroundings. We made use of the three gratis eggs a day provided by the resident chickens and even had a run of double yokers!
The house was a perfect base for visiting relatives, we explored the Burren and took in the fantastic scenery along the Wild Atlantic Way, taking in Kilrush, Kilkee, Doonbeg, Quilty, Spanish Point, Miltown Malbay, Lahinch and Doolin amongst others. There were great walks along the stunning cliffs in Kilkee and also the lesser known scenery at Baltard Castle and the Blue Pool.
The beach at Doonbeg's White Strand is a beautiful Blue Flag beach that is ideal and safe for small children and fun for the bigger kids and adults.
We managed the long walk from the house up Doughmore Beach to the Lodge at Doonbeg's Trump International golf course, rewarding ourselves with a tasty cream tea before walking back. We drove there another night to partake of the food menu which was equally as nice.
We also decided to do a 2 hour kayak tour of Doonbeg bay with Doonbeg Ocean Evolution. The six of us had a great time and thought the 35 Euro each for 2 hours fun and exercise was well worth it.
At the end of each hectic day we always had Sandhills House to come back to and relax in. We still didnt do everything we thought we might so it looks like we shall have to come back again. We look forward to our next visit to Nuala and Declan at Sandhills House. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we do appreciate it! Hope to give ye another Cead Mile Failte again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
County Tipperary, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely fabulous holiday experience in Sandhills House”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We arrived to an extremely warm welcome. The house is a beautful house and is very child friendly. There is a lovely back garden with a trampoline and swing/slide set for the children to use as much as they wanted. We also had access to the family farm which our children loved and I think will not be forgetting for a long time. They helped with milking each day and Brian and his Dad were so patient and kind with their time in training them as potential dairy farmers! The scenery in the area of Doonbeg/Kilkee and all along the coast line is breathtaking. I was not ever in Clare before but we are already looking forward to spending our summer holiday at Sandhills House in 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming feel throughout our stay.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2014
Thank you for posting that lovely review and really looking forward to welcoming ye back here again next July.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dollydagg...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent holiday home with all amenities, in an unspoilt setting of natural beauty. Top marks.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Travelling to visit relatives in this hauntingly beautiful part of the World, we very luckily stumbled across Sandhills House on Trip Advisor. What a find! The house is situated in the most perfect location where peace and tranquility reign. Two minutes walk from an unspoilt, wild and beautiful beach, the house has been perfectly built and designed by husband and wife team, with no stone left unturned so as to ensure all comforts and maximum relaxation are met. With three good sized bedrooms all of which are en-suite, spread out in a spacious fashion, with a large dining area next to a fully equipped kitchen, that takes you out to a garden should you wish to relax and take in the clearest of Atlantic air, or just to have the children play. All high spec finishes throughout have resulted in top quality throughout. Children's toys and games are supplied and beach equipment is available upon request, at no extra cost. A printed book of places to visit, where to shop, what to do, local walks and much more is there to welcome you. The modern decor and spacious layout of the house, that is equipped to the hilt with every amenity that you could possibly need, ensures that you want for nothing, which in our experience, is quite rare in holiday rentals. The stunning location of this beautiful part of the West Coast of Ireland, leaves you wishing that you had booked to stay longer, for it would be hard not to feel relaxed and refreshed after a stay at The Sandhills, and with much breathtaking scenery to visit in County Clare, time runs away. We will most definitely be back, and will make sure that we book in advance so as to avoid disappointment, for this place is surely too good to miss. Thank you to Nuala and family for making our stay truly memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, most especially the cleanliness and presentation
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lengthy review - it is very much appreciated! We look forward to welcoming ye back to Sandhills House next spring.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterboyD...
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The complete self-catering house”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have stayed in quite a few self catering houses around Ireland since we had children and I can say without doubt this has the best facilities.For kids it has a trampoline and swings and slides and a go-kart and bikes and items like buckets and spades and a beach tent for the beach.In the house there was a big selection of toys and games in addition to a fully equipped kitchen with bags,tin foil,dishwasher tablets and washing machine tablets(all the essential things that sometimes are missing from self catering houses).
Nuala the owner is a most inviting and friendly host and when we arrived she had muffins and chocolate buttons for the kids, and even though we had a couple of small accidents in the house she graciously passed them over.
My only quibble and this is just me,is that there is no fireplace in the house,but I'm probably a bit old school when it comes to this.

All in all a wonderful setting just 5 mins from a fantastic beach surrounded by cows and the sea with a wonderful equipped house and a great host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kid's swings,slides and trampoline.
Liked least: No fireplace.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post that great review. It is reviews such as yours that has helped us earn a 2014 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence so it is very much appreciated. Hope to welcome ye all back to Sandhills House again some time. Regards, Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan_5
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday rental in Doonbeg”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of spending four nights here.

It was extremely easy to book and with Nuala's directions there were no problems finding it.

The house is beautiful, exceptionally well stocked and immaculately clean. This isn't your ordinary holiday rental. The attention to detail used building and maintaining this house really shows.

We visited during a severe storm and the whole area lost power for about a day, but Nuala couldn't have been more helpful. There's a gas hob and the hot water is supplied by solar panels so it wasn't a bad place to be with no power.

It's in a great location, only a five minute walk from the beach. We managed a few walks with the ever friendly dogs Bruno, Max and Bailey.

All things considered, I couldn't fault it. I've no doubt we'll be back (hopefully when the weather's better!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2014
Hi Ronan - many thanks for taking the time to post that great review. We'd be delighted to welcome ye back again and we'll try to arrange a little sunshine the next time! Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaglescliffe
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Oct 2013
Hi Sally - many thanks for writing such a lengthy review. Glad ye enjoyed the week in West Clare and there will always be a Cead Mile Failte for ye here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sid010101
Stanford, California
1 review
“Look no further--Ideal place!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I stayed at Sandhills for two nights with 3 other people. The place was immaculate and incredibly well organized and stocked. Every detail to make the trip enjoyable was thought of. The owner had even purchased some basics for the fridge and had baked us scones! The location was also just perfect, short walk to a beautiful beach. Ideally located to see the Cliffs and enjoy the Irish countryside. There is no doubt that this was the best place I stayed in Ireland and I would absolutely love to come back! Very easy check in and check out. I could not ask for a single thing more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, friendlieness of owner
Liked least: NOTHING!!! It was perfect. I guess I disliked having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2013
Hi Sid - many thanks for your great review. Glad ye enjoyed yere stay with us and we would be delighted to welcome ye back to West Clare again some time. Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$128
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing