We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So good we came twice!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Doonbeg, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
dollydagg...
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So good we came twice!”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having had such a wonderful experience at Sandhills House in 2014, we returned once again with friends, who were so impressed with Clare and all of its beauty and charm. They felt so relaxed in the spacious, well designed house, with bedrooms set far enough apart so as to give space to all occupants. Our stay here was again faultless with impeccable attention to detail just as before. We visited in February, yet the house was warm and welcoming. The house is so very maintained and so spotlessly clean. With a breathtakingly captivating beach a couple of minutes away, and others just a drive away, the peace and serenity of this setting the of the very best. Top marks to Nuala & Declan for making our stay so faultless. We just cannot resist the call of the west, and when we do it is to the Sandhill house that will return. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: No best as everything is wonderful, but the layout of the bedrooms is a real plus.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for that lovely review, our first of 2016! Looking forward to meeting ye again some time. Take care. Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyne...
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab-u-lous”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great place to stay. Very close to a wonderful beach and fantastic scenery. No stress at all in this picture postcard corner of Ireland.
It is worth trying the spa at Trunps golf course for a bit of relaxation and the food in the bar was delicious.
The cottage has everything that you need for a great stay, plus a few lovely touches to make it a home away from home. Nuala, the owner had baked some fresh scones, stocked the fridge with fresh milk, juice and butter and provided fresh eggs every day.
I would go back in a flash!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location and tranquility
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and so promptly! We would be delighted to have ye back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful escape from it all”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sandhills House. It was so peaceful and relaxing, the purfect place to get away from it all. We enjoyed exploring the surrounding area (ruins, townships, the lighthouse) and our daily walks along the beautiful beach were a highlight. Our children also loved exploring all of the rocks pools with the owners friendly dogs for company. The house itself was beautiful (probably one of the best we have ever stayed in). The owner had ensured that everything we could want was already provided, including some delicious fresh baking upon our arrival. The quality of everything was outstanding and there was not once that we wished for anything more. It is no wonder that this property has won awards. We highly recommend this vacation rental and we hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Thank you for that excellent review. Delighted that ye enjoyed yere family time together at Sandhills House and we would love to have ye back again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne M
Ravensburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"feel at home" highly recommended accomodation”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was our first stay in Sandhills House this year. We are really enthused about
this accomodation and Nuala, our host. We had such a friendly and warm welcome, even with fresh baked scones and bread. The house is very spacious and affectionate furnished. The little baskets with useful things in every sleeping room are so nice ! Everything is perfectly clean and the kitchen is completely equipped. The garden is gorgeous. A place to relax and rest. But also our children with 10 and 12 years could play here for hours with the swing ball and the trampoline. And with the “dogs gang”, of course. And they love to help on the family farm with milking. Even at 6.30 a.m. in the morning….
At any time Nuala and her family was very helpful for answering our questions or make arrangements for fishing or riding.
After a few minutes walk your reach the long, sandy beach. It´s a wonderful and recreative atmosphere there. We loved to be here and we have booked for next year already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2015
Thank you for that great review and we can't wait to have ye back here with us again next summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustav P
Oberperfuss, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful accomodation and lovely host”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time in Sandhills House. The house was bigger than expected and perfectly clean and tidy. We had three large bedrooms, three very new and clean bathrooms and a spacious living area. Especially our teenage daughter was delighted about the numerous toiletries and beauty products in every bathroom. The large kitchen contained every utensil we needed to cook a warm meal in the evening when we came home from our day trip. The garden was beautifully cared for and I took some poppy seeds to grow in my own garden in Austria. We were allowed to take vegetable and fresh eggs from Nualas hens every day.
Our host gave us a very warm welcome with freshly baked bread and scones. There were lots of essentials in the cupboards and in the fridge.
Nuala was very helpful in every way. In the nearby pub we were told that she is the best. And she is indeed!
Sandhills House is perfectly located for day trips. The house is also very close to a beautiful beach and our kids went swimming when we arrived though the weather was not very good. We really recommend Sandhills House!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked everything.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for that wonderful review. I hope the poppy seeds grow for you - it would be lovely to know that something from our garden is growing in your garden in Austria!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurich, Germany
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Really appreciate you taking the time to submit this review. Glad ye enjoyed Ireland and especially West Clare!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nuala's attention to detail. The house was superior to the majority of hotels we have stayed.
Liked least: Nothing. Faultless!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Mile buiochas for that great review! Would be delighted to welcome ye back again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing