We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home with the benifit of a beach,golf...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Doonbeg, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Extraordi...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home with the benifit of a beach,golf course,countryside and garden.”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you love the outdoors this location could not be bettered, walk the beach and find sea glass plus dogs and locals who are all friendly. Stroll country lanes and see skylarks and wildflowers, breathe clean air .The house has every comfort required, cupboards well stocked and masses of games to amuse all age groups . A short car ride we found delicious restaurants in which to eat with the friendliest of staff. An absolute must is a visit to the Burren, miniature rock gardens beside the Atlantic, WOW. A second WOW is to drive The Loop scenic route, fabulous, and that's coming from someone who lives in Cornwall !! All in all you won't be disappointed spending time with Nuala and family and exploring the delights of County Clare.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post that lovely review and great that ye got to experience so much of what our area has to offer. Would be delighted to welcome ye back again sometime. Regards, Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacky585
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A delightful house inside and out”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Sandhills house is delightful both inside and out, it is lovely and clean and everything we could wish for was provided.
The beach is huge and just a short stroll away, the garden is a nice sheltered place to sit.
Nuala is wonderful, she will solve any problem, answer any question and helps to make your stay perfect.
Four of us rented this property for a week and we all strongly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for our 60th review and a lovely one it is too! Glad ye had a good experience here and hope our paths cross again sometime. Take care, Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msmaguire...
Ballybrittas, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5* in every way”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here while attending a family wedding in Trump International. Having stayed a number of years ago I knew to expect the highest standards and had told my family what to expect. Even so, they were still blown away by the standard of accommodations, the beautiful surroundings and all the thoughtful little extras both inside and outside the house. The milk, eggs, scones, juice were very welcome at 4 in the morning as was the complimentary shuttle provided by the hotel!
The house is maintained to an impeccable standard and my sister commented that Nuala had thought of everything when it comes to short stay needs. Many thanks for the wonderful hospitality. Looking forward to our next visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2017
Mile buiochas for that lovely review. Really appreciated and we look forward to welcoming ye back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amaljamal...
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely beautiful....”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Sandhills House is a treasure of a place to stay for a family. Nuala, the owner, is so wonderfully kind and welcoming. The house itself is spacious and spectacularly clean. The beds are so comfortable, the bathrooms, of which there are three, are luxurious. There are three bedrooms and four beds; three of which are queen sized and one of which is single. The living room is spacious and the kitchen is quite large with a door that opens out to the garden. This house also has a washer and dryer. Not only that, but you are welcome to collect eggs from her chicken coop for your breakfast!

We could have easily filled our time just relaxing and staying home at this house as there is endless grass to play on, a trampoline, swings, balls and a goal, a beautiful garden, and five fairy houses hidden in the garden for the children to seek out. Also, within a 4 minute walk is a beautiful beach, and Nuala has buckets, shovels, rain boots, and picnic blankets that her guests are welcome to use. Not only that but there is a go-cart the children can drive to the beach!!!

Nuala has a wealth of knowledge about the many wonderful places to visit and how to arrange your time in Clare to see the most. She spent some time with us showing us on the wonderful maps she has all the different sites we could see and how to group them together to see the most in a day. Her knowledge was most helpful.

We had such a wonderful visit at Sandhills House and we absolutely miss walking down to the beach for the beautiful sunsets.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thanks for that lovely review and I hope that our paths cross again sometime. It was a pleasure having ye stay with us. Take care, Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
semangel
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We visited Sandhills at the beginning of April, two adults and three children.
We had a wonderful stay, Nuala was so welcoming and helpful. We've stayed in quite a few holiday let's and this was definitely the best equipped house we've ever stayed in. We especially appreciated all the toys and outdoor things for the children to enjoy, the trampoline, go-kart and football were very popular with them!
The location is great and we loved being able to walk down to the beach and our older son loved the dogs especially Bruno.
We definitely hope to return next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post that lovely review and we would be delighted to welcome ye back here again next year. Take care! Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic house with everything you could ask for. Nuala was an unbelievable host with scones & cookies on arrival. As it was the week after Easter, Nuala had even hidden small chocolate eggs in the garden for the children to find. I don't think there is one thing Nuala doesn't think of, from the type of client visiting to the facilities in the property. There is a lovely beach on the doorstep and plenty of places to visit. We will definitely be visiting again soon. Thanks so much Nuala. The McGuirk Family

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Mile Buiochas for that taking the time to post that lovely review. See ye next year! Slan, Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freebiema...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious, fully-equipped house with lots of thoughtful extras”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Nuala is the perfect host and her house is spacious and lovely. My children loved her garden, chickens (and fresh eggs!), her sweet dog Bruno, and the go-cart! They also enjoyed walking to the beach and dairy farm that were just a few minutes away from the house. Nuala provided yummy scones for us and the kitchen is well equipped. It was nice to have a washer and dryer available. Additionally, the house has everything you might need for an Irish holiday--even lots of wellies in the garage! Nuala answered our many questions about sightseeing and gave us a wonderful restaurant suggestion (Naughton's in Kilkee--the food was so good!). Nuala went above and beyond to make sure we had a fabulous holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post that lovely review and so glad everyone had an enjoyable holiday here with us. Take care, Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing