We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from Home!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Doonbeg, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
aileenogg...
County Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
“Home away from Home!”
Reviewed 8 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We are just home from a wonderful week at the Sandhills. I couldnt recommend this house highly enough. We arrived to freshly baked scones and muffins and a stocked fridge.its all the small things that count..the house was meticulously clean and nuala made us feel very welcome. We had lots of family visitors during the week, with some staying for a few nights, and nuala didn't bat an eyelid..she even gave us an extra pull out bed.her garage was like a treasure trove for the kids...from fishing nets to wellies to chalk to surfboards and buckets and spades.everything you needed for the beach.nuala has left no stone unturned and we will definitely stay in the sandhills again! Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for that glowing review. Delighted that everyone enjoyed their time here and we look forward to meeting you all again sometime. Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
1 review
“Fantastic family friendly spot!”
Reviewed 7 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed for a week in Sandhills in July and it was absolutely fantastic! The location was beautiful - so close to the beach and perfect for touring Clare and doing day trips to Kilkee, Kilrush, Loop Head! For us, the house was amazing. We have stayed in a number of self-catering houses around Ireland but this was without doubt the best! Every single little thing you could want in self-catering is provided in Sandhills! This made our stay so comfortable. The house was spotlessly clean and comfortable and having tea, coffee, milk, scones etc. there for us when we arrived meant we didn't have to begin our holiday with a grocery shop (always my least favourite job)!

Our boys loved the pedal go kart and body boards and there were so many toys, books, dvds, games and jigsaws - they loved it! The eggs from the hens were such a novelty for the kids (as well as being delicious) and they didn't have a chance to 'get bored'!
Nuala is very professional and friendly - but also leaves you to enjoy the house without being interfering. From our first email to enquire about booking to when we got home (she offered to post a toy our little boy left behind) she was very helpful and quick to reply. We would definitely recommend Sandhills and hope to stay there again sometime. Thanks Nuala for a wonderful stay :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Mile buiochas for that wonderful review. It was a pleasure having ye stay with us and we would be delighted to welcome ye back again sometime. Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinB53C...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Amazing House, Amazing Location on The Wild Atlantic Way, Amazing Host”
Reviewed 27 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

From the moment we arrived at Sandhills House we knew we were at home and would have a fantastic holiday with our 4 boys. What more can you ask for than being welcomed by Nuala and Declan with beautiful brown bread, cakes, scones and a fully equipped fridge to start us off. Nuala left nothing to chance and the house was so easy to manage with everything fully laid out and labeled. Our boys also loved the access to the football goals and trampoline whilst always being minded by Bruno and Cooper (the resident friendly dogs). For myself the fresh eggs every morning were a great bonus and great fun for the boys also. Sandhills is literally a stones throw from the amazing Doughmore beach and has loads of rock pools for the kids. It is also set in its own beautiful garden which luckily for us regularly caught the evening sun. The house also gives easy access to the Wild Atlantic Way which allows exploration of the Cliffs of Moher, Lahinch, The Burren, Ailwee Caves and Loop Head. Doonbeg itself is just a 5 minute drive away and has two fantastic family friendly restaurants in Morriseys and Tubridys. We love this part of the world and will certainly be returning if the house is not fully booked already for 2019. The last little thing for me was bags of jellies from Nuala for the boys for the journey home. A memorable 2 weeks. Thanks so much Nuala.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2018
Thank you for that lengthy review - we really appreciate it. Delighted that ye had a memorable holiday with us and looking forward to seeing ye again next July.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trafah
Halle (Saale), Germany
2 reviews
“Perfect location, top house and a very nice host family”
Reviewed 26 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We spent our second vacation at Sandhills House which is a great family-friendly, top located and very well equipped vacation home. We enjoyed the nearby beach, the extraordinary weather, the pets and our relaxed two kids.

Nuala thank you very much again!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2018
It was great having ye back again with us this year and delighted ye experienced some great weather! Thanks a million for the lovely review. Nuala. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G K
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed 29 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This was our 2nd stay in Sandhills House and this year we were lucky enough to catch a heatwave! What better place to be during hot weather, while we drove around and saw the sites last year we enjoyed Doughmore beach (5 mins walk from the house down the private driveway ... well, the kids usually took the go kart to drive down, it comes with the house!) to the full this year and literally did not use the car other than getting groceries once in three days. We had a really relaxing stay. The children were thrilled to see Bruno again and to get to know Cooper, the super friendly new dog on the block :-) The house was as well equipped as ever with lots of condiments, tea, coffee etc - so handy to have some basics like oil and vinegar, salt etc, there was also complimentary milk, orange juice, jam etc & scones and buns on arrival. We were spoilt! Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2018
Thank you for that great review and it was lovely having ye back with us again this year, especially during the heatwave!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe K
1 review
“Family trip to Clare”
Reviewed 15 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

An amazing house in a great rural location, with every amenity you could ask for. Brilliant for kids, mainly due play equipment,games and wide open spaces, but also for adults due beautiful walks, beaches, golf and peace and quiet! Communication was top notch from Nuala and the tourist info was quite detailed and all up to date! Thanks for a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2018
Thank you for that lovely review and glad ye had good experience here. Hope our paths cross again sometime. Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cashesgre...
Nenagh, Ireland
1 review
“A perfect and peaceful beach location...”
Reviewed 1 May 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Fabulous house, fabulous location and a fabulous host!! Absolutely loved our few days at Sandhills, went with my 13 year old daughter and 2 of her friends and my 10 year old son. The beautiful beach was less than 5 minutes walk away and we were escorted by 4 adorable dogs (2 Nualas and 2 from down the road) each time we walked there. The house itself was perfect, spotless, warm and the best equipped house I have ever stayed in, and there have been a few over the years!! Nuala added plenty of welcoming extras which went down a treat...especially the cookies... Although it wasn't 'outdoors' type weather the 3 girls had great fun on the bikes and go cart and the fact that 13 year old girls forget about their phones and got out and had some simple good old fun says a lot about the place. Would wholeheartedly recommend Sandhills to anyone and we will definitely go back with all the family next time

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2018
Thank you for taking the time to submit that glowing review. Delighted everyone had a lovely break and look forward to meeting you all again sometime. Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing